Utah.gov
 

Print Email

Your guide to the 2014 swan hunt

Utah is one of the few places in the country where you have the opportunity to hunt swans. These pages provide information about applying for a swan permit or preference point in 2014. You will also find information about what to do if you obtain a permit and harvest a swan. And finally, be sure to read the important reminder about when you can apply for the 2015 swan hunt.

1 Make sure you meet the basic requirements to apply for a permit

2 Know when, where and how to apply for a permit

3 Make sure you understand the post-hunt requirements

Key dates and fees

Season dates

The swan season runs from Oct. 4–Dec. 14, 2014.

Swan application dates

Swan hunting application available online Aug. 26, 2014
Application deadline Sept. 4, 2014
Drawing results available Sept. 17, 2014
Remaining permits go on sale (if available) Sept. 25, 2014

Permit fee

The swan permit fee is $15*. You will only be charged this fee if you are successful in drawing a permit.

* When you submit your application for a swan permit or preference point, there is a $10 nonrefundable application fee.

Federal stamp fee

There is a $15 fee to obtain a federal migratory bird hunting and conservation stamp (required for those who are 16 years of age and older). These are available at U.S. post offices and some license-agent locations.

A closer look at the rules

Under many of the headings on these pages, you’ll see code references that are linked to the detailed statute or rule that underpins the summary. If you have questions about a particular subject, take a minute to click the links and read the rules.

You are also welcome to call or visit the nearest Division office if you have additional questions. For an in-depth look at all of Utah’s waterfowl hunting laws and rules, visit Utah Division of Wildlife Resources Administrative Rules.

Who makes the rules?

The Utah Wildlife Board passes the rules and laws summarized in this guidebook.

There are seven board members, and each serves a six-year term. Appointed by the governor, board members are not Division employees.

The Division’s director serves as the board’s executive secretary but does not have a vote on wildlife policies.

Before board members make changes to wildlife rules, they listen to recommendations from Division biologists. They also receive input from the public and various interest groups via the regional advisory council (RAC) process.

Share your feedback or suggestions with board members.

Wildlife Board members

Jake Albrecht, Chair

Bill Fenimore, Vice Chair

Gregory Sheehan, Division Director & Executive Secretary

John Bair

Calvin Crandall

Steve Dalton

Michael King

Kirk Woodward

Bookmark and Share