Before you apply for the 2023 antlerless hunt
Are you planning to hunt antlerless big game in Utah this year? Before you apply for a permit, make sure you:
- Meet Utah's age requirements
- Determine if you are a resident or nonresident
- Comply with Utah's hunter education requirements
- Have a current hunting or combination license
Are you old enough?
— Utah Code § 23-19-22
Before you can buy a hunting license and apply for an antlerless permit, you must meet the following requirements:
- Successfully comply with the state's Hunter Education requirements. (The only exception to this law is for individuals who are participating in the Division's Trial Hunting Program.)
- Be at least 12 years old by your hunt date.
If you're 11 years old — but you'll be 12 by Dec. 31, 2023 — you may apply for and obtain an antlerless deer, antlerless elk, antlerless moose, doe pronghorn or ewe bighorn sheep permit (if available). However, you cannot hunt until the day you turn 12. Be sure to check hunt dates before applying. All sales are final.
All hunters under the age of 16 must be accompanied in the field by a parent, legal guardian or responsible person 21 years of age or older.
Are you a resident?
— Utah Code § 23-13-2(41)
Before you apply for a big game hunt, it's important to know whether you are a legal resident of the state of Utah.
You are a resident if you have had a fixed permanent home and principal establishment in Utah for six consecutive months immediately preceding the purchase of a license or permit, and you do not claim residency for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other state or country.
If you purchase a resident license for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other state or country, then your Utah resident license or permit is invalid.
What if I leave Utah temporarily?
You retain your Utah residency if you leave Utah to serve in the armed forces of the United States — or for religious or educational purposes — and you do not claim residency for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other state or country.
What if I serve in the armed forces?
Members of the armed forces of the United States and their dependents are residents as of the date the member reports for duty under assigned orders in Utah, if:
- The member is not on temporary duty in Utah and does not claim residency for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other state or country.
- The member presents a copy of his or her assignment orders to a Division office to verify the member's qualification as a resident.
What if I'm a student?
A nonresident attending an institution of higher learning in Utah as a full-time student may qualify as a resident if the student has been present in Utah for 60 consecutive days immediately preceding the purchase of the license or permit and does not claim residency for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other state or country.
What if I own property in Utah?
You do not qualify as a resident if you are an absentee landowner paying property tax on land in Utah.
Is hunter education required?
— Utah Code § 23-19-11 & Utah Admin. Rule R657-23
If you were born after Dec. 31, 1965, you must provide proof that you've passed a hunter education course approved by the Division before you can apply for or obtain a hunting license or a big game permit.
The only exception to this law is for individuals who are participating in the Division's Trial Hunting Program.
Proof of hunter education
You can prove that you've completed hunter education by obtaining a hunter education card (called a "blue card" in Utah), or if you have a verified hunter education number on file with the Division. The number is assigned when you complete hunter education and your blue card is issued.
How to take hunter education
To get started, visit our Hunter education page. You'll see links to various traditional and online hunter education courses. Follow the instructions on the website to obtain a hunter education registration certificate (required) and to register for a course online.
If you need assistance, please contact your local Division office or call 801-538-4727.
When you finish the course, your instructor will verify your course completion in the online hunter education system. At that point, you will be able to apply for or obtain permits in the Division's hunt drawing, and your hunter education registration certificate will become your hunting license.
Approximately four to six weeks after you complete the course, you will receive your blue card by mail.
You should also keep the following in mind:
- Hunters who are age 15 and younger must be accompanied by an adult while hunting.
- All hunting regulations (such as season dates and bag limits) will apply.
- Hunters who are planning to hunt out of state should allow enough time for their hunter education card to arrive in the mail.
Are you new to Utah?
If you become a Utah resident, and you've completed a hunter education course in another state, province or country, you must obtain a blue card before you can apply for or buy a resident hunting license or a resident antlerless permit. You can obtain a Utah blue card by completing a transfer certification application online, or by going to any Division office and providing proof that you've completed a hunter education course approved by the Division.
Do you have a license?
— Utah Code §§§ 23-19-1, 23-19-22 and 23-20-3
You must have a current Utah hunting or combination (hunting and fishing) license to apply for any antlerless permits, bonus points or preference points. You will have the opportunity to purchase a license while applying for permits or points. Licenses are also available online and from license agents and Division offices.
Keep in mind: There are restrictions on fishing and hunting license purchasers for nonpayment of child support. For additional information — or to arrange a payment schedule — please contact the Office of Recovery Services at 801-536-8500.
All hunting and combination licenses are valid for 365 days from the date of purchase. You also have the option of purchasing a multi-year license that's valid for up to five years. For a list of permit fees, see the fees table or visit the License, permit and miscellaneous fees page.
Is your license still valid?
Be sure to take a look at the date on your license before you apply for any permits or points. As long as your license is valid on the date you submit your application, you don't have to purchase a new license for the actual hunt.
For example, assume that your license expires on June 13, 2023. If you apply before that date, you do not have to purchase a new license for your hunt in the fall.
Do you have a permit?
— Utah Admin. Rule R657-62-18
Many of Utah's antlerless permits will be issued through the antlerless drawing. You can apply for those permits from June 7–22, 2023. Learn more about application deadlines and how to apply for antlerless permits.
For a list of permit fees, see the fees table or visit the License, permit and miscellaneous fees page.
Carry your permit
If you are successful in obtaining an antlerless permit, you must have it on your person while hunting. You cannot alter your license or permit, nor can you sell, transfer or loan either of them to another person.