Applying for a swan permit
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62-22
To hunt swan in Utah, you must draw a permit in the state’s swan hunt drawing. You can apply for the drawing online beginning on Aug. 26, 2013.
If you don’t want to apply for a permit this year, but you want a better chance of drawing one next year, you can apply for a preference point instead.
Before you can apply for either a swan permit or a preference point, however, you must first complete a one-time swan hunting orientation course. After you’ve taken the course, you don’t have to take it again as long as you follow the rules listed in the Harvest reporting section.
Please note the following dates if you want to apply for a 2013 swan permit or preference point.
August 26: Apply online for a permit or preference point
Starting Aug. 26, you may apply online for a swan permit or preference point. Both residents and nonresidents may apply. Groups of up to four people may also apply. For more information, please see Applying as a group.
When you submit your application for either a swan permit or a preference point, you will be charged a $10 nonrefundable application fee. A permit fee is charged only if you are successful in drawing a permit. The fee for a swan permit is $15.
You can use American Express, Discover, MasterCard and VISA credit or debit cards as payment, and they must be valid through November 2013. You can also use a pre-paid credit card. If you have questions about using a pre-paid credit card, check with your financial institution for more information.
September 4: Deadline for permit and preference point applications
Your application for a swan permit or preference point must be submitted online no later than 11 p.m. on Sept. 4, 2013. If you need help with your online application, please call any Division office before 5 p.m. on Sept. 4, 2013. A Division employee will be available to help you.
September 4: Deadline to resubmit an application
Did you make a mistake in your online permit application? Simply withdraw your original online application and submit a new, correct application before 11 p.m. on Sept. 4, 2013.
In order to withdraw your application, you must have the confirmation number from your original application. You must also have your customer ID and your date of birth. For each new application you submit, you will be charged a $10 nonrefundable application fee.
If you need help with your online application, please call any Division office before 5 p.m. on Sept. 4, 2013.
September 4: Deadline to withdraw an application
If you decide not to hunt swan, you can withdraw your online permit application until 11 p.m. on Sept. 4, 2013.
Please remember that any fees you submitted with your application are not refundable.
September 16: Drawing results available
You’ll be notified of the drawing results by email on or before Sept. 16. You can also learn your drawing results online or by calling 1-800-221-0659.
In order to protect your privacy—and to comply with governmental records access laws—you may obtain access to only your own drawing results.
If you draw a permit, you’ll likely receive your permit in the mail by the end of September.
September 24: Remaining permits available
Any permits remaining after the swan hunt drawing may be obtained beginning Sept. 24, 2013, at wildlife.utah.gov and from license agents and Division offices. Remaining permits are available on a ﬁrst-come, ﬁrst-served basis.
Applying as a group
Instead of applying as an individual hunter, you and your friends and family can apply together as a group. Up to four hunters—including a mix of residents and nonresidents—can apply together for swan permits.
Please remember that if you’re a youth, and you want to be included among those who draw for the swan permits reserved for youth, you must apply as an individual hunter. Do NOT apply as part of a group.
When you apply, all fees for all applicants in your group must be charged to one credit or debit card. If your group is successful in the drawing, all of the applicants in your group who have valid applications will receive a permit.
Swan permits for youth
Fifteen percent of this year’s swan hunting permits are reserved for hunters who will be 15 years of age or younger on Oct. 5, 2013 (the opening day of the hunt).
If you’ll be 15 years of age or younger on Oct. 5, you can participate in the youth drawing by submitting an application as an individual hunter. You won’t be included in the youth drawing if you apply as a member of a group.
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62-9
Preference points ensure that applicants who are unsuccessful—or those who choose to apply only for a preference point—will have a better chance of obtaining a permit in next year’s swan drawing.
If this is your first time applying for a swan preference point or permit, you must complete the swan orientation course.
A preference point is awarded for each unsuccessful swan application.
An individual who does not want to hunt swan in the current year may apply for a preference point only by selecting the appropriate hunt choice code (SWN) on the application and paying the $10 application fee.
If you are eligible for a swan permit, you are eligible to apply for a preference point. You cannot, however, apply for both a permit and a preference point in the same season.
A preference point will not be issued if you are successful in drawing a swan permit.
You will not lose your preference points if you obtain a permit that remains available after the swan drawing is over.
How your preference points work in the drawing
In the drawing, swan applications are sorted into groups by the number of preference points—a 4-preference-point group, a 3-preference-point group and so on—from highest to lowest. Within each group of preference points, the applications are then sorted from lowest to highest draw numbers. Permits are awarded in order, based on the hunt choice selected.
Preference points are averaged and rounded down when two or more applicants apply as a group. For example, if hunter A with three preference points and hunter B with zero preference points apply as a group, the preference points are averaged (1.5) and rounded down to one. This process will determine in which group of preference points your application will be considered. Hunters with one preference point will be considered only after all groups or individuals with two or more preference points and before all groups or individuals with zero preference points.
Surrendering your permit
You may surrender your swan permit before the season opens in order to reinstate your preference points, including a preference point for the current year (just as if you had not drawn a permit).
Utah Code § 23-19-38 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-62
The Division rarely issues refunds for licenses or permits, but there are some exceptions. See if you’re eligible for a refund.
If you received a swan permit in 2013, be sure to meet the following requirements by Jan. 7, 2014.
Tag your swan
Utah Code § 23-20-30 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-5
After you’ve taken a swan, you must tag the swan before you move the carcass from or leave the site of the kill.
To tag a swan, completely detach the tag from your swan permit and completely remove the notches that correspond with the month and day the swan was taken. Then attach the tag to the carcass so the tag remains securely fastened and visible.
Your swan tag also includes a notch that indicates the sex of the bird, but you do not need to remove this notch; you only need to remove the notches that indicate when the bird was taken.
You may not remove more than one notch indicating the month or day the swan was taken, or tag more than one swan using the same tag. Also, you may not hunt or pursue swans after any of the notches have been removed from the tag or the tag has been detached from your permit.
Get your swan examined
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-6
You must bring the tagged swan or its head to a Division office—or the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge office—within three days of harvesting the swan. A staff person will examine the swan’s head and complete your swan questionnaire for you. This visit provides biologists with valuable information about swans in Utah.
If you obtain a swan permit, you must complete and submit a swan questionnaire by Jan. 13, 2014. Reporting is required, even if you did not hunt or harvest a swan. If you do harvest a swan, a Division biologist will complete your questionnaire as part of the post-harvest examination that is required of all successful swan hunters.
To report your swan harvest, simply bring the tagged swan or its head to a Division office, or the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge office, within three days of harvest. A Division or Refuge employee will help you complete your swan harvest report.
You can complete the questionnaire online or by calling 1-800-221-0659.
It’s important to comply with the requirements listed above. If you miss the Jan. 13 deadline, you will be ineligible to apply for a 2014 swan permit unless you:
If you did not harvest a swan, you would only be required to complete the last three items before applying for your 2014 swan permit.
Applying for a swan permit next year
Utah Admin. Rules R657-62-22
Applications for swan permits for the 2014 season will be accepted starting in early September 2014.
Mark your calendar today and remember to visit wildlife.utah.gov at the start of September 2014 for the latest information.