Updated: February 8, 2016, 12:12 pm
A hunting or combination license is required to apply for a permit in the big game drawing, to buy a limited-entry or general season permit that remains available after the big game drawing, or to buy an additional permit.
New rules also apply to purchasing bonus points — Read more
You must have a current Utah hunting or combination (hunting and fishing) license before you can apply for any big game permits.
Likewise, you must have a current Utah hunting or license in order to buy any limited-entry or general season permits remaining after the big game drawing.
You can purchase a hunting or combination license online. You can also obtain a license from DWR offices and more than 350 hunting license agents across Utah.
All hunting and combination licenses are valid for 365 days from the date of purchase. Be sure to take a quick look at the date on your license before you apply for a permit or attempt to buy an available remaining permit. As long as your license is valid on the date you submit your application, you don't have to purchase a new license for the actual hunt.
For example, assume that your license expires on June 25, 2010. If you apply for the drawing or purchase a remaining permit before that date, you do not have to purchase a new license for your hunt in the fall.
Which license should I buy?
In addition to allowing you to apply for a permit, a hunting license allows you to hunt small game in Utah. And a combination license allows you to hunt small game and fish.
There are many license options, depending on your age and whether you are a resident of the state of Utah. See all license options, including those for multi-year licenses.
Why is a hunting license required to apply for a hunting permit?
Requiring a hunting license spreads the cost of wildlife management out more equally among everyone.
Costs for habitat projects, surveys and management, and law enforcement have grown considerably over the years. On Utah's limited-entry units, the cost to manage the unit is usually higher than the amount of money brought in through the few permits that are sold for the unit and all of the application fees collected for the unit.
Because only a few permits are offered for these units, raising the cost for the permits would not provide enough funding to manage these units effectively. The DWR had to find new ways to generate funding to continue offering quality hunting in Utah.
In the past, the $5 that hunters paid to try and draw a big game permit was the only financial contribution many people made to Utah's wildlife. Now everyone must buy a hunting or combination license before they can apply for or obtain a hunting permit. The DWR believes this is a fair way to spread the cost of wildlife management out among all sportsmen.