Waterfowl Waterfowl
Waterfowl guidebook

Duck stamp update

In accordance with recent legislative changes, electronic duck stamps can now be purchased on our license sales site. A duck e-stamp is valid for 45 days from the date of purchase. During that time, you will receive a paper stamp to sign and use in the field (you must have the paper stamp after the 45 day period).

Hunters should verify that their mailing address information is up to date when purchasing the electronic duck stamp. After purchasing, you can simply download the e-stamp with your other licenses in the DWR mobile app. You may also print and sign the receipt copy if you do not use the app.

Get your HIP registration number

If you hunt mourning doves, band-tailed pigeons, sandhill cranes, geese, ducks, coots or snipes, you are required to register for the Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP). There is no charge to register.

Hunting waterfowl in Utah

Utah Waterfowl Guidebook

Waterfowl Guidebook

The Utah Waterfowl Guidebook summarizes the laws and rules that govern waterfowl hunting in Utah. The guidebook is a quick, convenient reference for waterfowl hunting regulations. For more complete information, read through the relevant state statutes and administrative rules.

Download PDF

Guía en español

Hunt opener conditions

Duck harvest and population data reports

Swan hunting information

Hunting in national wildlife refuges

HIP Registration number

Waterfowl identification

Waterfowl management plans

Waterfowl hunting maps

Utah waterfowl mercury advisories

Utah Waterfowl Slam

  • The Utah Waterfowl Slam provides adventures and supports wetland improvements. For $20, you can register to embark on the challenge. Participation is just $10 for hunters 17 years of age or younger.

Other information

Quick links
Lee Kay and Cache Valley Shooting Centers
» Shooting centers
Wildlife Blog: Views from DWR employees
» Wildlife Blog
Report poachers — 1-800-662-3337
» Report poachers
Wildlife dates
» Important dates
Hunter, angler mobile app
Hunter Education: Sign up for classes
» Hunter education