

Lieutenant Governor

State of Utah

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

MICHAEL R. STYLER Executive Director

Division of Wildlife Resources

GREGORY SHEEHAN

Division Director

Dedicated Hunter Program Guideline for:

Dedicated Hunters seeking service credit for teaching Hunter Education courses

Effective: July 20, 2016

Certified Utah Hunter Education instructors have the option of teaching Hunter Education courses for service credit in the Dedicated Hunter program. This guideline has been developed to align with existing procedures of the Dedicated Hunter program, improve communication, and to ensure compliance with State statutes and DWR Administrative Rules.

To earn Dedicated Hunter service credit, the following conditions and procedure must be met:

- 1. The Dedicated Hunter seeking credit through Hunter Education instruction, whether as a primary instructor, or as an assistant, must be a Certified Hunter Education Instructor for the state of Utah.
- 2. The Primary instructor must submit the Hunter Education online course announcement form to the DWR website a minimum of 2 weeks prior to the course date, using the instructor's account at http://wildlife.utah.gov/hunter-education.html
 - o Forms submitted less than 2 weeks prior to the course date, will not be eligible for Dedicated Hunter service credit.
 - The course must be open to public registration. Courses not offering public openings are not eligible for service credit.
 - Instructors may have more than 1 assisting instructor. However, only 1 primary instructor and 1 assisting instructor are eligible for Dedicated Hunter service credit per course.
- 3. The primary instructor must also submit the Request Division of Wildlife Resources support for your independent project form at the Dedicated Hunter webpage http://wildlife.utah.gov/request-Dedicated Hunterproject-support.html. If this online project request is submitted less than 2 weeks prior to the course date, DWR may not have sufficient time to review and approve the request for service credit, resulting in the project not being approved.

Within the online project request, the project description section must include:

- Hunter Education course ID number (obtained from the course announcement form submission)
- Course date(s)
- Course type (see table below for course types)
- Name of Instructor and/or assisting instructor that are seeking service credit
- Primary instructor's email address

After the online project request is submitted, the Dedicated Hunter program will review the request. If approved, a course-specific Dedicated Hunter timesheet/agreement will be sent to the primary instructor via email.

4. The primary instructor prints the Dedicated Hunter timesheet/agreement for the Dedicated Hunter(s) seeking credit. This timesheet/agreement must be signed prior to teaching. Agreements not signed prior to service rendered, are ineligible for service credit.



- 5. Teach the course completely and record service hours
 - Document actual service hours associated with the course, without "rounding up" on the Hunter Education Program course information/instructor timesheet and the Dedicated Hunter program timesheet/agreement.
 - Do not include trips to the store for purchasing goodies or other activities not directly related to the educational aspects of the class. These 'donated' extras are not eligible for Dedicated Hunter credit and should not be listed on the timesheet/agreement.
 - o Incomplete courses will not be given Dedicated Hunter service credit
 - Travel time to, or from a class session is not creditable for Dedicated Hunter service. Credit is given for time actively preparing, providing instruction, and facilitating field day and testing activities.

Instructors may earn **up to** the following quantities of service hours per course:

Hunter Education Course Type	Maximum Dedicated Hunter hours for Primary Instructor	Maximum Dedicated Hunter hours for Assisting Instructor
Traditional Instructor lead	20	10
Online course field day	10	5
Furharvester Instructor lead	10	5
Furharvester Online course field day	5	2.5
Bowhunter Instructor lead	15	7.5

6. Return the Dedicated Hunter timesheet/agreement **with all** other class paperwork to the Salt Lake DWR Hunter Education office. The paperwork will be verified and forwarded to the Dedicated Hunter Program administrator for service credit recording. Instructors receiving Dedicated Hunter service credit for teaching/assisting will not receive a reimbursement/payment for that course.