Utah.gov
 

Wildlife News

Online furharvester education with an in-person field day

Total field day time:
3 hours minimum
Class meets:
1 day
Cost:
$40.50 *
Registration:
Contact instructor

A Utah resident born after Dec. 31, 1984 may not purchase a resident furbearer license unless the applicant has completed a Division-approved furharvester education course.

This is a comprehensive course for Utah furharvester education certification. Completion is required to trap in Oregon and several other states.

The furharvester education course provides instruction in safe and responsible trapping, including instruction in the use of trapping devices, trapping laws, trapping ethics, techniques in safely releasing nontarget animals, firearms safety, wildlife management, proper catch handling trapper health and safety, and ethics related to the avoidance of conflicts with other public land users and private landowners. There will be field exercises and a final written exam.

This course does not replace the hunter education course for hunters born after December 31, 1965. Hunter born after that date must still complete the hunter education course before purchasing their hunting licenses.

* $34.50 online course cost and a $6.00 registration fee. In addition, some facilities charge to rent a room or range, which increases the student cost.

Ready to take this course?

1 Purchase a Furharvester Education Registration Certificate. Purchase a registration certificate ($6) before attending this class. You can purchase a certificate online, from a Division office or a license agent. The instructor must have this certificate to officially enroll you in the class.

2 Find a field day in your area

3 Contact the field day instructor. You must contact the instructor to get officially enrolled in the field day. The instructor's contact information is listed with the field day.

4 Study the online material in preparation for the field day. You must provide proof of completion to the instructor at the field day. The material and exam are available online at www.hunter-ed.com/utah/trapper.html. Be sure to print out your field day qualifier certificate before attending the field day.

Bookmark and Share

Hunt drawings
Hunting permits
Fishing licenses

Utah DWR video

Beavers in Utah

Building guzzlers in Utah's Newfoundland Mountains

Gila monsters — Creatures of legends and misconceptions

See more Utah DWR videos

Tread Lightly
Wildlife Newsletters
DWR Wildlife Blog
Wildlife license plates