Instructor-led furharvester education
- Total course time:
- 8 hours minimum
- Class meets:
- 2–3 days
- Basic cost:
- Online registration — see details below
A Utah resident born after Dec. 31, 1984 may not purchase a resident furbearer license unless the applicant has completed a Division-approved furharvester education course.
The furharvester education course provides instruction in safe and responsible trapping, including instruction in the use of trapping devices, trapping laws, trapping ethics, techniques in safely releasing nontarget animals, firearms safety, wildlife management, proper catch handling trapper health and safety, and ethics related to the avoidance of conflicts with other public land users and private landowners.
How to take this course
- Purchase a Registration Certificate. You must have a Furharvester Education Registration Certificate ($6) before attending this class. You can purchase a certificate online, from a Division office or a license agent.
- Find this course in your area and register online.
After you register
Field day update
With coronavirus-related restrictions loosening in some areas of the state, Hunter Education instructors may elect to schedule courses with small, in-person field day sessions. For more information, check the "Additional Instructions" section of the course you wish to register for.
Additional information: Temporary Utah Hunter Education procedures
In an effort to comply with current directives for social distancing related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Hunter Education field day requirements will be done remotely. Students will complete an additional Virtual Field Day tool online. The live-fire exercise requirement will be completed independently by students under the supervision of a qualifying mentor, recorded and then the video will be sent to the instructor for evaluation. Certified Hunter Education Instructors will proctor the final exam through an online meeting platform or through another no-contact arrangement. Course instructors will provide registered students with additional details and instructions.
Online hunter education with an in-person field day
Hunter Education is required to obtain a Utah hunting license if you were born after December 31, 1965.
Complete the online course at your own pace before attending an instructor-led field day. The online course will teach you about firearm safety, hunter responsibility and ethics.
The field day will train you to apply what you've learned in practical scenarios. You'll practice crossing a fence or obstacle with a firearm, identifying wildlife, the zones of fire and basic rifle shooting fundamentals.
Once you complete your field day, you'll take a written exam and participate in a live-fire shooting exercise. Parents are encouraged to attend the training.
How to take this course
- Purchase a Registration Certificate. Before starting signing up for a field day, you must buy a Hunter Education Registration Certificate ($10). You can also purchase a certificate at any DWR office or from a license agent.
- Find a field day in your area and register for it online.
- Complete your online course before the field day. You can take any of the online courses listed at the bottom of this page. You must present your proof of completion to your instructor at the field day.
After you register
What to bring to your field day
- Proof of online course completion — When you complete an online course, you will receive a voucher or certificate that you must print out and give to your instructor when you arrive for the in-person field day.
- Registration certificate — You may purchase a certificate online, at any division office or the nearest hunting and fishing license agent.
- A pencil and eraser
- A parent or guardian (if you're under the age of 16)
- Where to practice your shooting
The shooting test consists of live firing with a .22 rimfire rifle at targets 50 feet from the shooter.
Online course providers
This online course is provided by a private vendor and includes narration, illustrations, animations and videos. It also includes a virtual field day to prepare you for your field day and your time in the field.
Fee: $29.00 paid to HunterCourse.com
Proof of completion: Field Day Voucher
This course is provided by a private vendor which includes narration in both English or Spanish and has interactive animations.
Fee: $28.95 paid to Hunter-ed.com.
Proof of completion: Field Day Qualifier Certificate
This online course, which is provided by a private vendor, includes narration and interactive animations.
Fee: $13 paid to HunterEdCourse.com
Proof of completion: Completion Certificate