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HIGHLIGHTS

What’s new this season?

Longer scaup season and higher bag limit:
This year, because of an increase in the scaup
population, Utah’s scaup season will run for 107
days. This means that scaup will have the same
season dates listed for all of the other ducks. You
will also be able to keep more scaup because the
daily bag limit has been increased to seven birds.

Swan application details online: Starting
this year, visit wildlife.utah.gov/2012swan for

the information you need in order to apply for a
swan permit. Because the swan application period
occurs before this guidebook is printed, the ap-
plication details have been moved to the Web.

No-hunting zone around causeway: In

August 2012, the Utah Wildlife Board approved
ano-hunting buffer zone around the Antelope
Island causeway. You may not hunt within 600
feet of the north or south side of the causeway.

Change in trespass laws: In 2012 the Utah
Legislature made changes to UtafiStrespass aws.
Please read the Trespassing section;startifig'on
page 17, for the latest regulations.

Check the seasof dates: Season'dates and
bag limits change evegjyear. For details, see the
tables that start on page23

Also remember

You must register in the HIP every season:
You must obtain a Migratory Bird Harvest Infor-
mation Program (HIP) number for the 2012-2013
season to hunt waterfowl in Utah this fall. Your
number from last season is not valid. The HIP
number you obtain for the 2012—2013 season

is valid from March 11, 2012 through March 10,
2013. Please see page 8 for more information.

A CLOSER LOOK
AT THE RULES

This guidebook summarizes Utah's
waterfowl hunting laws and rules. Although
itis a convenient quick-reference document
for Utah’s waterfowl regulations, it is not an
all-encompassing resource.

For an in-depth look at the state’s
waterfowl hunting laws and rules, visit
wildlife.utah.gov/rules.

You can use the references in the guide-
book—such as Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah
7-9-6—to search the
the detailed statute or

kes the rules?
Wildlife Board passes the rules
rized in this guidebook.
seven board members, and
ach serves a six-year term. Appointed by the
overnor, board members are not Division
ployees.
The Division’s director serves as the board’s
executive secretary but does not have a vote on
wildlife policies.

Before board members make changes
to wildlife rules, they listen to recommenda-
tions from Division biologists. They also receive
input from the public and various interest
groups via the regional advisory council (RAC)
process.

If you have feedback or suggestions for
board members, you can find their contact
information online at wildlife.utah.gov.

Wildlife Board members

Jake Albrecht Del Brady, Chair

John Bair Ernie Perkins, Vice Chair
Calvin Crandall | JamesF. Karpowitz,

Bill Fenimore Division Director
Michael King Executive Secretary
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Buy your license over the phone: You can
now buy a Utah hunting or combination license
over the telephone. Just call 1-800-221-0659.
The line is staffed 24 hours a day, seven days a
week. In addition to the fee for the license, you'll
also be charged a $2 transaction fee for each item
you buy.

Retrieving waterfowl: Before hunting in an
area, make sure you can retrieve the birds you
shoot. Because of mud or deep water, you may
need chest waders, a dog or a boat. Not attempt-
ing to retrieve your waterfowl could result in a
citation.

Swan reporting is required: If you draw a
2012 swan permit, you are required to submit a
harvest report. You must submit this information,
even if you don't hunt or harvest a swan. Failure to
complete a harvest report may affect your eligibil-
ity to apply for the 2013 swan hunting season.

For more information about this requirementgsee
page 8.

0ff-highway vehicles: Off-highwayuehicles
are not permitted on state wateffow! manage-

ment areas, except in areas that are posted open
to OHV use.

Burning phragmites during the hunt:

This fall, as conditions permit, the Division will
burn phragmites at the Farmington Bay, Howard
Slough and Harold Crane waterfowl management
areas. To learn more, see the information box on
page 16.

Corrections: If errors are found in this guide-
book after it is printed, the Division will correct
them in the electronic copy that is posted online.
Visit wildlife.utah.gov/quidebooks to view all of
the Division’s quilebooks and proclamations.

Privatedands:The Division cannot guarantee
access'to any privatedand. If you plan to hunt—or
erfgage in any other wildlife-related activities—
an privatedand, you must obtain WRITTEN permis-
sionyfrém the landowner or the landowner’s
autherized representative.

Protection from discrimination: The Division
receives federal financial assistance from the
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and must abide by

Don’t lose your hunting and fishing privileges

If you commit a wildlife violation, you could lose the privilege of hunting and fishing in Utah.
The Utah Division of Wildlife Resources can suspend the license of

anyone who knowingly, intentionally or recklessly violates wildlife

laws. Your license can be suspended for a wildlife violation if:

« You are convicted.

« You plead quilty or no contest.

- You enter a plea in abeyance or
diversion agreement.

Suspension proceedings are separate and inde-

pendent from criminal prosecution. The Utah Division

of Wildlife Resources may suspend your license privileges
whether or not the court considers suspension in your
criminal case. You will be notified of any action against
your privilege after criminal proceedings conclude. And
remember, if your license is suspended in Utah, you

may not be permitted to hunt or fish in most other

states. (Visit ianrc.org to see a map of participating states.)
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federal laws. Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of
1973, Title Il of the Americans with Disabilities
Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975,
Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the
U.S. Department of the Interior and its bureaus
prohibit discrimination on the basis of race,

color, national origin, age, disability or sex. If you
believe that you have been discriminated against
in any program, activity or facility, or if you desire
further information please write to:

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Office for Diversity and Civil Rights Pro-
grams—External Programs

4040 North Fairfax Drive, Suite 130

Arlington, VA 22203

Division funding: The Division is mostly funded
by the sale of hunting and fishing licenses and
through federal aid made possible by an excise
tax on the sale of firearms and other hunting- and
fishing-related equipment.

KEY DATES

Season dates

Youth Hunting Day Sept. 22
Common snipe Oct.6-Jan. 19
Ducks, mergansers, coots  Oct. 6-Jan. 19
Swan Oct. 6-Dec.9
Dark geese (inside the Oct.6-Jan. 19

North Goose Zone)

Dark geese (outside the
North Goose Zone) 0

Light geese (inside the
North Goose Zone)

Light geese (outsid
North Goose Zon

Swan applicat

Swan hunting application
available online

Aug. 27,2012

Application deadline Sept. 5,2012

Drawing results available Sept. 17,2012

SN
$26

$30

resident license fees

day small game license $25

unting license* $65
Combination license* $80
Other fees

Federal migratory bird hunting and $15
conservation stamp (16 years of age

and older). These are available at U.S.

post offices and some license-agent
locations.

Swan permit $15¢

* Hunting and combination licenses are valid for 365 days
from the day you buy them.

1 You will be charged an additional $10 nonrefundable
application fee.
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BASIC REQUIREMENTS

Completing hunter education, obtaining the proper hunting license and registering for a Migra-
tory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP) number are the first steps to hunting waterfowl in
Utah. Depending on your age, you may also need a federal migratory bird hunting and conserva-
tion stamp. This section provides information about each of these items and how to obtain them.

Are you old enough?
Utah Code § 23-19-11

Anyone who has passed a Division-approved
hunter education course can hunt waterfowl in
Utah, regardless of age. However, young hunters
must be accompanied by an adult while in the
field. To learn more, see the information box
below.

Adults must accompany

young hunters
Utah Code § 23-20-20

While hunting with any weapon, a
person under 14 years old must be accol
panied by his or her parent, legal guardian
or other responsible person who i

of age or older and who ha li )

or to complete the hunter education course
before accompanying youth into the field.

While in the field, the youth and the
adult must remain close enough for the
adult to see and provide verbal assistance to
the young hunter. Using electronic devices,
such as walkie-talkies or cell phones, does
not meet this requirement.

Have you passed hunter
education?
Utah Code § 23-19-11 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-23

If you were born after Dec. 31, 1965, you
must provide proof that you've passed a hunter
education course approved by the Division before

of Completion (this certificate is called
rd”in Utah) or by using a hunting license
ious year with your hunter education
oted on the license.

How to take hunter education

If you were born after 1965, you must take
and successfully complete the state’s hunter
education course. It's an easy process:

1. Obtain a hunter education registration

certificate. Each certificate costs only $10,
and you can obtain it online, at any Divi-
sion office or from a license agent.

2. Register for a class with your local hunter
education instructor.

3. Take your registration certificate to your
instructor on the first night of class.

4. Successfully complete the course—your
instructor will then validate your certifi-
cate. The validated certificate serves as
your hunting license.

Both the registration certificate and the
corresponding hunting license are valid for 365
days from the date of purchase. The license
enables you to apply for or obtain permits in the
Division’s hunt drawings. In order to maximize
your hunting opportunities, you should register


http://wildlife.utah.gov

for and complete the hunter education course as
soon as possible after purchasing your registration
certificate.

After completing the course, you will receive
your official hunter education card (commonly
known as the “blue card”) by mail. It will be
sent to the address listed on your registration
certificate. This card certifies that you passed
hunter education.

You should also keep the following in mind:

«Hunters under the age of 16 must be accom-
panied by an adult while hunting.

+Regardless of when a student graduates, all
hunting regulations (such as season dates
and bag limits) will apply.

« Students who are planning to hunt out of
state should allow enough time for their
hunter education card to arrive in the mail.

You can see a list of hunter education courses
at wildlife.utah.gov/huntereducation. You can also
contact your local Division office or call 801-538-
4721.

New to Utah?
If you become a Utah resident,
completed a hunter education ¢6

that you've completed a
approved by the Division.

Do you have a license?
Utah Code § 23-19-1

You must purchase either a hunting license or
a combination license to hunt waterfowl in Utah.
Here’s the difference between the two licenses:

« A hunting license allows you to hunt small
game, including waterfowl and upland
game.

« A combination license allows you to fish and
hunt small game in Utah. When you buy a
combination license, you also get a price
break compared to buying your hunting and
fishing licenses separately.

Applying for a swan
permit
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-29

To provide hunters with earlier access
to information about the swan application
period and hunt, the Division has removed
most of the swan information from this
guidebook and put it on the Web. You can
learn more about applying for a swan
permit at wildlife.utah.gov/2012swan.

In 2013, you'll be able to find details on
applying for a 2013 swan permit by visiting

, and you cannot alter your license,
d it to another person.

unt a swan in Utah, you will
ply for and obtain a swan permit.
more information about swan permits, see the
above.

Do you need a federal
stamp?
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-3

In addition to your hunting license, if you're
16 years old or older, you must obtain a federal
migratory bird hunting and conservation stamp.
This stamp is commonly referred to as a "duck
stamp.”

You can purchase a duck stamp from your
local post office or by phone. The phone number
is 1-800-782-6724. You can also call this number
to order additional duck stamps. Duck stamps are
not available at Division offices.

After you buy your stamp, you must validate it
by signing your name in ink across the face of the
stamp. You must also carry your stamp with you
while you're hunting (most hunters place their
stamp on the back of their hunting license).
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If you're 15 years of age or younger, you do not
need a federal duck stamp to hunt waterfowl, but
if you turn 16 during the season, you must buy a
stamp to hunt the remainder of the season.

Do you have a HIP
number?
50 CFR 20.20 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-33

In addition to your license (and your duck
stamp, if required), you must obtain a Migratory
Game Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP)
registration number every season.

The number you obtained last season is not
valid for this season.

HIP numbers for the 2012—-2013 season are
valid from March 11, 2012 through March 10,
2013.

It’s easy to register
You can obtain your Utah HIP number in one

of two ways:
«Register online at uthip.com.
- (all 1-877-882-4744. If you have questi
or need help obtaining you
please call 1-800-368-

your 2012—-2013 HIP on number—and
its expiration date—in the space provided on the
front of your new license. You do not need to get a
second HIP number for the 2012-2013 season.

Swan reporting
requirements

Harvest reporting for swan is manda-
tory, and the Division asks all swan hunters
to make it a priority during the 2012-2013
season.

If reporting compliance drops below 80
percent, the federal government will cut
Utah's swan permits by 10 percent. That
would mean 200 fewer permits.

To report your swan harvest, simply
bring the tagged swan or its head to a Divi-
sion office, Bear River Migratory Bird
ithin three days of harvest.

didn't harvest a swan, you can enter
your report online or by calling toll-free
1-800-221-0659.

Don't be the hunter who jeopardizes
200 swan permits—please complete your
harvest report as soon as possible.

Valuable information

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service started
the HIP in the mid-1990s. The program provides
biologists with valuable information that helps
them manage the nation’s migratory game bird
populations.


http://wildlife.utah.gov

FIELD REQUIREMENTS

While hunting waterfowl in Utah, there are several requirements you must keep in mind to
protect yourself and the resource. Please be familiar with the requirements for carrying and
using shotguns, the different types of hunting methods you may use and what you're required to

do with any waterfowl you harvest.

Firearms and archery

tackle

Several rules apply to the type of shotguns
and archery tackle that may be used to take
waterfowl in Utah.

Weapon requirements
50CFR 20.21 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-7

You may take migratory game birds only
with a shotgun that’s no larger than 10 gauge or
with archery tackle. (You may not take waterfow!
with a crosshow, however.) Also, the shotgun
you use cannot be capable of holding more than
three shells (one in the chamber and two in the
magazine).

Many shotguns can hold more than two shells

in the magazine, but making these guns leg

for waterfowl hunting is easy. An ine :
item, called a "shotgun plug," con 0
shotguns or you can purchase one ‘atmostSpor

ing goods stores.

firearm and ammunition you may have in your
possession while hunting waterfowl or coot in
any area of the state. (To learn what nontoxic
shot is, please see page 43 of this guide.) In
addition, nontoxic shot is the only shot you may
have in your possession while on federal refuges,
the Scott M. Matheson wetland preserve, and the
following waterfowl management areas:
+Box Elder County—Harold S. Crane, Loco-
motive Springs, Public Shooting Grounds
and Salt Creek
+Daggett County—Brown’s Park

« Davis County—Farmington Bay, Howard
Slough and Ogden Bay

«Emery County—Desert Lake

« Juab County—Mills Meadow

«Millard County—Clear Lake and Topaz
Slough

ting seasons or as authorized by the Division.
he firearm restrictions in this section do not

apply to concealed firearm permit holders carry-

ing a concealed weapon in accordance with Utah

Code §76-10-504. Visit wildlife.utah.gov/rules for
more information.

Loaded firearms in a vehicle
Utah Code §§§§ 76-10-502, 76-10-504, 76-10-505 and 76-10-523

You may not carry a loaded firearm in or on
avehicle unless you meet all of the following
conditions:

«You own the vehicle or have permission
from the vehicle’s owner.

«The firearm is a handgun.

- You are 18 years of age or older.

A pistol, revolver, rifle or shotgun is considered
to be loaded when there is an unexpended car-
tridge, shell or projectile in the firing position.

Pistols and revolvers are also considered to
be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, shell
or projectile is in a position whereby the manual

9
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Are you allowed to
possess a weapon?
Utah Code § 76-10-503

Itis illegal under Utah Code § 76-10-503
to possess or use a firearm, muzzleloader,
archery tackle or any other dangerous
weapon if you:

- Have been convicted of or are under
indictment for any felony offense;

- Are on probation or parole for a felony
offense;

« Are on parole from a secure facility;

- Have been adjudicated delinquent
(juvenile) in the last seven years of an
offense that, if committed by an adult,
would have been a felony;

« Are an unlawful user of a controlled
substance;

- Have been found not quilty by reason
of insanity for a felony offense;

- Have been found mentally incompe
tent to stand trial for a felony offense;

from the armed forces; or
- Have renounced your United States
citizenship.

The purchase or possession of any
hunting license, permit, tag or certificate
of registration from the Division does not
authorize the holder to legally possess or
use a firearm, muzzleloader, archery tackle
or any other dangerous weapon while hunt-
ing if they are otherwise restricted from
possessing these weapons under Utah Code
§76-10-503.

10

operation of any mechanism once would cause
the unexpended cartridge, shell or projectile to
be fired.

A muzzleloading firearm is considered loaded
when it is capped or primed and has a powder
charge and ball or shot in the barrel or cylinders.

The firearm restrictions in this section do not
apply to concealed firearm permit holders carry-
ing a concealed weapon in accordance with Utah
Code §76-10-504.

Please see Utah Code §§ 76-10-504 and
76-10-523 at wildlife.utah.gov/rules for more
information.

Areas where you can't
dischargea firearm
Utah Calf®’s 76-10-508
Yalrmay not discharge a‘dangerous weapon or
firearm unidér any of the following circumstances:
offom a vehicle
«Ftom, upon or across any highway
- At power lines or signs
«Abrailroad equipment or facilities, including
any sign or signal
« Within Utah state park camp or picnic sites,
overlooks, golf courses, boat ramps or
developed beaches
« Without written permission from the owner
or property manager, within 600 feet of:
« A house, dwelling or any other
building
« Any structure in which a domestic
animal is kept or fed, including a barn,
poultry yard, corral, feeding pen or
stockyard

State parks
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-30 and R651-614

Hunting any wildlife is prohibited within the
boundaries of all state park areas, except those
designated open to hunting by the Division of
Parks and Recreation in Utah Admin. Rule R651-
614-4.

In park areas that are designated open to
hunting, you are not permitted to use shotguns or
archery tackle within one-quarter mile of all park
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facilities, including buildings, camp or picnic sites,
overlooks, golf courses, boat ramps and developed
beaches.

In addition to the rules above, the Great Salt
Lake Marina and posted areas adjacent to the
marina are closed to hunting.

Waterfowl hunting, including the retrieval of
downed birds, is also prohibited on all of Antelope
Island except for the following areas:

+100 yards beyond the existing shoreline

from the Fielding Garr Ranch, proceeding
around the north end of the island and then
south to Elephant Head; and

«below the upland vegetation line of the

island from the Fielding Garr Ranch, pro-
ceeding around the south end of the island
and then north to Elephant Head.

Hunting is also prohibited within 600 feet
of the north or south side of the Antelope Island
causeway.

Hunters with
disabilities

Utah Admin. Rule R657-12

Utah provides special hunting

Several rules apply to the methods that you
may use to hunt waterfowl in Utah.

Use of boats, and airborne
and land vehicles
50 CFR 20.21(e), Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule
R657-9-10
You may use a boat or motorized aquatic
vehicle to hunt waterfowl if you obey the follow-
ing rules:
«Migratory game birds may not be taken
from any motorboat, or craft that has a
motor attached to it, unless the motor has

Make sure you're in
range

In the marsh, you should only shoot at
birds that are within range. If you try to hit
a bird that’s too far away, there’s a much
greater chance the bird will be wounded or
hard to find.

So, how do you know if you're in range?
Before this year's waterfowl season opens,
you can improve your ability to judge dis-
tance accurately with the following exercise:

-Find an area that’s at least 50 yards
ur reqular-sized duck
0 and 50 yards from

ize of a medium-sized duck).

cing your targets, go back

rting point, bring your

ed shotgun to your shoulder
and aim it at the target that’s 20 yards
away. Notice how big your barrel looks
in relation to the size of the target.
Then aim at the targets that are 30, 40
and 50 yards away.

Practice this process enough, and you'll

know how birds should look when you view

them over your barrel at different distances

in the marsh.

been completely shut off and the motorboat
or craft has stopped moving.

« Migratory game birds may not be taken
from a sailboat unless the boat’s sails are
furled and the boat has stopped moving.

You may use any of these crafts under power
to retrieve dead or crippled birds, but you may
not shoot crippled birds from a craft if its motor is
still running.

Also, you may not use any of the crafts listed
above, or any type of motor-driven land, water or

11
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Boating laws and rules

Itisn‘t hard to have a safe waterfowl hunt.
If your plans include a motorboat, please
remember these laws and rules to ensure your
safe return home:

- Everyone on your boat or vessel must
have a properly fitted, U.S. Coast Guard-
approved life jacket. Youth 12 and under
must wear a life jacket at all times.

- Vessels longer than 16 feet must have
a throwable life preserver immediately
available.

- All motorhoats, including those with
electric motors, must be registered and
properly numbered.

« All motorboats must display appropriate
navigation lights from sunset to sunrise.

air transportation, to concentrate, drive, rally(OF
stir up migratory birds.

Airboats and persomnal

watercraft
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-11

Air-thrust or air-propelledboat§ and personal
watercraft are notallowethin designated parts of
the followingmfaterfowl managementopfederal
refuge areas:

+Box Elder County: Box Elder Lake, Bear River,
that part of HarldhS.rane within one-half
mile of all dikes andfevees, Locomotive
Springs, Public Shooting Grounds and Salt
(reek, and that part of the Bear River Migra-
tory Bird Refuge north of the "D" line dike,
and outside Units 1,3, 4 and 5 as posted.

+Daggett County: Brown'’s Park

«Davis County: Howard Slough, Ogden Bay
and Farmington Bay within diked units or
as posted.

«Emery County: Desert Lake

«Millard County: Clear Lake and Topaz Slough

«Tooele County: Timpie Springs

«Uintah County: Stewart Lake

12

Manually propelled boats may use a
white light.

« Let someone know where you are going
and when you expect to return, along
with your boat and vehicle license num-
ber. Remember to stick to your plan!

« All motorboats must carry a Type B, U.S.
Coast Guard-approved fire extinguisher,
unless exempt.

-In addition to the equipment above,

airboats operating on Great Salt Lake

and adjacent Waterfowl Management

Areas (W must have a compass and

safety informa-
v/boating or call

«Utah County: Powell Slough

- Wayne County: Bicknell Bottoms

“Weber County: Ogden Bay within diked
units or as posted, and the portion of the
Harold S. Crane Waterfowl Management
Area that falls within the county line

The term "personal watercraft" means a motor-
boat that meets the following conditions:

«Itis less than 16 feet in length.

«Itis propelled by a water jet pump.

«Itis designed to be operated by a person
sitting, standing or kneeling on the vessel,
rather than sitting or standing inside the
vessel.

Restrictions on motorized

boats
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-12

Portions of three WMAs have been set aside
for hunters who enjoy walking or paddling
nonmotorized boats into the marsh. Motorized
boats, which are boats with a motor of any kind,
including a gas engine or an electric motor, are
not allowed in the following areas:

« Farmington Bay: South Crystal Unit
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Did it get wet?
Decontaminate it!

When you hunt waterfowl, some of your
gear inevitably gets wet or muddy.

Your waders, clothes, shoes and other
equipment provide good hiding places for
microscopic invasive species or whirling
disease spores.

Before you leave a hunting area and
step into another water, rinse all the mud
and other debris off of your waders, boots
and wetted gear or equipment. Then,
generously spray all of it—especially the
felt soles of waders—with Formula 409 (a
popular household cleaner). This treatment
will kill any whirling disease spores.

After you return home, thoroughly
clean and dry all of your gear before using
itagain.

For more information about decontami-
nation, visit wildlife.utah.gov/mussels.

on waterfowl management

areas
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-12

Motorized vehicle travel on state waterfowl
management areas is restricted to county roads,
improved roads and parking areas.

0ff-highway vehicles are not permitted on
state waterfowl management areas, except in
areas that are marked or posted open to their use.

0ff-highway vehicles are not permitted on the
Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge.

Waterfowl blinds on
waterfowl management
areas
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-34

You can construct and use waterfowl blinds on
Division waterfowl management areas (WMAs) as
long as you obey the following rules:

- Waterfowl blinds may not be left unat-
tended overnight unless they're constructed
entirely of non-woody, vegetative materials
that naturally occur where the blind is
located.

trees and shrubs on
cut or damaged unless
Xpress, written permis-

MA to construct a blind.
| blinds may not be constructed or
used in any area or manner that obstructs
vehicle or pedestrian travel on dikes.
Waterfow! blinds that are constructed or
maintained on WMAs in violation of the rules
above may be removed or destroyed by the Divi-
sion without notice.

The restrictions above do not apply to the
following WMA areas:

- Farmington Bay Waterfowl Management
Area—uwest and north of Unit 1, Turpin Unit
and Crystal Unit.

«Howard Slough Waterfowl Management
Area—west and south of the exterior dike
separating the WMA's fresh-water impound-
ments from the Great Salt Lake.

+0gden Bay Waterfowl Management Area—
west of Unit 1, Unit 2 and Unit 3.

«Harold S. Crane Waterfow| Management
Area—one half mile north and west of the
exterior dike separating the WMA's fresh
water impoundments from the Willard Spur.

13
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Unattended blinds

In addition to the rules above, two other
important rules apply to waterfowl blinds on
WMAs and other state lands that are open to
public hunting:

- Any person may use any unoccupied, per-
manent waterfowl blind. Waterfowl blinds
on state lands are open on a first-come,
first-served basis to everyone, not just to
the person who built the blind.

«You cannot leave waterfowl blinds or decoys
unattended overnight to reserve a spot.

Sinkbox

50CFR 20.21(c) and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-13
You cannot take migratory game birds from
any type of low-floating device that allows you
to be concealed beneath the surface of the water.
Called "sinkboxes," these devices float on the
water, but they float barely above the water’s
surface. You may not hunt from sinkboxes. Yo
may, however, hunt from other types of box
blinds or culverts that are attached to the bott
of the body of water where you ing.

Using dogs to

Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-28

and traini
Utah Admin. Rule R657-46

Many of today’s hunting dog field
trialers and trainers want to use game birds
(waterfowl or upland game) in their dog-
related pursuits.

Because game birds in Utah are clas-
sified as protected wildlife, rules and regula-
tions govern their use in these activities.

If you want to use live game birds in dog
field trials and training, please review the
rules thoroughly. You can pick up a copy of
the rules at any Division office or find them
online at wildlife.utah.qov/rules.

14

Dogs are not allowed on state wildlife
management or waterfowl management areas,
except during open hunting seasons or as posted
by the Division.

Live decoys
50 CFR 20.21(f) and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-14

You may not use live birds as decoys.
Also, you may not take migratory game birds
from an area where tame or captive live ducks
or geese are present. The only exception s if the
tame or captive live ducks or geese are—and
have been—confined for at least 10 consecu-
tive days before ygibtake the migratory game

Baiting
50CFR 20.21 (i) and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-16

Baiting is an illegal activity that involves the
spreading of shelled, shucked or unshucked corn,
wheat or other grain, or salt or other feed, to lure,
attract or entice birds to an area. You may not
hunt waterfowl, snipe or coots by baiting. You
also cannot hunt on or over any baited area if you
know, or reasonably should know, that the area
is or has been baited. An area is considered to be
a baited area for 10 days after the bait has been
completely eaten or removed from the area.

You may not take waterfowl or coots on or
over lands or areas where grain or other feed has
been distributed or scattered as the result of the
manipulation of an agricultural crop or other feed
on the land where grown. However, you may take
snipe on or over these areas.

Nothing in this guidebook prohibits you
from harvesting waterfowl or coots on land with
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residual crops or feed left as a result of normal
agricultural practices.

You also may take waterfowl, snipe and coots
on or over the following lands or areas, as long as
these areas have not been baited:

- Standing crops or flooded standing crops
(including aquatics); standing, flooded or
manipulated natural vegetation; flooded
harvested croplands; or lands or areas
where seeds or grains have been scattered
solely as the result of a normal agricultural
planting, harvesting, post-harvest manipu-
lation (for example, a farmer working his
land after the harvest is over) or normal soil
stabilization practice (for example, a farmer
planting a cover crop to protect the soil
during the winter);

«From a blind or other place of concealment
camouflaged with natural vegetation;

«From a blind or other place of concealment
camouflaged with vegetation from agricul-
tural crops, as long as such camouflaging
does not result in the exposing, depositing,
distributing or scattering of grai

Falconry
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-32

If you are interested in hunting waterfowl or
coots with a falcon, you must obtain a hunting or
combination license, a HIP number, a federal mi-
gratory game bird stamp and a falconry certificate
of registration (COR).

The areas open and the bag and possession
limits for falconry are listed on page 23.

Legal falconry hours for waterfowl hunting
are 30 minutes before official sunrise until official
sunset.

Closed ar
Utah Admin. Rule R657-,

ed open. While you're on a WMA,
ticipate in activities that are

o the rules above, the following

s are closed to the taking, hunting, shooting

r rallying of waterfowl, snipe or coot:

+ Antelope Island causeway—uwithin 600
feet of either the north or south side

«Brown’s Park WMA—the part adjacent to
the headquarters.

+ Clear Lake WMA—Spring Lake.

you want to hunt it tomorrow,
help us protect it today.

1-800-662-3337

Turn In a Poacher

15
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Burning phragmites
during the hunt

Over the past six years, the Divi-
sion has chemically treated and burned
thousands of acres of phragmites (pro-
nounced frag-mite-ees). This tall invasive
plant outcompetes native marsh plants and
eliminates waterfow! habitat.

In some cases, phragmites forms dense,
impenetrable thickets up to 13 feet high.

This year, the Division plans to burn
phragmites on the Farmington Bay, Howard
Slough and Harold Crane waterfowl man-
agement areas (WMAs), weather permit-
ting. This may result in temporary closures
of certain areas during the hunt.

Fortunately, waterfowl will flock to the
burned areas a few weeks after the burn,
and hunting should improve considerably.

The Division only receives authorizati
to burn when the weather, wind and air-
quality conditions cooperate. As a result, th

burn occurs.
If conditions are right; the
lock the gates of the

to the upcoming
To read more ahe
burns or to check for an alert about an im-
pending burn, visit wildlife.utah.gov/burn.
To receive notice when a phragmites
burn is approved, follow the Division on
Twitter at twitter.com/DWRburn.

16

s fall's phragmites

«Desert Lake WMA—the part known as
"Desert Lake."

«Farmington Bay WMA—the headquarters
and learning center area; within 600 feet
of dikes and roads accessible by motorized
vehicles; and the waterfowl rest area in the
northwest quarter of Unit 1 as posted.

«Goshen Warm Springs WMA

«0gden Bay WMA—the headquarters area.

«Public Shooting Grounds WMA—the part
that lies above and adjacent to the Hull Lake
Diversion Dike known as "Duck Lake."

- Salt Creek WMA—the part known as "Rest

Hunting of any wildlife is
in the boundaries of all state

d County—Gunnison Bend Reservoir
e inflow upstream to the Southerland
dge.
«Salt Lake International Airport—Hunt-
ing and shooting is prohibited. Hunting
or shooting on the airport or its related or
controlled properties is not allowed without
the express, prior written approval of the
airport director (Salt Lake City, UT, ORD. Sec.
16.12.325).
The following areas are also closed to trespass
of any kind:
« Clear Lake WMA—Spring Lake.
«Desert Lake WMA—the part known as
"Desert Lake."
«Farmington Bay WMA—the waterfowl
rest area in the northwest quarter of Unit 1
as posted.
« Goshen Warm Springs WMA
«Public Shooting Grounds WMA—the part
that lies above and adjacent to the Hull Lake
Diversion Dike known as "Duck Lake."
- Salt Creek WMA—the part known as
"Rest Lake."
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Trespassing
Utah Code §§ 23-20-14 and 23-20-3.5

While taking wildlife or engaging in
wildlife-related activities, you may not—without
permission—enter or remain on privately owned
land that is:

+ Cultivated

+ Properly posted

«Fenced or enclosed in a manner designed to
exclude intruders

In addition, you may not:

«Enter or remain on private land when di-
rected not to do so by the owner or a person
acting for the owner.

«Obstruct any entrance or exit to private
property.

“Cultivated land”is land that is readily identi-
fiable as land whose soil is loosened or broken up
for the raising of crops, land used for the raising of
crops, or a pasture that is artificially irrigated.

“Permission” means written authorization
from the owner or person in charge to enter upon
private land that is cultivated or properly posted.
Permission must include all of the fo
details:
« The signature of the owner

ing trespass—or bright yellow, bright orange

or fluorescent paint—are clearly displayed at

all corners, on fishing streams crossing property
lines, and on roads, gates and rights-of-way en-
tering the land. Or, they are displayed in a manner
that is visible to a person in the area.

You may not post private property you do not
own or legally control or land that is open to the
public as provided by Utah Code § 23-21-4.1n
addition, it is unlawful to take protected wildlife
or its parts while trespassing in violation of Utah
Code §23-20-14.

Show courtesy during
goose hunt

The extended light goose hunt (outside
the northern zone) occurs in early March,
mostly on private lands.

If you want to hunt light geese—or any
other waterfowl—on private property, you
must obtain written permission from the
landowner before you can hunt.

Ideally, you should obtain this permis-
sion weeks, or even months, before the hunt
begins. If you're knocking on a landowner’s

m success of the extended
unt depends on hunters
respecting landowners and their properties.
ou can do your part by obtaining permis-
sion, packing out your trash and remaining
courteous to anyone you encounter.

You are quilty of a class B misdemeanor if you
violate any provision described in this section.
Your license, tag or permit privileges may also be
suspended.

Possession and

transportation

Once you've taken a migratory game bird,
several rules apply to the use of the game you've
taken.

During closed season
50 CFR 20.32 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-17

You may not possess any freshly killed
migratory game birds when the hunting season
is closed.

17
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Live birds
50 CFR 20.38 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-18

You may not possess or transport live migra-
tory game birds. You must immediately kill any
migratory game bird you wound and include it in
your bag limit.

A hunting license does not give you authority
to possess live migratory game birds. More in-
formation about the possession of live migratory
game birds is found in Utah Admin. Rule R657-4
at wildlife.utah.gov/rules.

Waste of migratory game

ndon migratory game birds or to
to spoil or be used in a manner not
associated with their beneficial use. For
ing the meat as fertilizer or for trap-
it is not considered a beneficial use.)
In addition, you may not kill or cripple any mi-
gratory game bird without making a reasonable
effort to immediately retrieve it. Any migratory
game bird that you wound must be immediately
killed and included in your bag limit.

Termination of possession
50 CFR 20.39 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-20

Birds that you have taken are no longer in
your possession once you've delivered the birds
to another person as a gift, or once you've taken
the birds to a migratory bird preservation facility
(i.e., a facility where birds are taken to be cleaned
and prepared for the table) or to a post office or
common carrier and consigned them for transport

ﬂ ! to a person other than yourself.
3 T.EE.E.E FISHING . )
— — Tagging requirement
L o o 50CFR 20.36 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-21

If you leave your birds in the custody of
another person for picking, cleaning, processing,
shipping, transporting or storing, including tem-
porary storage, or at a location to have taxidermy

18
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services performed, you must tag the birds. You
must sign the tag, and it must include your ad-
dress and Utah hunting license number, the total
number and species of birds taken and the date
the birds were killed.

If you're transporting migratory game birds
that you've taken, the birds are not considered to
be in storage or temporary storage, and you don't
need to have a tag on them at that time.

Giving birds to someone
else
50 CFR 20.40, Utah Code § 23-20-9 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-
9-22

You can give the waterfowl you've taken
to another person, but please remember the
following:

«If you give birds to someone at any location,
you must tag the birds. The tag must include
your address and Utah hunting license num-
ber, the total number and species of birds
you're donating, the date the birds were
killed and the date the birds were donated.
You must also sign the tag.

«If you accept birds from anothefhunter,
those birds become part of§our possessie
limit. For example, |fyou havelo.d

possession in Utah Ye
of those ducks before yottican go hunting
and take more.

Custody of another person’s
birds

50 CFR 20.37 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-23

You may not receive or have in your custody
migratory game birds that belong to another
person unless the birds have been tagged in the
manner described in the Tagging requirement
section in the adjacent column.

Species identification

requirement
50 CFR 20.43 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-24

You may not transport migratory game hirds
within the United States unless the head or one
fully feathered wing remains attached to each
bird while you're transporting them to your home
or to a migratory bird preservation facility (i.e., a
facility where birds are taken to be cleaned and
prepared for the table).

Marking package or
container
50 CFR 20.44 and Utah Admin, 657-9-25

and address of the recipient
er and the species of the birds

ping permit must accompany each
ratory game bird package that is shipped

in or from Utah. Shipping permits are avail-
from the Division.

Migratory bird
preservation facilities
50 CFR 20.82 and 20.83 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-26
No migratory bird preservation facility (see
definition on page 42) shall receive or have in
custody any migratory game bird unless accurate
records are maintained that can identify who each
bird was received from and can show all of the
following information:
«The number of each species
«The location where they were taken
« The date the birds were received
«The name and address of the person from
whom the birds were received
« The date the birds were disposed of
«The name and address of the person to
whom the birds were delivered

19
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In addition, migratory bird preservation facili-
ties may not destroy any records they are required
to maintain under this section for a period of one
year following the last entry on record.

Record keeping as required by this section is
not necessary at hunting clubs that do not fully
process migratory birds by removing their head
and wings.

No migratory bird preservation facility may
prevent any person authorized to enforce this
part from entering their facilities at all reasonable
hours and inspecting the records and the premises
where bird-processing operations are being
carried out.

Importation
For information regarding the importation
of migratory game birds you've harvested in
another country, please see 50 CFR 20.61 and
20.62, and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-29, at
wildlife.utah.gov/rules.

Bag limits

50CFR 20.11 and 20.24 and Utah Admin. Rule R6

travel to another state an@’hunt the same day, you
can take only 2 ducks in the second state.)

Checkpoints and officer
contacts
Utah Code §§ 23-20-25 and 77-23-104

To help the Division fulfill its responsibility as
trustee and custodian of Utah's wildlife, Division
conservation officers and biologists monitor
the taking and possession of waterfowl and the
required permits, firearms and equipment used
for hunting. You should expect to encounter con-
servation officers and biologists checking hunters
in the marsh and at checkpoints.

20

If you're contacted by a conservation officer,
you must provide the officer with the items he or
she requests, including any licenses and permits
required for hunting, any devices used to partici-
pate in hunting and any birds you've taken. These
contacts allow the Division to collect valuable
information about Utah's waterfowl populations.

Special regulations
for national wildlife

refuges

Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-30

More than 50 efuges across the nation and
reincluded in the U.S. Fish
ice’s National Wildlife Refuge

ntoxic shot while in the field.
+Hunters may not enter closed areas to
retrieve birds. Therefore, allow enough room
between the closed area boundary and
where you're hunting to retrieve your birds.
-(amping is not permitted on the refuges.
+Prohibited activities include wood cutting
and gathering, littering, disturbing or
removing plants or natural objects, and
removing artifacts of antiquity. Shell casings
and ammunition boxes are litter. Failure to
make a reasonable effort to retrieve litter
could result in a citation.
The following is specific information and
regulations for each of the federal refuges in Utah:

Bear River
50CFR32.64and 27.21

«Hunters may not shoot or hunt within 100
yards of principal refuge roads (tour route).

«Hunters may not use pits or permanent
blinds. The building of a temporary blind
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made of natural material is permitted, but is
not allowed prior to the opening day.

« Airboats are permitted only in Unit 9 and
Block C of the refuge.

- Off-highway vehicles are not permitted on
the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge.

+Hunters may enter the refuge two hours
before legal sunrise and must exit the
refuge by two hours after legal sunset.

The refuge prohibits leaving decoys, boats,
vehicles and other personal property on the
refuge overnight.

«Hunters may only park in designated park-
ing sites.

« Any hunters entering, using or occupying
the refuge for waterfowl hunting must
abide by all the terms and conditions in the
Refuge Hunting Brochure. The brochure is
available at www.fws.gov/bearriver.

«When hunters are in their vehicles, at
parking lots or traveling on refuge roads,
all firearms must be completely unloaded
(including magazines) and cased or dis-
mantled.

+Hunters may possess only 10
hunting on or within 50 fee
of the dikes on Unit 1A.0

o B 3 R ve

22,2012
« Archery hunting is
refuge.
«Predator and snipe hunting are not allowed
on the refuge.
For more information, call the refuge manager
at 435-723-5887.

Fish Springs
50CFR32.64

- The refuge allows the hunting of ducks,
coots and geese in designated areas.

« All waterfowl hunters must register indi-
vidually at the visitor information station
before entering the open hunting area and
before exiting the refuge.

«Hunters may only possess firearms legally
used to hunt waterfowl unless the firearm is
cased or dismantled.

« Hunters may construct nonpermanent
blinds, but must remove all blinds con-
structed out of materials other than vegeta-
tion at the end of the hunting day.

« The refuge provides a Special Blind Area for
use by the disabled. The refuge prohibits
trespass for any reason by any individual not
registered to utilize the area.

« The refuge allows the use of small boats,

15 feet or less, but does not allow gasoline

«Leota Bottom is the only area on the Ouray
refuge open to duck, goose and coot hunt-
ing.

«Access into Leota Bottom is limited to foot,
bike, canoe, rowboat or electric motorized
boats. Gas-powered boats are not permit-
ted.

«All firearms must be unloaded, cased or
dismantled and must remain in the vehicle
in the closed hunting areas of the refuge.

« The refuge will be open for the youth
waterfowl hunt on Sept. 22, 2012.

«Snipe and swan hunting are not allowed on
the refuge.

« The use of pits and permanent blinds is not
allowed. The building of a temporary blind
made of natural material is permitted, but is
not allowed prior to opening day.

For more information, call the refuge manager

at 435-789-0351.
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Avian diseases in Utah

Avian influenza and avian botulism are
diseases that primarily affect wild bird popula-
tions.

Neither disease typically affects humans.
However, there is a strain of avian influenza
(known as Asian bird flu) that has affected
some people. This strain has not been detected
in Utah or anywhere else in North America.

In contrast, outbreaks of avian botulism
(type C) occur in Utah annually. Although
avian botulism typically affects only wild bird
populations, some hunting dogs have been
poisoned by contact with botulism-infected
birds.

As long as you take some simple precau-
tions, you can greatly reduce your risk of
contracting avian influenza, avian botulism or
any other wildlife disease:

- Do not harvest any bird that appea
sick, and do not pick up diseased or d
birds.

«Do not allow dogs or other pets to
handle sick or dead birds.

+Do not handle or eat sick birds.

- Keep your game birds cool, clean and
dry.

«Wear rubber or disposable latex gloves
while handling and cleaning your birds.
« After cleaning the birds, wash your hands

with soap and water, and thoroughly
clean all knives, equipment and surfaces
that came in contact with the birds.

You can disinfect these items by using a

ore information about avian diseases,
isit wildlife.utah.qov/diseases.

Helping wildlife
ma¥es you look good.

(Now your car wants a turn.)

22

ENSURING WILDLIFE'S FUTURE @

& waldlife.utahugoy



http://wildlife.utah.gov

SEASON DATES AND BAG AND

POSSESSION LIMITS

Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-31

Common snipe
Dates: Oct. 6, 2012—Jan. 19, 2013 statewide.

Bag and possession limits: The daily bag limit
is 8, and the possession limit is 16.

Ducks, mergansers and
coots

Dates: Sept. 22, 2012 (for Youth Hunting Day)
and Oct. 6, 2012-Jan. 19, 2013 statewide.

Bag and possession limits: All bag and pos-
session limits are listed below:
+Ducks and mergansers—7 daily (except no
more than 1 canvasback, no more than 2
hen mallards, no more than 2 pintails and
no more than 2 redheads). The possession
limit is twice the daily bag limit.
+Coots—25 daily or in possession.

Falconry

Common snipe: Oct. 6, 2012-Ja
statewide.

Ducks, mergan
(for Youth Hunti
19, 2013 statewide.

Dark geese (inside the
Sept. 22, 2012 (for Youth Hunting Day) and Oct.
6,2012-Jan. 19, 2013.

Dark geese (outside the North Goose
Zone): Sept. 22, 2012 (for Youth Hunting Day),
Oct. 6-18,2012 and Oct. 27, 2012-Jan. 27,
2013.

0

Light geese (inside the North Goose Zone):
Oct. 27,2012-Jan. 19, 2013 and Feb. 18—
March 10,2013

Light geese (outside the North Goose
Zone): Oct. 16,2012-Jan. 19,2013 and
March 1-10, 2013.

Mercury and ducks

Because of elevated mercury levels
in three duck species—cinnamon teal,
Northern shoveler and common golden-
eye—hunters should eat them only on
a limited basis. You can read the latest
consumption advisories for these species at

waterfowladvisories.

Cinnamon teal

All photos, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Common goldeneye

Note: The Bear River, Fish Springs and Ouray
national wildlife refuges and the Brown's
Park, Desert Lake, Farmington Bay, Harold S.
(rane, Howard Slough, Locomotive Springs
and Ogden Bay waterfowl management areas
will be closed to light goose hunting from Feb.
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Youth Hunting Day

Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-29

Hunters 15 years old or younger will have
the marshes to themselves on Sept. 22, 2012
as Utah holds its annual Youth Hunting Day.

To hunt on Youth Hunting Day, you must
be 15 years old or younger. You must also have
a Utah hunting, combination or three-day
nonresident small-game license, and a HIP
registration number.

Adults must accompany youth hunters.
Please see page 6 of this guide for more
information about the requirements adults
must meet to accompany a youth in the field.

sunset. This means that on Sept. 22, youth can
hunt from 6:46 a.m. until 7:23 p.m.

The bag limits for Youth Hunting Day are

as follows:

«Ducks and mergansers: 7 birds (except no
more than 1 canvasback, no more than
2 hen mallards, no more than 2 pintails
and no more than 2 redheads).

« Coots: 25 birds

- Light geese (snow, blue and Ross’):
Closed for youth hunt

- Dark geese (cackling, Canada, white-

ant): 3 birds

«Com ipe and swan: Closed for

Utah Waterfowl! Guidebook « 20712-2013
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The shooting hours on Youth Hunting y
Day are from 30 minutes before sunrise until

18—March 10, 2013. See the North Goose Zone (ra
boundary on the next page.

ward Slough, Locomotive Springs
gden Bay waterfowl management areas
wi losed to light goose hunting from Feb.
—Mareh 10, 2013.

North Goose Zone boundary: See the box on
the next page.

Falconry bag and possession limits fo
common snipe, ducks, geese and co
The daily bag limit is 3 birds. Thegpe

Bag and possession limits: Dark geese (cack-
ling, Canada, white-fronted, brant)—3 per
day, 6 in possession; Light geese (snow, blue,
Ross’)—10 per day, 20 in possession.

Rails

No open season.

Oct. 6-18,2012 and Oct. 27, 2012-Jan. 27,
2013, Swan (holders of swan

permits only)

Dates: Oct. 6—Dec. 9, 2012, unless the Division’s
monitoring program indicates that 10 trum-
peter swans have been taken. If 10 or more
trumpeter swans are taken, the season will be
closed earlier than Dec. 9.

Light geese (inside the North Goose Zone):
Oct. 27,2012-Jan. 19, 2013 and Feb. 18—
March 10, 2013.

Light geese (outside the North Goose
Zone): Oct. 16, 2012-Jan. 19, 2013 and March
1-10,2013.

Note: The Bear River, Fish Springs and Ouray
national wildlife refuges and the Brown’s
Park, Desert Lake, Farmington Bay, Harold S.

Bag and possession limit: The holder of a
swan permit may take and possess only one
swan during the 2012 season.
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2012-2013 North Goose Zone boundary

Boundary begins at the Weber-Box Elder county line at I-15; north on I-15 to the Perry access road;
southwest on this road to the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge southern boundary; west and north
on this southern boundary to the north and most western cormer of the refuge at latitude 41.53
decimal degrees (NAD 83 datum); west cross-country on this latitude to the East Promontory Road;
north on this road to Golden Spike Drive; west on this drive to the Salt Wells Flat county road; west
on this road to the Locomotive Springs-Snowville-Stone, Idaho county road; north on this road to
the Utah-Idaho state line; east on this state line to Utah-Wyoming state line; south on this state line
to the Summit-Rich county line; west on this county line to the Rich-Morgan county line; northwest
on this county line to the Rich-Weber county line; west on this county line to the Weber-Cache
county line; west on this county line to the Weber-Box Elder county line; west on this county line to
[-15.

ER COUNTY

IN
Layton ® “\QQ‘G

Snowvi.lle Biﬁg :
No . ) :
BOX ELDER COUNTY N G gan RICH COUNTY |
PocomStive Tremonton o (o) o |
i Randolph =
R ings M Salt Creek ) I
Public Shooting e z o I =
Grounds WMA UNTY [v E | o
) ) s b=
» City Woodruff
& | -
-
A I -
>
v : o
|
|
|
|

Utah Division of Wildlife Resources makes no warranty with respect to the accuracy, completeness or usefulness
of the data. Utah Division of Wildlife Resources assumes no liability for direct, indirect, special, or consequential
damages resulting from the use or misuse of this data or any of the information contained herein.

Area open to swan hunting: Boundary degrees (NAD 83 datum); west cross country
begins in Salt Lake City at I-80 and I-15; north on this latitude to the East Promontory Road;
on I-15 to Exit 363 (Forest Street); west on this north on this road to SR-83; north on SR-83 to
street to the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge [-84; west on I-84 to SR-30; southwest on SR-
northern boundary; west along this northern 30 to the Nevada-Utah state line; south on this
boundary to the north and most western state line to 1-80; east on 1-80 to I-15.

corner of the refuge at latitude 41.53 decimal
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SHOOTING HOURS

Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-31
Hunters may take waterfowl, snipe and coots
during the shooting hours listed below.* Utah’s

annual Youth Hunting Day will take place on Sept.

22,2012. For details, please see the information
box on page 24.

Legal shooting times may differ slightly,
depending on the area of the state where you're
hunting. Consult the time zone map to learn the
differences.

Hunters may not take wildlife or discharge
any firearm or archery tackle on state-owned
lands adjacent to the Great Salt Lake, on Division-
controlled waterfowl management areas or on
federal refuges between official sunset and 30
minutes before official sunrise.

Time zone map
+ 5 MIN.

-0-

-5MIN.  -10 MIN.

BOX ELDER

TOOELE

MILLARD

BEAVER

CARBON

SEVIER

GRAND

GARFIELD

SAN JUAN

Colored symbols represent species that may be hunted on the

+ Common Snipe
X Ducks, mergansers, coots
* Swan

ese (outside the North Goose Zone)

October 2012
Date

Begins

19  T7:14AM  6:40PM + X = & *

20 715AM 6:39PM X - @ *

21 T716AM 637PM X - @ *
9 +X o0 22 T17AM 636PM X - @ *
10 7:04AM  654PM + X = ¢ @ 23 T18AM  635PM * X - @ *
MmN 7.05AM 6:52PM *+ X ¢ @ 24 T19AM 633PM X - @ *
12 7.06AM 651PM #+ X = ¢ @ 25 T21AM 6:32PM X i @ *
13 7.07AM  6:49PM *+ X = ¢ @ 26 722AM 631PM X - @ *
14 7:08AM  6:48PM * X = & @ 27 T2B3AM 6:29PM X v ¢ @ A+
15 7:09AM  6:46PM + X = ¢ @ 28 T724AM  6:28PM X % € @ A &
16 7:10AM  6:45PM *+ X = ¢ @ * 29 T25AM 627PM X v € @ A x
17 T712AM 643PM # X = ¢ @ & 30 7:226AM 6:25PM X % € @ A &
18 713AM  6:42PM + X = ¢ @ 31 T7T27TAM 6:24PM X - ¢ @ A *

* Qutside of Box Elder, Cache, Davis, Salt Lake and Weber counties, hunting begins at 7:00 a.m. on October 6
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November 2012 December 2012
Date Begins  Ends Species Date Begins  Ends Species
1 729AM 6:23PM * X & @ A 1 T7.03AM 5:00PM # X = & @ A &
2 T30AM 6:22PM # Xt € @ A K 2 T704AM 5:.00PM *+ X & @ A &
3 731AM 621PM * X & @ A 3 7.05AM  5:00PM X & @ A &
4 6:32AM  5:20PM # X - ¢ @ A & 4 7:06AM  5:00PM = X = ¢ @ A K
5 633AM 518PM X v & @ A & 5 T7.07AM 5:.00PM *+ X & @ A &
6  6:34AM S517PM # X € @ A K 6  7:08AM 5:00PM * X i ¢ @ A K
7 636AM 5:16PM # X - ¢ @ A & 7 T.09AM 5:.00PM # X & @ A &
8 637AM S515PM # X % ¢ @ A & 8 T7:09AM 5:00PM X i ¢ @ A Kk
9  6:38AM  5:14PM = Xt ¢ @ A K 9 T710AM =X o0 AKX
10  639AM  5:13PM #+ X = & @ A & 10  711AM * 0 A K
1M 640AM  5:12PM 4 X 2 ¢ @ A * 1" *0 A
12 6:42AM 5:11PM # X = & @ A 12 0 A K
13 643AM 511PM # X ¢ @ A & ®*0 A K
14 6:44AM  5:10PM * X = & @ A * 501PM X €@ A K
15  645AM  5:09PM 4 X °* ¢ @ A * 501PM + X €@ A %
16 6:46AM  5:08PM # X = & @ A * 501PM =X €@ A K
17  647AM  5:07PM =+ X = 5:02PM + X € @ A &
18 6:49AM  5:07PM # X 717AM  5:02PM # X € @ A &
19  6:50AM  5:06PM =+ T17AM  5:02PM #+ X € @ A

N
(=]

6:51AM

20 7:18AM  5:03PM + X 6 @ A &
21 7:18AM  5:03PM *+ X € @ A &

22 T19AM  5:04PM X € @ A

23 T19AM  505PM X 6 @ A X

24 T7T20AM 5:05PM X € @A %

25  657AM 5:03PM # X 0t ¢ @ A K 25 720AM 5:06PM # X € @ A %
26 6:58AM  5:02PM # X & @ A % 26 720AM 5:06PM # X & @ A &
27 659AM  5:02PM # Xt ¢ @ A K 27 T2TAM 5:07PM ¥+ X € @ A %
28 7.00AM  5:01PM # X *: ¢ @ A & 28 721AM 5:08PM # X & @ A &
29 7.01AM 5:01PM # X = ¢ @ A & 29 721AM 5:.09PM # X € @ A &
30 7:02AM 5:01PM # Xt ¢ @ A & 30 721AM 5:09PM # X 6 @ A &

31 722AM 570PM ¥+ X € @ A &

=+ Common Snipe & Dark geese (inside the North Goose Zone)

X Ducks, mergansers, coots

= Swan

@ Dark geese (outside the North Goose Zone)
A Light geese (inside the North Goose Zone)
+ Light geese (outside the North Goose Zone)
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January 2013 February 2013
Date Begins  Ends Species Date Begins  Ends Species
1 722AM 510PM ¥+ X & @ A & 18 6:48AM  6:05PM A
2 T2AM S1IPM X € @ A K 19  647AM  6:07PM A
3 72AM 512PM X € @ A K 20  6:45AM  6:08 PM A
4 722AM 513PM X €@ A K 21 6:44AM  6:09PM A
5 T72AM 514PM # X €@ A K 22 6:42AM  6:10PM A
6 722AM 515PM X € @ A K 23 6:41AM 6:11PM A
7 T22AM 516PM # X € @ A % 24 6:40AM  6:12PM A
8 T72AM 517PM X € @ A Kk 25 6:38AM  6:14PM A
9 721AM 518PM # X € @ A % 26 6:37A A
10 721AM 519PM #+ X € @ A * A
M 721AM 520PM #+X € @ A % A
12 721AM 521PM #+ X € @ A *
13 720AM 522PM #X @@ A %
14 720AM 523PM X €@ A % Species
15 7:20AM 524PM #X €@ A *
16 719AM  525PM +#X 6@ A A ¥
17  7:19AM  5:26PM A *
18 718AM  5:28PM A x
19 7:18AM  5:29PM A *
20 A Kk
21 A *
2 () A *
23 [ J A %
24 [ J A %
25 T:4AM 5:36PM o All hunts end March 10
26 713AM 5:37PM [ J
27 T12AM  5:38PM [ J
No active hunts until Feb. 18
=+ Common Snipe & Dark geese (inside the North Goose Zone)
X Ducks, mergansers, coots @ Dark geese (outside the North Goose Zone)
= Swan A Light geese (inside the North Goose Zone)

# Light geese (outside the North Goose Zone)
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Mallard Drake has a solid green head and
ashort tail. Hen is mottled brown.
Length: 24", Weight: 2 3% Ibs.

Fall plumage drake
P

Yellow to olive bill
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Gadwall

Often mistaken for a mallard. Quicker and more agile than the mallard.
Length: 21", Weight: 2 Ibs.
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Pintail —

Distinguished by
long, pointed tail.
Length: 26"
Weight: 1 3% Ibs.
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ntification

: Wigeon
The white belly and forewing are very
showy in the air. Drakes whistle and
the hens have a loud kaow
and a lower qua-awk.

Length: 21"
Weight: 13 Ibs.

all plumage drake
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Shovelers

Often called spoon bill and mistaken for a mallard.
Length: 197", Weight: 12 Ibs.

Fall plumage drake

Hen

Orange,'ve
shaped bill
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Redhead

Often confused with the
canvasback, the redhead has
a grayer back and a more
rounded head.
Length: 20",
Weight: 2 %2 Ibs.

Fall plumage drake
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Canvasback

One of the largest and fastest ducks. The
wedge-shaped bill gives this duck a unique
profile. The drake has a whitish back.
Length: 22", £
Weight: 3 Ibs. i

-.:_.-ll'
S
P
1

Fall plumage drake

—_—
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Scaup

The scaup has a blue bill and a white band along the back of the wing.
Length: 17", Weight: 17/s Ibs.

Fall plumage drake
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Ring-necked duck

Both sexes have a pale, whitish ring around
the tip of their bill. In flight, wings and
back appear darker than on the scaup.
Length: 17", Weight: 2 % lbs.

...."l'
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Snow goose

Black wing tip Lesser Snow Goose

_ lue Phase Lesser Snow Goose
Black wing tips'

Dark abdomen

= Ross' Goose
-

Short bill

e i.\,a{ ¢e:qi-'..‘ .':._,.
e |
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Swan

Adult Tundra Swan

Irregular yellow spot
in front of the eyes

Adult Trumpeter Swan Eye appears to be
R, partofthebill

No yellow spotin
front of the eyes
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Pelican
Not legal to shoot.

Black wing tips

Large yellow bill
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Common snipe

The snipe usually flushes singly or in pairs and has a rust-colored patch on the
back. The dowitcher, which flushes in flocks, has white feathers.

Dowitcher
Not legal to shoot.
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DEFINITIONS

CFR 20.11, Utah Code § 23-13-2 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-2

Bait means shelled, shucked or unshucked corn,
wheat or other grain, salt or other feed that lures,
attracts or entices birds.

Baited area means any area on which shelled,
shucked or unshucked corn, wheat or other grain,
salt or other feed has been placed, exposed,
deposited, distributed or scattered, if that shelled,
shucked or unshucked corn, wheat or other grain,
salt or other feed could serve as a lure or attrac-
tion for migratory game birds to, on, or over areas
where hunters are attempting to take migratory
game birds. Any such area will remain a baited
area for ten days following the complete removal
of all such shelled, shucked or unshucked corn,
wheat or other grain, salt or other feed.

Baiting means the direct or indirect placing,
exposing, depositing, distributing or scatteri
salt, grain or other feed that could serve as a
or attraction for migratory game birds to, on o
over any areas where hunters are attempti

take them.

combination (aggregate) of species, permitted to
be taken by one person in any one day during the
open season in any one specified geographic area
for which a daily bag limit is prescribed.

Dark geese means the following species: cack-
ling, Canada, white-fronted and brant.

Division means the Utah Division of
Wildlife Resources.

Light geese means the following species: snow,
blue and Ross"

42

Live decoys means tame or captive ducks, geese
or other live birds.

Manipulation means the alteration of natural
vegetation or agricultural crops by activities that
include but are not limited to mowing, shredding,
discing, rolling, chopping, trampling, flatten-

ing, burning or herbicide treatments. The term
“manipulation” does not include the distributing
or scattering of grain, seed or other feed after
removal from storage on the field where grown.

in custody any migratory game birds
nging to another person for purposes

« Any taxidermist, cold-storage facility or
locker plant that for hire or other consider-
ation receives, possesses or has in custody
any migratory game birds belonging to
another person for purposes of picking,
cleaning, freezing, processing, storage or
shipment.

«Any hunting club that in the normal course
of operations receives, possesses or has
in custody any migratory game birds
belonging to another person for purposes
of picking, cleaning, freezing, processing,
storage or shipment.

Migratory game birds means those migratory
birds included in the terms of conventions be-
tween the United States and any foreign country
for the protection of migratory birds, for which
open seasons are prescribed in this part and
belong to the following families:

« Anatidae (ducks, mergansers, swans and

geese, including brant)
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« (olumbidae (doves and pigeons)
«Gruidae (cranes)

« Rallidae (rails, coots and gallinules)
« Scolopacidae (woodcock and snipe)

Natural vegetation means any non-agricultur-
al, native or naturalized plant species that grows
at asite in response to planting or from existing
seeds or other propagules. The term “natural
vegetation” does not include planted millet.
However, planted millet that grows on its own

in subsequent years after the year of planting is
considered natural vegetation.

Nonresident means a person who does not
qualify as a resident.

Nontoxic shot means soft iron, steel, copper-

plated steel, nickel-plated steel, zinc-plated steel,
bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron, tungsten-polymer,

tungsten-matrix, tin and any other shot types ap-
proved by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Lead,
nickel-plated lead, copper-plated lead, copper and
lead/copper alloy shot have not been approved.

harvest manipulation or agricult
that is conducted in accordanee

ing or post-harvest manipulation means

a planting or harvesting undertaken for the
purpose of producing and gathering a crop, or
manipulation after such harvest and removal of
grain that is conducted in accordance with official
recommendations of State Extension Specialists
of the Cooperative Extension Service of the U.S.
Department of Agriculture.

Normal soil stabilization practice means

a planting for agricultural soil erosion control or
post-mining land reclamation conducted in ac-
cordance with official recommendations of State
Extension Specialists of the Cooperative Extension

Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture for
agricultural soil erosion control.

0ff-highway vehicde means any motor
vehicle designed for or capable of travel over
unimproved terrain.

Open season means the days on which migrato-
ry game birds may lawfully be taken. Each period
prescribed as an open season shall be construed
to include the first and last days thereof.

Permanent waterfowl blind means any
waterfow! blind that is left unattended overnight

when lawfully taken in the
esin any one specified geographic area
which a possession limit is prescribed.

dent means a person who has a fixed

permanent home and principal establishment

in Utah for six consecutive months immediately

preceding the purchase of a license or permit, AND

DOES NOT claim residency for hunting, fishing or

trapping in any other state or country.

An individual retains Utah residency if he or
she leaves Utah to serve in the armed forces of the
United States, or for religious or educational pur-
poses, and does NOT claim residency for hunting,
fishing or trapping in any other state or country.

Members of the armed forces of the United
States and dependents are residents as of the
date the member reports for duty under assigned
orders in Utah, if:

«The member is NOT on temporary duty in
Utah and does NOT claim residency for hunt-
ing, fishing or trapping in any other state
or country.
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«The member presents a copy of his or her as-
signment orders to a Division office to verify
the member’s qualification as a resident.

A nonresident attending an institution of
higher learning in Utah as a full-time student may

ualify as a resident if the student has been pres- _—
s § Utah Wildlife in Need

ent in Utah for 60 consecutive days immediately

preceding the purchase of the license or permit Help protect Utah wildlife
and does NOT claim residency for hunting, fishing Protecting and preserving Utahis

or trapping in any other state or country. threatened wildlife is up to each of
A Utah resident license or permit is invalid if a us, and together we can make a dif-
resident license for hunting, fishing or trapping is ference. Please join Utah Wildlife In
purchased in any other state or country. Need as we work together to help en-
An individual DOES NOT qualify as a resident dlife treasures are part
if he or she is an absentee landowner paying we leave for our children
property tax on land in Utah.

Sinkbox means any type of low floating device, €
having a depression, affording the hunter a means ’ W you can help sustain Utah
of concealment beneath the surface of the water.

Spoiled means impairment of the flesh
of wildlife which renders it unfit for human
consumption.

rotected wildlife to spoil or to be used
ina manner not normally associated with its

beneficial use.
Tag means a card, label or o

device used for attachmen

Twildi Waterfowl means ducks, including mergansers,
protected wildlife.

geese, brant and swans.

Waterfowl blind means any manufactured
place of concealment, including boats, rafts, tents,
excavated pits, or similar structure, which has
been designed to partially or completely conceal a
person while hunting waterfowl.

receive or deliver for shipment.
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