Administrative rule R657-45
Wildlife license, permit, and certificate of registration forms
Scroll to bottom of page to view a menu of all administrative rules
KEY: license, permit, certificate of registration
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: August 22, 2019
Notice of Continuation: March 15, 2023
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted law: 23-19-2
R657-45-1. Purpose and Authority.
Under authority of Sections 23-14-18, 23-14-19, 23-19-2 and 23-19-7 the Wildlife Board has established this rule for prescribing the forms and terms of a wildlife license, permit, and certificate of registration.
R657-45-2. Information Listed on the License, Permit, and Certificate of Registration Forms.
(1) A license, permit, and certificate of registration issued for hunting or fishing shall be made upon forms and in the manner prescribed by the Wildlife Board.
(2) The license, permit, and certificate of registration forms shall include the licensee's customer identification number, name, date of birth, address, height, weight, eye color, hair color, gender, and any other information the Division of Wildlife Resources may request.
R657-45-3. License Terms and Renewal.
(1)(a) Upon paying the prescribed fee and satisfying the criteria for issuance, a person may obtain a resident or nonresident fishing, hunting, or combination license valid for:
(i) 365 days (one year);
(ii) 730 days (two years);
(iii) 1095 days (three years);
(iv) 1460 days (four years); or
(v) 1825 days (five years).
(b) In addition to the license term prescribed in Subsection (1)(a), a person may obtain a:
(i) three or seven day resident or nonresident fishing license; or
(ii) three day nonresident hunting license.
(2)(a) Except as provided in Subsections (b) through (d), a multi-year fishing, hunting, and combination license under Subsection (1)(a) is available to residents and nonresidents at a discounted, adult license fee rate based on residency, license type and license term.
(i) A multi-year license is available to youth only at the adult license fee rate.
(b) A resident senior, age 65 and older, may obtain a multi-year fishing, hunting, or combination license at the 365 day, senior license fee rate multiplied by the number of years in the license term.
(c) A resident disabled veteran that is eligible for a service-connected disability license under Section 23-19-38.3 and R657-12-10, may obtain a multi-year license at the reduced 365 day license fee rate multiplied by the number of years in the license term.
(3) A person with a current, one to five year hunting, fishing, or combination license may renew the license by purchasing:
(a) a new license on or after its expiration date; or
(b) the same license for a term prescribed in Subsection (1)(a) within six months of the expiration date on the unexpired license.
(i) A license renewed under Subsection (3)(b) is effective on the date of purchase and remains valid for a period equal to the sum of the remaining days on the unexpired license and the applicable term on the renewal license.
(4) Except as provided in Subsections (4)(a), a fishing, hunting, or combination license issued under this Section remains valid if the licensee subsequently changes residency during the term of license.
(a) A Utah resident license is invalid if a resident license for hunting, fishing, or trapping is purchased in any other state or country.
(5)(a) A resident that establishes a new domicile outside Utah during the unexpired term of a Utah resident fishing, hunting, or combination license, shall notify the Division of the change prior to purchasing a resident hunting, fishing, or trapping license in any other state or country.
(b) Upon receiving notice of a domicile change under Subsection (5)(a), the Division will issue a free nonresident replacement license for the remaining term of the resident license.
(c) The Division may charge a handling fee for a residency based license exchange under this Subsection.
(d) The pro rata difference between the nonresident and resident license fee will not be refunded to a person that establishes Utah residency during the term of a nonresident license.
(6) A person that purchases a hunting permit and subsequently changes residency may lawfully use that permit for the applicable hunting season without notifying the Division of residency change.
R657-45-4. Persons Participating in Youth Organization or School Activity Authorized to Fish Without a License.
(1)(a) A school or youth organization, as defined in Subsection (5), that sponsors a recreational or instructional fishing activity for youth may obtain a certificate of registration from the Division authorizing participating youth to fish without a license.
(b) A school or youth organization may obtain a certificate of registration by submitting an online application with the Division specifying the:
(i) name and address of the school or youth organization applicant, including verification it qualifies as a school or youth organization, as defined in Subsection (5);
(ii) date and location of the fishing activity;
(iii) fishing activity is part of a recreational or instructional program of the school or youth organization;
(iv) fishing activity is officially sanctioned or authorized by the school or youth organization;
(v) approximate number of youth that will participate in the fishing activity, including verification that each youth is:
(A) under 16 years of age; and
(B) an enrolled student in the school or a registered member of the youth organization;
(vi) name, address, and age of the adult leader that will supervise the fishing activity;
(vii) adult leader will:
(A) possess a valid Utah fishing or combination license; and
(B) provide instruction and training to the youth participants on Utah fishing laws and regulations; and
(viii) adult leader has obtained from the school or youth organization a valid tour permit or written documentation that specifies:
(A) the date and place of the fishing activity;
(B) the name of the adult leader that will supervise the fishing activity; and
(C) that the activity is officially sanctioned or authorized by the school or youth organization.
(2)(a) Upon receipt of a complete application from a school or youth organization and upon determination that the requirements of this Section are satisfied, the Division may issue a certificate of registration authorizing the identified youth participating in the sponsored fishing activity to fish without a license.
(b) The certificate of registration will include the following information:
(i) name and address of the school or youth organization.
(ii) name, address, and age of the adult leader supervising the fishing activity;
(iii) date of the fishing activity;
(iv) location of the fishing activity; and
(v) approximate number youth participating in the fishing activity.
(3) A youth participating in a fishing activity on a school or youth organization certificate of registration issued under this Section may fish without a license, provided:
(a) the youth is:
(i) a member of the youth organization or a student enrolled in the school; and
(ii) younger than 16 years old; and
(b) the fishing is conducted:
(i) in compliance with all Utah fishing laws and regulations;
(ii) on the date and at the location identified on the certificate of registration; and
(iii) under the supervision of the adult leader identified on the certificate of registration.
(4) The adult leader supervising a youth fishing activity under this section shall:
(a) be 18 years of age or older;
(b) possess a valid Utah fishing or combination license;
(c) provide direct supervision to the activity participants; and
(d) instruct the activity participants on Utah fishing laws and regulations.
(5) As used in this section:
(a) "School" means an elementary school or a secondary school that:
(i) is a public or private school located in the state; and
(ii) provides student instruction for one or more years of kindergarten through grade 9.
(b) "Youth organization" means a local Utah chapter of:
(i) the Boy Scouts of America;
(ii) the Girls Scouts of the USA; or
(iii) an organization that:
(A) is exempt from taxation under Section 501(c)(3), Internal Revenue Code; and
(B) promotes character building through outdoor activities.