Utah.gov
 

Hunting

Print Email

KEY: wildlife, game laws, hunter education

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: August 21, 2008

Notice of Continuation: December 5, 2012

Authorizing, and Implementing or Interpreted Law: 23-19-11

R657-23-1. Purpose and Authority.

Under authority of Section 23-19-11, this rule provides the process and requirements for:

(1) hunter education instructor and student training; and

(2) presenting and obtaining proof of having successfully completed an approved hunter education course.

R657-23-2. Definitions.

(1) Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2.

(2) In addition:

(a) "Approved hunter education course" means any hunter education course that qualifies a person to receive a resident hunting license in the state, province, or country in which the hunter education course is offered.

(b) "Authorized division representative" means a volunteer hunter education instructor who has been approved by the division to issue duplicate blue cards.

(c) "Blue Card" means the certificate of completion issued by the division for having passed a Utah hunter education course or an approved hunter education course.

(d) "Certificate of completion" means a card, certificate, or other document issued by the wildlife agency of a state, province, or country, and signed by a hunter education instructor, verifying successful completion of an approved hunter education course.

(e) "Hunter Education Registration Certificate" means a document purchased from the division that is valid for 365 days from date of purchase which is required to sign up for and graduate from the hunter education course. This document becomes a valid hunting license upon validation of course completion by a certified hunter education instructor.

(f) "Practical exercise and testing day" means a student has successfully completed the hunter education course online and shall participate in taking a written test, a practical shooting test, and instruction on firearms safety and hunter responsibility during a minimum of five hours with a hunter education instructor.

(g) "Trainer" means a volunteer hunter education instructor or Division employee who has been certified by the division to train hunter education instructors.

(h) "Instructor" means a volunteer hunter education instructor or division employee who has been certified by the division to teach the hunter education program to students.

(i) "Online hunter education course" means a hunter education course that is completed online substituting the minimum 12 hours classroom requirement, and is taken through the division's Internet address.

(j) "Student" means a person who is registered in a hunter education course being taught by a certified hunter education instructor.

(k) "Traditional hunter education course" means a hunter education course that is a minimum of 12 classroom hours, a written test and a practical shooting test.

R657-23-3. Hunter Education Required.

(1)(a) To obtain a hunting license, any person born after December 31, 1965, must present proof of having passed a division approved hunter education course.

(b) A person may take a hunter education course offered by the division as provided in Subsection (2), (3), or (4).

(2) Completion of a traditional hunter education course requires students to:

(a) purchase a hunter education registration certificate from a Division authorized licensed vendor.

(b) attend the minimum 12-hour classroom course;

(c) behave in a safe and responsible manner in class;

(d) obtain a passing score of at least 75% on a written test; and

(e) obtain a passing score of at least 50% on a shooting practical test.

(3) Completion of the online hunter education course requires students to:

(a) purchase a hunter education registration certificate from a Division authorized licensed vendor.

(b) pre-register for the field day by contacting the instructor by mail, e-mail or telephone;

(c ) comprehensively read each chapter of the online workbook, and complete and obtain a passing score of at least 80% of each quiz that is provided after each chapter of the workbook;

(d) behave in a safe and responsible manner while attending the field day;

(e) obtain a passing score of at least 75% on a written test; and

(f) obtain a passing score of at least 50% on a shooting practical test.

(4)(a) The division, will issues a Blue Card to each individual who successfully completes the hunter education course.

(b) A Blue Card shall not be issued to a person who has not successfully completed the hunter education requirements.

(5) A member of the United States Armed Forces or Utah National Guard is exempt from the shooting practical test required in Subsections 2 and 3 above if they can provide a copy of their federal form 201 from the military outlining their firearms training to the hunter education instructor prior to the firearms practical test.

(6) The division shall accept other states, provinces, and countries criteria and qualifications for their respective courses, which meet or exceed the International Hunter Education Association hunter education standards.

R657-23-4. Documents Accepted as Proof of Completion of a Hunter Education Course.

(1) The division and division approved license agents shall accept proof of completion of an approved hunter education course in accordance with Section 23-19-11.

(2)(a) Any person who has completed an approved hunter education course in another state, province, or country and becomes a Utah resident must obtain a transfer Blue Card prior to purchasing a resident hunting license.

(b) The person must present proof of completion of an approved hunter education course to a division office as required under Subsection (1).

(3)(a) If an applicant for a nonresident hunting license is not able to present a hunting license or a certificate of completion as provided in Subsection (1), the division may contact another state, province, or country to verify the completion of a hunter education course so that a nonresident hunting license may be issued.

(4)(a) If an applicant for a resident or nonresident hunting license has completed a hunter education course in Utah but is not able to present a hunting license or a certificate of completion as provided in Subsection (1), the division may research the division's hunter education records to verify that the applicant has completed the hunter education course.

(b) Upon issuance of the hunting license, the division shall indicate the applicant's hunter education number on the face of the hunting license.

(5)(a) If a Blue Card is lost or destroyed, a person may apply by mail or in person at a division office, or may contact an authorized division representative to obtain a duplicate Blue Card. The person must complete an affidavit and request a record's search.

(b) Upon verification of completion of the hunter education course, the division or authorized division representative may issue the person a duplicate Blue Card.

(6) The division requires any person whose records cannot be found or who cannot be verified as having completed a hunter education course to take the complete course as required under Section R657-23-3.

(7) For the purpose of issuing a hunting license, the division may, upon request, provide verification to another state's wildlife agency that a resident or former resident of Utah has met the Utah hunter education requirements.

(8) The division may charge a fee for the services provided in Subsections (2), (3), (4), and (5).

R657-23-5. Hunter Education Instructor Training.

(1) A person must be 21 years of age or older to become a certified hunter education instructor.

(2) Completion of a hunter education instructor course requires a person to: EITHER

(a) attend the 18 hour classroom course conducted by a trainer;

(b) pass a criminal background check assessing suitability to work with children under the age of 18 years and to serve as an instructor;

(c) obtain a passing score of at least 80% on a written test; and

(d) obtain a passing score of at least 50% on a shooting practical test.

OR

(a) Complete the Division's online instructor course.

(b) Pass a criminal background check assessing suitability to work with children under the age of 18 years and to serve as an instructor;

(c) Attend a 6 hour workshop conducted by a trainer.

(d) Obtain a passing score of at least 75% on a written test; and

(e) Obtain a passing score of at least 50% on a shooting practical test.

(3) The division shall issue a hunter education instructor card to each individual who successfully completes the hunter education instructor course.

Bookmark and Share

Hunt drawings
Hunting permits
Fishing licenses

Utah DWR video

Wildlife crossing structures on Utah highways

Mule Deer: Saving the Icon of the West

See more Utah DWR videos

Tread Lightly
Wildlife license plates
Safety in bear country