Your guide to antlerless hunts
Big game Big game
2023 Utah Antlerless Application
2023 Utah Antlerless Application

Your guide to Utah's 2023 antlerless hunts

Information you'll need to apply for a 2023 permit.

Are you interested in hunting an antlerless big game animal during the 2023 season? Here's the information you'll need in order to apply for a permit.

  1. Learn when you can apply for a permit.
  2. Find out what's new and other important information about the 2023 season.
  3. Review antlerless season dates, hunt tables and permit fees.
  4. Make sure you meet the basic requirements to obtain a permit.
  5. See the details about how to obtain a permit.

Apply for a permit

Application dates

You can apply online for an antlerless permit from June 7–22, 2023. The pages linked above will provide all of the information and tools you need in order to apply.

Apply online June 7, 2023
Application deadline June 22, 2023
Drawing results available July 7, 2023
Remaining permits available July 27, 2023

You'll be emailed your drawing results on or before July 7, 2023. You can also learn your drawing results online, by calling 800-221-0659 or contacting a Division office during business hours. To protect your privacy and to comply with changes in governmental records access laws, you'll receive access to only your own drawing results.

What's new this year?

Mandatory antlerless reporting: In response to hunters requesting more complete harvest data for the DWR to use when setting permit numbers, the board approved mandatory reporting of antlerless big game harvests beginning in 2023. You have 30 days after your hunting season ends to report your antlerless harvest online or over the phone. Failure to comply will result in a $50 fine and/or exclusion from next year's antlerless hunt drawing.

New antlerless elk permit rules: Antlerless elk permits may be used only during the season dates printed on your permit. In the past, if you obtained an antlerless elk permit — along with additional buck, bull or antlerless permits for the same area — you could use your antlerless elk permit during the season dates authorized for your other permit(s). This is no longer the case.

New hunts: This year, the Utah Wildlife Board approved new archery-only hunts for doe deer and cow elk to address safety concerns and hunting pressure. These new hunts are on the following units:

  • Doe deer, archery-only: Fillmore City and South Slope, Ashley Valley
  • Cow elk, archery-only: Kamas; Nine Mile, Anthro; Ogden; Oquirrh-Stansbury, East; South Slope, Yellowstone; and Wasatch Mtns

See a list of new hunts for 2023.

Discontinued hunts: Several antlerless hunts for doe deer, cow elk and doe pronghorn were discontinued for 2023.

  • Doe deer hunts have been discontinued on the following units: Chalk Creek; East Canyon; East Canyon, Davis-North Salt Lake; and Southwest Desert, Cedar Valley.
  • Cow elk hunts are discontinued for 2023 on these units: Book Cliffs, Little Creek Roadless; Box Elder, Grouse Creek; Kamas, Francis; Monroe, Rock Springs; and Mt Dutton/Plateau.
  • Doe pronghorn hunts are discontinued on these units: Cache/Morgan-South Rich/Ogden; San Rafael, North Cleveland; and Southwest Desert, Milford Flat.

Changes to trail camera regulations: The Utah Legislature made changes to the state's trail camera rules, effective May 3, 2023. Trail cameras are prohibited on public land from July 31 to Dec. 31, with some exceptions for research and monitoring by land management agencies. The sale or purchase of trail camera footage in the take — or attempted take — of big game, cougar or bear is still prohibited. The new law allows the use of trail cameras that utilize internal data storage to be used on private property.

Night-vision devices: Additionally, between July 31 and January 31 you may not use any type of night-vision device to locate — or attempt to observe or locate — any protected wildlife.

Weapons technology rules: Several regulation changes to Utah's allowable weapons technologies were approved by the Utah Wildlife Board in May of this year, including prohibiting attached electronics (except for illuminated reticules) on most weapons. See the Field regulations section (pages 45–58) of the 2023 Utah Big Game Field Regulations Guidebook for details.

Game retrieval and meat salvage: A hunter must physically check the area where they shot at an animal to see if the animal was killed or wounded before the hunter leaves the area. If you do harvest an animal, you must harvest the meat from the front quarters, above the knee; from the hind quarters, above the hocks; and along the backbone — between the neck and hind quarters — including the loins and tenderloins. The sale of "inedible byproducts" from big game is now prohibited due to disease concerns.

Edit your application: You may now edit your application free of charge at any time during the application period (before 11 p.m. MDT on June 22, 2023). You will not be charged any additional fees, unless you completely withdraw your application and resubmit.

Unit boundary and name changes: Many antlerless hunt unit boundaries and names change every year. See detailed hunt boundary information.

Season date changes: Season dates change every year, so please check them carefully before applying for hunts. See all 2023 antlerless season dates.

Other things to keep in mind

Antlerless elk-control units: In 2023, the Division is offering antlerless elk-control permits on seven hunting units. Learn more about these permits and how they work.

Obtain up to three elk permits: You may obtain up to three elk permits per year — as long as at least two of the permits are for antlerless elk — but you can only apply for or obtain one antlerless elk permit in the drawing.

Same-species hunts in 2023: You can apply for and hunt the following species in the same year: doe and buck pronghorn, cow and bull moose, and ewe and ram bighorn sheep.

Check the Utah Hunt Planner: The Utah Hunt Planner is an online tool you can use to be better prepared for your next Utah hunt. It contains in-depth information on Utah's antlerless hunting units, including notes from the managing biologists and details about the units' antlerless big game populations, accessibility, habitat, safety and weather. Use the Hunt Planner.

Hunter Mentoring program: The Hunter Mentoring program allows a young person to share a mentor's permit. Learn more.

Review harvest data from previous years: The antlerless harvest data from previous years may be useful as you decide where to apply for permits. See harvest data.

Permit surrender processes: If you want to surrender your permit, you are strongly encouraged to do so at least 30 days before the season opens. The surrender process has changed and could result in the loss of previously accrued preference points. For details, see the Surrendered permits and refunds page.

Child support law: There are restrictions on fishing and hunting license purchasers for nonpayment of child support. For additional information — or to arrange a payment schedule — please contact the Office of Recovery Services at 801-536-8500.

Ways to report poachers: Use the UTDWR law enforcement app and a text option to report poachers (text 847411). Download the app and see details about reporting options.

Forfeit preference points for purchase of over-the-counter antlerless permits: If you obtain a general-season antlerless permit over the counter — including any of the permits in the list below — you will lose any preference points you've previously accrued for that specific antlerless species. This rule applies to all of the following permit types:

  • Any leftover permits from the antlerless hunt drawing
  • CWMU permits for antlerless deer, antlerless elk or doe pronghorn
  • Antlerless elk conservation permits
  • Antlerless mitigation permits (not directly issued to a landowner)

Please note that as of 2023, if you purchase a private-lands-only elk permit or an antlerless elk control permit, you will not lose your preference points.

Private-lands-only antlerless elk permits: This year, the Division will again offer private-lands-only antlerless elk permits. These permits are only valid on private lands on select hunting units. Do not purchase one of these permits without knowing the laws that regulate hunting on private lands. Learn more.

Big Game Field Regulations Guidebook: All big game field regulations — for both antlered and antlerless animals — are in the 2023 Utah Big Game Field Regulations Guidebook. Printed copies will be available from license agents and Division offices in early June.

Mandatory antlerless harvest reporting

If you obtain an antlerless permit this year, don't forget to complete a harvest report after your hunt ends. Antlerless harvest reporting is now mandatory. You have 30 days after your hunting season ends to report your antlerless harvest online or over the phone. Failure to comply will result in a $50 fine and/or exclusion from next year's antlerless hunt drawing.

Visit the Report your game harvest page and click the appropriate button at the top of the page. Then, you can log in and complete your harvest report.

If you prefer to complete your harvest report over the phone, call 800-221-0659.

Hunting license required: Before you can apply for a 2023 antlerless permit, bonus point or preference point, you must have a valid Utah hunting or combination license. You can purchase a license today or when you apply for an antlerless permit.

Download the app: To store your licenses on a phone or tablet, download the free Utah Hunting and Fishing app.

Apply for permits online or by phone: If you plan to hunt antlerless big game in Utah this year, you must apply for a permit online or by phone no later than June 22, 2023. There's an 11 p.m. MDT deadline for online applications and a 5 p.m. MDT deadline for phone applications. Apply online, beginning June 7, or call any Division office.

Opportunity for youth: A full 20% of the permits for antlerless deer, antlerless elk and doe pronghorn have been reserved for hunters who will be 17 or under by July 31, 2023.

Season dates, hunt tables and boundary maps

Season dates vary, depending on the species and the area. For season date listings, see the 2023 antlerless hunt tables:

Permit fees

See the License, permit and miscellaneous fees page for a full list of license and permit fees.

Permit Resident Nonresident
Antlerless deer $30 $107
Two-doe deer $45 $197
Antlerless elk control $30 $107
Antlerless elk (general season) $50 $251
Antlerless elk (private lands only) $50 $251
Antlerless moose $213 $1,000
Doe pronghorn $30 $107
Two-doe pronghorn $45 $197
Ewe bighorn sheep $100 $1,000
CWMU antlerless deer $30 $107*
CWMU two-doe deer $45 $197*
CWMU antlerless elk $50 $318*
CWMU doe pronghorn $30 $107*
CWMU two-doe pronghorn $45 $197*

* Nonresidents may only obtain CWMU permits through the CWMU operator. See a list of hunts on CWMU properties.

License fee changes July 1: The Utah Legislature approved several proposed changes to Utah's hunting and fishing license fees, which will go into effect on July 1, 2023. This is the first fee increase for Utah residents since 2014. The DWR is currently 92% self-funded through license and permit fees, and receives only limited funding from the state's General Fund, which is appropriated for specific issues that impact all Utahns. The full list of license and permit fee changes will be posted after June 1. If you draw an antlerless permit, you will not be charged the new permit fee. You will pay the fee that is listed above.

Quick links
Wildlife Blog: Views from DWR employees
» Wildlife Blog
Report poachers — 1-800-662-3337
» Report poachers
Wildlife dates
» Important dates
Hunter, angler mobile app
Hunter Education: Sign up for classes
» Hunter education