Utah.gov
 

Print Email

Traditional classroom furharvester education

Total course time:
8 hours minimum
Class meets:
2–3 days
Basic cost:
$6.00*
Registration:
Contact instructor

A Utah resident born after Dec. 31, 1984 may not purchase a resident furbearer license unless the applicant has completed a Division-approved furharvester education course. The furharvester education course provides instruction in safe and responsible trapping, including instruction in the use of trapping devices, trapping laws, trapping ethics, techniques in safely releasing nontarget animals, firearms safety, wildlife management, proper catch handling trapper health and safety, and ethics related to the avoidance of conflicts with other public land users and private landowners.

* Some facilities charge to rent a room, which increases the student cost.

Ready to take this course?

1 Purchase a Registration Certificate. Purchase a Furharvester Education Registration Certificate ($6) before attending this class. You can purchase a certificate online, from a Division office or a license agent. The instructor must have this certificate to officially enroll you in the class.

2 Find this course in your area

3 Contact the course instructor. The instructor's contact information is listed with the course.

Bookmark and Share