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CONTACT US
Turn in a poacher
Phone: 1-800-662-3337
Text: 847411
Online: wildlife.utah.gov/utip

Division offices
Offices are open 8 a.m.–5 p.m.,  
Monday through Friday.

Salt Lake City
1594 W North Temple
Box 146301
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301
801-538-4700

Central Region
1115 N Main Street
Springville, UT 84663
801-491-5678

Northeastern Region
318 N Vernal Avenue
Vernal, UT 84078
435-781-9453

Northern Region
515 E 5300 S
Ogden, UT 84405
801-476-2740

Southeastern Region
319 N Carbonville Road, Ste A
Price, UT 84501
435-613-3700

Southern Region
1470 N Airport Road
Cedar City, UT 84721
435-865-6100

Washington County Field Office
451 N SR-318
Hurricane, UT 84737
435-879-8694

http://wildlife.utah.gov/utip
https://www.facebook.com/UtahDWR/
https://www.instagram.com/utahdwr/
https://www.pinterest.com/utahdwr/
https://www.youtube.com/@UDWR
https://twitter.com/UtahDWR
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WHAT’S NEW?
​​Apply for bear hunts: The Division dis-
tributes permits for limited-entry bear hunts 
through a drawing. You can apply for the draw-
ing online or by phone from Feb. 7–21, 2023. 
If you are successful in drawing a permit, you 
will be notified via email on or before March 3, 
2023. For additional details, see page 15.

Changes to trail camera regulations: 
The Utah Legislature made changes to the 
state’s trail camera rules, effective May 3, 2023. 
Trail cameras are prohibited on public land 
from July 31 to Dec. 31, with some exceptions 
for research and monitoring by land manage-
ment agencies.The sale or purchase of trail 
camera footage in the take—or attempted 
take—of big game, cougar or bear is still 
prohibited. The new law allows the use of trail 
cameras that utilize internal data storage to 
be used on private property. For details, see 
the information box on page 31 and visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/trailcams. 

Night-vision devices: The board also clari-
fied rules that prohibit the use of night-vision 
devices to locate or attempt to locate a big 
game animal, bear or cougar from 48 hours 
before any big game, bear or cougar hunt in 
the area through 48 hours after any hunt ends 
in the area. For details, see page 29. 

Bait season changes: The board also 
eliminated the fall bait season so that it will 
not overlap with seasons allowing dogs. (It is 
illegal to use both bait and hounds at the same 
time during the same hunt.) The only season 
that allows bait is the summer limited-entry 
season, May 29–June 30, 2023, on specified 
hunt units. See the hunt tables beginning on 
page 36 for more information. 

No early baiting: Early baiting is now 
prohibited statewide. See Field regulations 
beginning on page 22 for more details. 

KNOW THE LAWS
This guidebook summarizes Utah’s black 

bear hunting laws and rules. Although it is 
a convenient quick-reference document for 
Utah’s regulations, it is not an all-encompass-
ing resource. 

For an in-depth look at Utah’s 
black bear hunting laws and rules, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/rules.

You can use the references in the guide-
book—such as Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah 
Administrative Rule R657-33-3—to search the 
Division’s website for the detailed statute or 
rule that underpins the guidebook summary. 

If you have questions about a particular 
rule, call or visit the nearest Division office.

Who makes the rules?
The Utah Wildlife Board passes the rules 

and laws summarized in this guidebook.
There are seven board members, and 

each serves a six-year term. Appointed by the 
governor, board members are not Division 
employees.

The Division’s director serves as the board’s 
executive secretary but does not have a vote on 
wildlife policies.

Before board members make changes to 
wildlife rules, they listen to recommendations 
from Division biologists. They also receive input 
from the public and various interest groups via 
the Regional Advisory Council (RAC) process.

 If you have feedback or suggestions for 
board members, you can find their contact 
information online at wildlife.utah.gov.

Wildlife Board members
Kevin Albrecht, Chair
Randy Dearth, Vice Chair
J. Shirley, Division 

Director & Executive 
Secretary

Wade Heaton
Karl Hirst
Gary Nielson
Bret Selman
Bryce Thurgood

http://wildlife.utah.gov/rules
http://wildlife.utah.gov
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Drawing results available March 3: 
Results of the 2023 black bear drawing will be 
emailed on or before March 3. You can also visit 
wildlife.utah.gov or call 1-800-221-0659 to see 
if you were successful. For more information, 
see page 16.

Unit closures available online: Any 
harvest-objective unit closures will be posted 
at wildlife.utah.gov/bear by noon daily. Clo-
sures will take effect the following day. (Note: 
The phone hotline is no longer in operation.)

Orientation course required: Before you 
can apply for or obtain a bear permit (of any 
kind) or a bonus point, you must complete an 
online bear orientation course. You will find 
the orientation course online at wildlife.utah.
gov/bear. After you successfully complete the 
course, you will be able to apply for or obtain 
your permit. See page 9 for details. 

Child support law: There are restrictions 
on fishing and hunting license purchasers for 
nonpayment of child support. For additional 
information—or to arrange a payment sched-
ule—please contact the Office of Recovery 
Services at 801-536-8500.

Ways to report poachers: Use the UTDWR 
law enforcement app or the text option for 
reporting poachers (text 847411). For details 
about these and other wildlife-crime reporting 
options, see the information box on page 28 
or visit wildlife.utah.gov/utip.

Utah Hunter Mentoring Program: 
Eligible mentors can share their bear permits 
with qualifying minors. For details, see 
the information box on page 18 or visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/mentoring. 

Utah’s Trial Hunting Program: People 
who haven’t hunted black bears may be able to 
try it for the first time without taking Hunter 
Education. For details, see the information box 
on page 9.

Apply for a bait station online: Beginning 
April 3, 2023, you may apply for your required 
bait station certificate of registration (COR) 
online at wildlife.utah.gov/bear or by visiting 
a Division office. New: Bait sites must comply 
with all rules and regulations in this guidebook 
and listed in Utah Code, but the DWR will not 
review locations and approve them before a COR 
is issued. For additional details, see page 27. 

Hunting over another hunter’s bait 
site: Hunters with valid bait permits may hunt 
over another hunter’s bait site with written 
permission from the COR holder. For details, 
see page 27. 

Prohibited bait products: The use of 
chocolate or cocoa products is prohibited, 
since these products can be toxic to some wild 
and domestic animals. See Field regulations 
beginning on page 22 for more details about 
allowable bait and restrictions. 

Updated maps and boundaries: Unit 
boundaries change every year. Use the Utah 
Hunt Planner to find unit maps, boundaries 
and information on the hunts you want to 
apply for. Learn more at hunt.utah.gov. 

Updated season dates: Season dates 
change every year. Several hunt units have also 
shifted season dates so that hound hunting 
and bear bait seasons do not overlap. For 
details, see the tables that start on page 36.

Important reminders
Hunting license required: Before you can 
apply for or obtain a 2023 black bear hunting 
permit, bonus point or pursuit permit, you 
must have a valid Utah hunting or combina-
tion license. Please see page 9 for more 
information. 

http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
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Stay informed: We will communicate 
changes that may affect you and your hunt via 
email and social media. Visit wildlife.utah.gov/
stay-connected to sign up for email updates 
and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram 
and YouTube.  

Private land: The Division cannot guarantee 
access to any private land. Under certain cir-
cumstances, you must obtain written permis-
sion from the landowner or the landowner’s 
authorized representative before hunting on 
private lands. For more information, please see 
page 33. 

Guidebook correction: If errors are found in 
this guidebook after it is printed, the Division 
will correct them in the online copy. Visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks to view digital 
versions of all the Division’s guidebooks.

Protection from discrimination: The 
Division receives federal financial assistance 
from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Under 
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II 
of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 
the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of 
the Education Amendments of 1972, the U.S. 
Department of the Interior and its bureaus 
prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, 
color, national origin, age, disability or sex. If 
you believe that you have been discriminated 
against in any program, activity or facility, or 
if you desire further information, please visit 
www.doi.gov/pmb/eeo/public-civil-rights.

Division funding: The Division is mostly 
funded by the sale of hunting and fishing 
licenses and through federal aid made possible 
by an excise tax on the sale of firearms and 
other hunting- and fishing-related equipment.

Pack size restrictions: The maximum 
number of dogs that can be used to pursue a 
bear has been set at 16 for the spring and fall 
seasons. During all summer pursuit seasons and 
restricted summer pursuit seasons, there’s an 
eight-dog maximum. For details, see page 20.

Guides and outfitters: If you’re a Utah-
licensed guide or outfitter—and you’re 
accompanying a paying client to pursue black 
bear—you do not need a pursuit permit. To 
learn more, see page 35.

365-day pursuit permits: Pursuit permits 
are valid for 365 days from the day you buy 
them, but you may pursue bears only during 
the state’s pursuit seasons. You’ll find pursuit 
season dates on page 6 and pursuit restric-
tions on page 34.

Age requirements: If you’re 11 years old, 
but you’ll turn 12 during 2023, you can apply 
for a permit to hunt bears in 2023. Please see 
page 8 for more information.

Points options for military members: 
Active military personnel may be eligible to 
take advantage of some points opportuni-
ties if they are deployed during the black 
bear application period. For details, see 
the information box on page 21 or visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/military.

Discounted licenses for disabled veter-
ans: The Division offers discounted hunting 
and combination licenses to Utah servicemem-
bers who were disabled in the line of duty. See 
page 7 for more details. 

Download the app: The free Utah Hunting 
and Fishing app makes it easy to store digital 
versions of your licenses and permits on a 
mobile device. For details, see wildlife.utah.
gov/mobileapp.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks
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KEY DATES
Hunt applications

Start applying online Feb. 7, 2023

Application deadline Feb. 21, 2023

Drawing results available March 3, 2023

Harvest-objective permit 
sales begin

March 9, 2023

Remaining permits go on 
sale, if available

March 9, 2023

Hunt season dates
Season dates vary. For all season dates, see the 
hunt tables that begin on page 36.

Pursuit season dates 
(units not designated as 
restricted)

Spring April 1–May 29, 
2023

Summer July 5–Aug. 4, 
2023

Fall Nov. 2–12, 2023

Pursuit season dates for 
restricted pursuit units
The Book Cliffs, La Sal and San Juan units are 
Utah’s only restricted pursuit units. Restrictions 
apply during the spring, early summer and 
late summer pursuit seasons. To learn more 
about applying for and using restricted pursuit 
permits, see page 11 and page 34. 

Spring (all three units, 
restricted only for 
nonresidents)

April 1–May 29, 
2023

Early summer  
(all three units) July 5–16, 2023

Late summer  
(all three units)

July 19–30, 
2023

FEES
Resident license fees 

License Fee
365-day hunting license 
(age 13 and under)

$11

365-day hunting license 
(ages 14–17)

$16

365-day hunting license 
(ages 18–64)

$34

365-day hunting license 
(age 65 and older)

$25

365-day hunting license 
for disabled veterans (see  
details in the box on page 7)

$25.50

Multi-year hunting license 
(age 18 and older)

$33 per year,  
up to five years

365-day combination*  
license (ages 14–17)

$20

365-day combination* 
license (ages 18–64)

$38

365-day combination* 
license (age 65 and older)

$29

365-day combination 
license for disabled 
veterans (see details in the 
box on page 7)

$28.50

Multi-year combination* 

license (age 18 and older)
$37 per year, 
up to five years

* A combination license allows you to hunt or fish in 
Utah and also allows you to fish with a second pole.

License fee changes
In 2022, the Utah Wildlife Board 

approved several proposed changes to 
Utah’s hunting and fishing license fees. 
The Utah Legislature will consider the 
fee change proposals when it meets in 
early 2023. If approved, the license fee 
changes may go into effect on July 1, 
2023. Visit wildlife.utah.gov after June 1, 
2023 for more information.



U
tah Black Bear G

uidebook • 2023
w
ildlife.utah.gov

7

Nonresident license fees

License Fee
365-day hunting license 
(age 17 and younger)

$29

365-day hunting license 
(age 18 and older)

$72

Multi-year hunting 
license (up to five years) 
for age 18 and older

$71 per year, up 
to five years

365-day combination* 
license (age 17 and 
younger)

$33

365-day combination* 
license (age 18 and 
older)

$98

Multi-year combination* 
license (age 18 and older)

$97 per year, up 
to five years

* A combination license allows you to hunt or fish in 
Utah and also allows you to fish with a second pole.

Resident permit fees
Bear pursuit permit $30

Bear restricted pursuit permit $30‡

Bear harvest-objective permit $83

Bear limited-entry permit $83‡

Bear multi-season limited-entry 
permit

$166‡

‡ In addition to the above fees, you will also be 
charged a $10 nonrefundable application fee if you 
apply in the hunt drawing.

Nonresident permit fees
Bear pursuit permit $155

Bear restricted pursuit permit $155†

Bear harvest-objective permit $354

Bear limited-entry permit $354†

Bear multi-season limited-entry 
permit

$546†

† In addition to the above fees, you will also be 
charged a $15 nonrefundable application fee if you 
apply in the hunt drawing.

Discounted licenses 
for disabled veterans 

The Division offers discounted hunt-
ing and combination licenses to Utah 
servicemembers who were disabled in 
the line of duty.

The discounted hunting license is 
$25.50, instead of the $34 full price. 
Likewise, the discounted combination 
license is $28.50, instead of the $38 full 
price. Either license is good for 365 days 
from the day you buy it. Discounted 
licenses are available online or from all 
Division offices listed on page 2.

To purchase a discounted hunting 
or combination license, you must be 
a Utah resident and have a qualifying 
service-connected disability of at least 
20 percent. 

To apply for a license online, please 
visit wildlife.utah.gov/disabledvet and 
complete the online form. If you need 
assistance, please call the nearest Divi-
sion office.

If you choose to visit a Division office 
to purchase your license, simply bring 
the verification of service-connected dis-
ability documentation that the Depart-
ment of Veterans Affairs issued to you.

You can find additional resources for 
hunters and anglers with disabilities at 
wildlife.utah.gov/disabled-access.

Other permit types
Bait station certificate of 
registration (See Bear baiting on 
page 27)

$10
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Have you passed 
hunter education?
Utah Code § 23-19-11 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-23 

If you were born after Dec. 31, 1965, you 
must provide proof that you’ve passed a hunter 
education course approved by the Division 
before you can apply for or obtain a hunting 
license or a bear permit.

The only exception to this law is for indi-
viduals who are participating in the Division’s 
Trial Hunting Program. You can find details 
about the program in the box on the next page 
or by visiting wildlife.utah.gov/trial.

Proof of hunter education
You can prove that you’ve completed 

hunter education by obtaining a hunter educa-
tion card (called a “blue card” in Utah) or if you 
have a verified hunter education number on 
file with the Division. The number is assigned 
when you complete hunter education and your 
blue card is issued.

How to take hunter 
education

To get started, you should visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/huntereducation. You’ll see 
links to various traditional and online hunter 
education courses. Follow the instructions on 
the website to obtain a hunter education regis-
tration certificate (required) and to register for 
a course online.

If you need assistance, please contact your 
local Division office or call 801-538-4727.

When you finish the course, your instructor 
will verify your course completion in the online 
hunter education system. At that point, you 
will be able to apply for or obtain permits in 
the Division’s hunt drawings, and your hunter 
education registration certificate will become 
your hunting license.  

Are you old enough?
Utah Code §§ 23-19-22.5 and 23-20-20 

To hunt or pursue a black bear in Utah, you 
must be at least 12 years old by Dec. 31, 2023. 

Note: If you’re 11 years old, but you’ll be 
12 by Dec. 31, 2023, you may apply for and 
obtain a black bear permit this year. All sales 
are final.

If you’re younger than 18, you can apply 
to participate in the Utah Hunter Mentoring 
Program. For details on the program, see 
the information box on page 18 or visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/mentoring. 

Adults must accompany 
youth
Utah Code § 23-20-20

While hunting with any weapon, a person 
under 14 years old must be accompanied by 
their parent, legal guardian or other respon-
sible person who is 21 years of age or older 
and who has been approved by the parent or 
guardian. 

A person at least 14 years old and under 16 
years old must be accompanied by a person 21 
years of age or older while hunting with any 
weapon. 

The Division encourages adults to be 
familiar with hunter education guidelines or to 
complete the hunter education course before 
accompanying youth into the field. 

While in the field, the youth and the adult 
must remain close enough for the adult to see 
and provide verbal assistance to the young 
hunter. Using electronic devices, such as 
walkie-talkies or cell phones, does not meet 
this requirement.

BASIC REQUIREMENTS
Are you planning to hunt or pursue black bears in Utah this year? Before you apply for a 
permit, make sure you meet Utah’s age, hunter education and license requirements. 
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Carry your permit
If you are successful in obtaining a black 

bear permit of any kind, you must have it on 
your person while in the field. You cannot alter 
your license or permit, nor can you sell, transfer 
or loan either of them to another person.

Have you completed 
the orientation 
course?

Before you can apply for or obtain a bear 
permit (of any kind) or a bonus point, you must 
complete an online bear orientation course. 
You will find the orientation course online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/bear. 

After you successfully complete the course, 
you will be able to apply for or obtain your 
permit. 

Approximately four to six weeks after you 
complete the course, you will receive your blue 
card by mail. 

You should also keep the following in mind:
•	Hunters under the age of 16 must be 

accompanied by an adult while hunting.
•	Regardless of when a student graduates, 

all hunting regulations (such as season 
dates and bag limits) will apply.

•	Students who are planning to hunt out 
of state should allow enough time for 
their hunter education card to arrive in 
the mail.

New to Utah?
If you become a Utah resident, and you’ve 

completed a hunter education course in 
another state, province or country, you must 
obtain a Utah blue card before you can buy a 
resident hunting license. You can obtain a Utah 
blue card at any Division office by providing 
proof that you’ve completed a hunter educa-
tion course approved by the Division.

Do you have a license?
Utah Code §§§ 23-19-1, 23-19-22 and 23-20-3

You must have a current Utah hunting or 
combination (hunting and fishing) license 
before you can:

•	Apply for or obtain a black bear permit or 
bonus point of any kind.

•	Purchase a black bear pursuit permit.
Licenses are available at wildlife.utah.gov 

and from license agents and Division offices.
Be sure to double check the date on your li-

cense before you apply for any permits or points. 
As long as your license is valid on the date you 
submit your application, you don’t have to 
purchase a new license for the actual hunt. 

For example, assume that your license 
expires on June 22, 2023. If you apply before 
that date, you do not have to purchase a new 
license for your hunt. All hunting and combina-
tion licenses are valid for 365 days from the 
date of purchase.

Utah’s Trial Hunting 
Program
Utah Admin. Rule R657-68

Have you ever wanted to bring your 
spouse, child or friend along on a hunt 
and give them a chance to try hunting? 
Now, they can join you on your next bear 
hunt.

Utah’s Trial Hunting Program allows 
anyone over the age of 12 to try hunting 
for a few years—while accompanied by 
a licensed hunter over the age of 21—
before taking a Hunter Education course.

The program applies to hunts 
for many different species, including 
black bears. To sign up for the pro-
gram or to learn more about it, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/trial.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
http://wildlife.utah.gov
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Hunting permits
There are three different types of bear 

hunting permits in Utah.

Limited-entry permits
These permits are available for any legal 

weapon hunts. If you obtain one of these 
permits, it authorizes you to harvest one black 
bear in the area and season specified on your 
permit.  

You must use the appropriate weapon 
type and method for your hunt. To learn more 
about legal hunting methods (spot-and-stalk, 
bait and use of dogs), see the Field Regulations 
section that begins on page 22. 

How to obtain one: Apply for a limited-
entry permit in the black bear drawing. For 
details, see page 14.

Multi-season limited-entry permits
This permit authorizes you to use any legal 

weapon to harvest one black bear in the area 
and multiple limited-entry seasons specified 
on your permit. 

You must use the appropriate weapon type 
and method for the seasons you are hunting. 
To learn more about legal hunting methods 
(spot-and-stalk, bait and use of dogs), see the 
Field Regulations section that begins on page 
22. 

How to obtain one: Apply for a multi-
season limited-entry permit in the black bear 
drawing. For details, see page 14.

Harvest-objective permits
Biologists have set harvest objectives 

(quotas) for the number of bears that can be 

Verify your residency
Before you apply for any black bear hunts, 

it’s important to know whether you are a 
legal resident of the state of Utah. Although 
residents and nonresidents can apply for most 
of the same types of permits, there are some 
differences in permit fees and availability. See 
the definition of residency on page 47 to de-
termine if you are a resident or a nonresident.

Complete the 
orientation course

Before you can apply for or obtain any 
kind of bear permit or bonus point, you must 
complete the online bear orientation course, 
which includes an ethics component. 

The course is an annual requirement, 
so even if you took it last year, you will 
need to complete it again this year. You 
will find the orientation course online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/bear. 

Understand permit 
types
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-3 and R657-33-4

You may not apply for or obtain more than 
one permit to harvest a black bear in 2023. 
You can, however, obtain a bear pursuit permit 
in addition to a limited-entry or harvest-
objective permit.

If you want to hunt or pursue a black bear 
in Utah, your permit options are as follows:

PREPARE TO APPLY
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62-19

To participate in Utah’s black bear hunt, you need to obtain a permit. The Division distrib-
utes permits for limited-entry hunts and restricted pursuit through the black bear drawing. 
You can apply for the drawing from Feb. 7–21, 2023. It will be easier to apply if you are 
thoroughly prepared before you begin the application process. This part of the guidebook 
will help you find the information and resources you need in order to apply. 

http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
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pursue bears on those three units during their 
spring seasons can do so by purchasing pursuit 
permits at wildlife.utah.gov, from a license 
agent or at any Division office.)

If you apply for a restricted pursuit permit 
but don’t draw one, you will receive a re-
stricted pursuit permit bonus point. For details, 
see page 12. 

Please keep in mind that you must com-
plete the online bear orientation course before 
applying for a restricted pursuit permit.  

Pursuit permit
This permit authorizes you to pursue, 

but not kill, black bears on any unit that is 
not designated as restricted during all three 
pursuit seasons. (For all pursuit season dates, 
see page 6.) 

Reminder: Nonresidents with pursuit 
permits may not use them on any restricted 
pursuit units unless they are accompanying 
someone who possesses a valid restricted 
pursuit permit or hunting permit for that 
unit and season. Residents may use a pursuit 
permit on restricted pursuit units during the 
spring pursuit season.

For a complete list of units where you can 
use a bear pursuit permit, visit hunt.utah.gov. 

How to obtain one: Purchase a pursuit 
permit at wildlife.utah.gov, from a license 
agent or at any Division office. For details, see 
page 19.

taken on certain units. When the objective is 
met, the unit closes to bear hunting for the rest 
of the season.

The harvest-objective permit allows you to 
use any legal weapon to harvest one bear on 
any harvest-objective hunting unit until the 
season ends or the unit’s harvest objective has 
been met. (There are additional restrictions on 
the fall harvest-objective hunts. For details, see 
page 18.) 

How to obtain one: Purchase a harvest-
objective permit at wildlife.utah.gov, from 
a license agent or at any Division office. For 
details, see page 18.

Pursuit permits
There are two different types of bear pursuit 

permits in Utah:

Restricted pursuit permit
This limited-entry permit authorizes you 

to pursue, but not kill, black bears during the 
restricted pursuit season listed on your permit 
on only one of the following units:

•	Book Cliffs
•	La Sal
•	San Juan

The permit is also valid for all pursuit 
seasons on all other units, except the other 
restricted pursuit units during their restricted 
seasons. For a list of restricted pursuit units and 
season dates, see the hunt table on page 42. 
For more information on using this permit, see 
page 34.

Reminder: There are spring restricted 
pursuit seasons for nonresidents on the Book 
Cliffs, La Sal and San Juan units. The spring pur-
suit seasons on those units are not restricted 
for resident pursuers.

How to obtain one: Apply for a restricted 
pursuit permit in the black bear drawing. The 
drawing is also the only way for nonresident 
pursuers to obtain restricted pursuit permits for 
the spring restricted pursuit seasons described 
above. (Important: Residents who want to 

Participate in surveys
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-24

If the Division contacts you about 
your bear hunting or pursuit experience, 
please participate in the survey, regard-
less of your success. Your participation 
helps the Division evaluate population 
trends, assess harvest success and collect 
other valuable information.

http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov/maps
http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov
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permit. Knowing more about the points system 
may be helpful during the application process.

You will receive a bonus point every year 
you apply for a bear permit or restricted 
pursuit permit but don’t draw one. 

There is an application fee for each bonus 
point you apply for. The application fee is $10 
for residents and $15 for nonresidents. The 
application period is Feb. 7–21, 2023. 

If you don’t want to hunt a bear in the cur-
rent year, you may apply for a bonus point by 
completing the orientation course and select-
ing the appropriate bonus point code (BER). 

You may only apply for a bear bonus point 
if you are eligible to apply for a bear permit or 
a restricted pursuit permit.

You may apply for a bear hunting permit or 
a bear hunting bonus point, but NOT both.

You may apply for both a bear hunting 
permit and a restricted pursuit permit bonus 
point. 

Reminder: Permit surrender rules have 
changed, and they could affect the bonus 
points you’ve accrued for black bear. If you 
draw a multiseason permit or a spring limited-
entry permit of any kind—and you need to 
surrender it—be sure to do so before the 
spring season opens. If you do, you’ll get your 
accrued bonus points back, but you won’t earn 
a point for the current year. (For other seasons, 
there’s a 30-day surrender requirement if you 
want to get your previously acquired bonus 
points back, but there aren’t 30 days between 
when you receive your permit and the spring 
season opener.)

If you draw a limited-entry bear hunting 
permit for the summer or fall season, and you 
need to surrender it, be sure to do so at least 
30 days before your hunting season opens. If 
you do, you’ll get your accrued bonus points 
back, but you won’t earn a point for the current 
year. 

Do your research
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-3 and R657-33-4

It’s important to be sure of the details 
before applying for a hunt. You don’t want to 
accidentally apply for the wrong hunting unit 
or season. 

Review the hunt tables
All of the black bear hunts you can apply 

for are listed in the hunt tables that begin 
on page 36. You will need to use the hunt 
numbers associated with the hunts in order 
to apply for permits. Please keep in mind that 
hunt names and boundaries may change from 
year to year. 

See maps and boundaries 
online

You’ll find detailed maps and bound-
ary descriptions for all black bear hunts at 
hunt.utah.gov. 

Obtain permission to hunt 
private property

Utah’s trespassing laws are very specific 
about what private lands you may and may 
not access. If you obtain written permission 
from the landowner, you know you’ll be able to 
access the land you want to hunt.

And by obeying Utah’s trespassing laws, 
you will avoid citations, fines, the loss of your 
harvested animal and other legal penalties.

You can find Utah’s trespassing laws on 
page 33.

Please keep in mind that the Division can-
not guarantee access to private land, and the 
agency does not have the names of landown-
ers who own property where hunts occur.

Why bonus points 
matter
Utah Admin. Rules R657-62-8  and R657-62-19

Utah’s bonus point system has been put 
in place to increase your chance of drawing a 
black bear hunting permit or restricted pursuit 
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pursuit permit or bonus point. 
For example, if you obtain a bear permit 

in 2023, you may not apply for a bear permit 
until 2026.

The waiting period gives other hunters 
a better chance at drawing a limited-entry 
permit or restricted pursuit permit.

You may obtain a bear harvest-objective 
permit while under a waiting period for a bear 
limited-entry permit. You will not begin a new 
waiting period if you purchase a harvest-
objective permit.

Permits obtained after the drawing
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62-15

If you’re under a waiting period for black 
bear, you can still obtain any limited-entry 
bear permit that remains after the drawing, 
but your waiting period will begin again.

For example, if you have one year left on 
your bear waiting period, and you buy a bear 
limited-entry permit—or restricted pursuit 
permit—that remains available after the 
drawing, you’ll begin a new two-year waiting 
period. 

Hunters with 
disabilities
Utah Admin. Rule R657-12

Utah provides special hunting accom-
modations for people with disabilities. These 
accommodations include the opportunity to 
hunt with a companion, hunt from a vehicle 
and receive special season extensions.

To learn more about hunting accommoda-
tions for people with disabilities, please visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/disabled or call any Division 
office.

Important: If you have a limited-
entry bear hunting permit for the sum-
mer or fall season, and you surrender 
it less than 30 days before your season 
begins, you will lose your accrued bo-
nus points and not earn a point for the 
current year. As long as you surrender your 
permit before the season opens, any applicable 
waiting periods will be waived.

For detailed information on how your 
bonus points work in the drawing, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/huntingpermits.

Are you eligible to 
apply?

Before you submit your application, be 
sure you are eligible to participate in the black 
bear drawing.

You may not apply if...
You cannot apply for a bear permit or 

a restricted pursuit permit or obtain a bonus 
point if any of the following conditions apply:

•	You have not completed the orientation 
course.

•	Your bear hunting privilege has been 
suspended.

•	You’re under a waiting period for a black 
bear hunting permit or restricted pursuit 
permit.

•	You don’t have a hunting or combination 
license.

Reminder: There are restrictions on 
fishing and hunting license purchasers for 
nonpayment of child support. For additional 
information—or to arrange a payment sched-
ule—please contact the Office of Recovery 
Services at 801-536-8500. 

Waiting period
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62-19

If you obtain a bear limited-entry or 
restricted pursuit permit, there is a two-year 
waiting period before you can apply for 
another bear limited-entry permit, restricted 

http://wildlife.utah.gov/disabled
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before you set up a bait station. Apply 
at any DWR office or register online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/bear. For more informa-
tion about this requirement, see page 28. 

•	There are special requirements if you want 
to pursue bears on a restricted pursuit 
unit during one of the restricted pursuit 
seasons. See page 11 to learn more about 
these permits and their requirements.

•	If you apply for a restricted pursuit permit 
but do not draw one, you will receive a 
restricted pursuit bonus point.

When you submit your application, you’ll be 
charged an application fee for each hunt type or 
bonus point you applied for. The application fee 
is $10 for residents and $15 for nonresidents. 
If you purchase your hunting or combination 
license during the application process, you’ll 
also be charged a license fee. 

Permit fees will be charged after the draw-
ing, if you obtain a permit.

You can use American Express, Discover, 
MasterCard and VISA credit or debit cards as 
payment, and they must be valid through April 
2023. You can also use a pre-paid credit card.

Please keep in mind that the Division is 
not responsible for any bank charges incurred 
for the use of credit or debit cards. To change 
the credit or debit card associated with your 
application, call 1-800-221-0659. 

February 21: Deadline for permit ap-
plications and bonus points
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62

If you want to participate in the drawing for 
any type of bear limited-entry permit, a restrict-
ed pursuit permit, a bonus point or a restricted 
pursuit permit bonus point, you must apply 
online or by phone no later than Feb. 21, 2023. 

Important dates
If you are planning to apply for a 2023 black 

bear permit, please be aware of the following 
dates and deadlines.

February 7: Apply online for a permit 
or bonus point

Beginning Feb. 7, 2023, both residents and 
nonresidents can apply for a bear permit—or a 
bonus point—online at wildlife.utah.gov. 

You can also apply by calling any Division 
office during regular business hours (8 a.m. to 5 
p.m. MST, Monday through Friday).

To apply for a resident permit, you must be 
a resident on the date the permit is purchased. 
March 3, 2023 is considered the purchase date 
of the permit and the date by which you must 
establish residency in the state of Utah. Only 
nonresidents may apply for nonresident per-
mits. To determine whether you’re a resident, 
please see the definition on page 47. 

Here’s what you need to know in order to 
apply for any type of bear limited-entry permit, 
a restricted pursuit permit, a bonus point or a 
restricted pursuit permit bonus point:

•	You must first complete the orientation 
course. You will find the course online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/bear.

•	You may select up to three hunt choices 
when applying for any type of bear 
limited-entry permit or restricted pursuit 
permit.

•	You cannot apply for both a bear limited-
entry permit and a bonus point.

•	Group applications are not accepted. 
•	If you draw a permit for a hunt that 

allows bait, you can bait bears, but you 
must obtain a certificate of registration 

APPLY FOR A PERMIT
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-3, R657-33-27, R657-42 and R657-62 

The process of applying for a black bear permit is fairly straightforward, if you’ve prepared ahead 
of time and completed the orientation course (see page 9). You will avoid unnecessary 
stress if you apply for the drawing before the last day of the application period. 

http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
http://wildlife.utah.gov


U
tah Black Bear G

uidebook • 2023
w
ildlife.utah.gov

15

March 9: Remaining permits available
Any permits remaining after the bear 

drawing will be available beginning March 9, 
2023 at 8 a.m. MST. You can buy permits at 
wildlife.utah.gov and at license agent locations 
and Division offices. 

Remaining permits are available on a first-
come, first-served basis. You must complete 
the orientation course and have a valid hunt-
ing license or a combination license to buy one 
of these permits.

A license agent list is available online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/licenseagents. Before you visit 
any of the agents, contact them to verify their 
hours of operation.

Any bear limited-entry permit purchased 
after the season opens is not valid until three 
days after the date of purchase. 

There’s an 11 p.m. MST deadline for online ap-
plications and a 5 p.m. MST deadline for phone 
applications. To apply, visit wildlife.utah.gov or 
call any Division office.

Changing or withdrawing your 
application

If you make a mistake in your online permit 
application, simply go to utah-hunt.com and 
click the View, Edit, and Withdraw button at the 
bottom of the page. All edits must be made 
before 11 p.m. MST on Feb. 21, 2023. You must 
have your confirmation number, customer ID 
and date of birth in order to edit your applica-
tion. You will not be charged any additional 
fees, unless you completely withdraw your 
application and resubmit.

February 21: Deadline for withdraw-
ing your application

If you decide not to hunt, you can withdraw 
your online permit application at no additional 
cost until 11 p.m. MST on Feb. 21, 2023.

Please remember that the application fee is 
not refundable.

March 3: Drawing results available
By March 3, 2023, you’ll receive an email 

that lists your drawing results. You can 
also learn your drawing results by visiting 
wildlife.utah.gov or by calling 1-800-221-0659. 

To protect applicants’ privacy—and to 
comply with governmental records access 
laws—you’ll receive access to only your own 
drawing results.

If you draw a hunting permit, you’ll receive 
your permit in the mail in mid-March.

Please be aware that if you receive your 
permit, and then the credit card you used for 
payment is refused, your permit becomes 
invalid and you may not participate in the bear 
pursuit or hunt. If this happens, please call 
1-800-221-0659 to resolve the problem.

Are you allowed to 
possess a weapon?
Utah Code §§ 76-10-503  and 76-10-512

It is illegal under Utah Code §§ 
76-10-503 and 76-10-512 to possess or 
use a firearm, muzzleloader or any other 
dangerous weapon if you have been 
charged or convicted of certain offenses.

The purchase or possession of any 
hunting license, permit, tag or certificate 
of registration from the Division does not 
authorize the holder to legally possess or 
use a firearm, muzzleloader or any other 
dangerous weapon while hunting if they 
are otherwise restricted from possessing 
these weapons under Utah Code.

To determine whether you are 
allowed to possess a weapon, please 
review Utah Code §§ 76-10-503 and 76-
10-512 or contact the law enforcement 
agency that oversees your case.

http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov/licenseagents
http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov
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Obtaining your 
drawing results

You will receive an email that contains your 
drawing results on or before March 3, 2023. 
You can also learn your drawing results by 
visiting wildlife.utah.gov or by calling 1-800-
221-0659.  

To protect applicants’ privacy—and to 
comply with governmental records access 
laws—you’ll receive access to only your own 
drawing results.

Obtaining permits
If you drew a limited-entry permit of any 

kind, you’ll receive your permit in the mail in 
mid-March. 

Please be aware that if you receive your 
permit, and then the credit card you used for 
payment is refused, your permit is not valid.

Permit refunds and 
exchanges
Utah Code §§ 23-19-38, 23-19-38.2 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-42

Obtaining a refund
The Division rarely issues refunds for per-

mits, licenses or certificates of registration, but 
there are some exceptions. To see if you’re eligi-
ble for a refund, visit wildlife.utah.gov/refund.

Reminder: If you are eligible for a refund, 
you must return your permit before the hunt-
ing season ends and then submit all required 
forms and accompanying paperwork within 90 
days of the season ending in order to qualify 
for a full refund. 

Updating your 
personal information

A lot of things can change while you’re 
waiting to find out if you drew a permit. If you 
need to update your name (because of marriage 
or divorce), your address or the credit card num-
ber associated with your application, please call 
1-800-221-0659 or visit utah-hunt.com. 

AFTER YOU APPLY
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62-19

After the application period ends, the hunt drawing occurs. We appreciate your patience 
throughout the drawing process and in awaiting your results. 

Checking in your bear
Need to check in your bear? We 

strongly encourage you to make 
an appointment. Otherwise, you run 
the risk of not having someone available 
to help you. 

When bears are checked at Division 
offices, a Division employee will do the 
following:

•	Ask you the location of the harvest
•	Determine the sex of the bear
•	Extract a small tooth to obtain 

accurate age information
The information and tooth sample 

are very important because they help 
the Division responsibly manage bear 
populations. We greatly appreciate your 
cooperation in this effort. To make the 
tooth extraction easier, you should prop 
the bear’s mouth open before bringing 
it to a Division office. PLEASE DO NOT 
BRING FROZEN BEARS.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/refund
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Exchanging a permit
You may not exchange your limited-entry 

permit for a different one. Utah’s black bear 
limited-entry permits are now tied to a variety 
of different seasons, weapon types, hunting 
methods and harvest quotas.  

Please be certain about the hunts you are 
interested in before you apply. You can see a 
complete list of hunts in the tables that begin 
on page 36.

Surrendering a permit
Utah Code § 23-19-38 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-42

If you obtain a permit and decide not to 
use it, you may surrender the permit to any 
Division office. If your permit is for the summer 
or fall hunting season, we strongly encourage 
you to surrender it at least 30 days before the 
season opens. 

Reminder: If you draw a multi-season 
permit or a spring limited-entry permit of any 
kind—and you need to surrender it—be sure 
to do so before the spring season opens. If you 
do, you’ll get your accrued bonus points back, 
but you won’t earn a point for the current year. 
(For other seasons, there’s a 30-day surrender 
requirement if you want to get your previously 
acquired bonus points back, but there aren’t 30 
days between when you receive your permit 
and the spring season opener.)

If you draw a limited-entry bear hunting 
permit for the summer or fall season, and you 
need to surrender it, be sure to do so at least 
30 days before your hunting season opens. If 
you do, you’ll get your accrued bonus points 
back, but you won’t earn a point for the current 
year. 

Important: If you have a limited-
entry bear hunting permit for the sum-
mer or fall season, and you surrender 
it less than 30 days before your season 
begins, you will lose your accrued 
bonus points and will not earn a point 
for the current year. 

As long as you surrender your permit be-
fore the season opens, any applicable waiting 
periods will be waived.

Reallocated permits
Any limited-entry permit surrendered to 

the Division is reallocated through the drawing 
process. The Division will make a reasonable 
effort to contact the next person listed on the 
alternate drawing list. 

Any person who accepts the offered real-
located permit must pay the applicable permit 
fee. That person will also lose any points 
they’ve accrued and incur a waiting period. 

Duplicate licenses
Utah Code § 23-19-10 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-42

If your unexpired license or permit is 
destroyed, lost or stolen, you can obtain a 
duplicate from a Division office or a license 
agent for $10 or half of the price of the original 
license or permit, whichever is less.

To obtain a duplicate limited-entry permit, 
you must visit a Division office or a license 
agent.

The Division may waive the fee for a dupli-
cate unexpired license or permit, provided you 
did not receive the original document.

Keep in mind that you can also use the 
Utah Hunting and Fishing app to legally 
carry hunting or combination licenses on 
a phone or tablet for all the members of 
your family. To download the app, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/mobileapp.
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Harvest-objective 
permits
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-29

The bear harvest-objective permit allows 
you to harvest one black bear on any harvest-
objective hunting unit until the season ends or 
the unit’s harvest objective has been met.

You may not use bait if you obtain a 
harvest-objective permit. For allowable hunt-
ing methods on each harvest-objective unit, 
see the hunt tables that begin on page 36. 

The harvest-objective permit is available 
to all eligible hunters, except those who drew 
a bear limited-entry permit (not including 
pursuit or restricted pursuit permits).

You may only obtain one permit to harvest 
a bear during the 2023 season.

OTHER AVAILABLE PERMITS
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-3, R657-33-27, R657-42 and R657-62 

If you did not draw any type of limited-entry permit in the black bear drawing, don’t lose 
hope. You can still purchase permits that will allow you to hunt and pursue black bears 
during the 2023 season. This section explains which permits are available online and over 
the counter. 

March 9: Purchase a harvest- 
objective permit
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-30

Before you purchase a harvest-objective 
permit, you must complete the bear orienta-
tion course, which you can find online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/bear.

Bear harvest-objective permits will be 
available to residents and nonresidents, begin-
ning March 9, 2023 at 8 a.m. MST. To purchase 
a permit, you can visit a license agent, a Divi-
sion office or wildlife.utah.gov.

Remember that any harvest-objective 
bear permit purchased after the season opens 
is not valid until three days from the date of 
purchase. As a result, the last day to purchase a 
2023 harvest-objective permit is Nov. 9, 2023. 
We suggest that you purchase a permit early 
in the season because a unit may close at any 
time.

Reminder: Hunters with a spot-and-
stalk permit may not use dogs or bait 
to take a bear. 

Harvest-objective unit closures
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-31

Harvest-objective permits are only valid for 
the 2023 season on any open harvest-objective 
unit. 

Before you begin a hunting trip to a 
bear harvest-objective unit, you must visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/bear to verify that the unit 
is still open. The website will be updated each 
day by noon. Updates become effective the fol-
lowing day, 30 minutes before official sunrise.

A harvest-objective unit is open to hunting 
until one of the following events occurs:

Hunter Mentoring 
program
Utah Admin. Rule R657-67

The Utah Hunter Mentoring program 
allows any qualifying adult to share their 
hunting permits with resident youth. 

Permits that are eligible for sharing 
under the Hunter Mentoring program 
include all big game permits as well as 
black bear, turkey, greater sage-grouse 
and sharp-tailed grouse permits. Only 
swan and sandhill crane permits may not 
be shared because they are subject to 
conflicting federal regulations. 

To learn more about program 
eligibility and requirements and to 
download the application form, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/mentoring.
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•	The bear harvest objective for that unit 
is met.

•	The hunting season ends. For season 
dates, see the hunt table on pages 43-44.

After a harvest-objective unit closes, you 
may not use your harvest-objective permit to 
harvest a bear in that unit. You may, however, 
use your permit in any other harvest-objective 
units that are open in 2023. 

Pursuit permits
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-4

You can purchase a pursuit permit online at 
wildlife.utah.gov or from a Division office or a 
participating license agent.

A pursuit permit authorizes you to pursue, 
but not kill, black bears on any unit that is not 
designated as restricted during all three pursuit 
seasons.  

For all pursuit season dates, see Key dates 
and fees on page 6. 

Reminder: Nonresidents with pursuit per-
mits may not use them on any restricted pursuit 
units unless they are accompanying someone 
who possesses a valid restricted pursuit permit 
or hunting permit for that unit and season. 
Residents may use a pursuit permit on restricted 
pursuit units during the spring pursuit season.

For a complete list of units where you can 
use a bear pursuit permit, visit hunt.utah.gov.

If you are the dog handler, and you already 
possess a bear limited-entry permit, you may 
pursue bear on the unit—and during the 
season—for which the permit is valid. If you 
want to pursue bear on a different unit or dur-
ing a different season—or after you harvest a 
bear—you will need to purchase a bear pursuit 
permit.

Conservation and 
sportsman permits
Utah Admin. Rule R657-41

Conservation permits for taking black bear 
are often available through official tax-exempt 
conservation organizations. These groups sell 

the permits at auction or use them in wildlife-
related fundraising activities. 

Sportsman permits are available through 
the sportsman permit drawing. The application 
period for this drawing runs from Oct. 18–Nov. 
8, 2023. For more information about this draw-
ing, visit wildlife.utah.gov/sportsman-permits.

A complete copy of the conservation and 
sportsman permit regulations is available at 
wildlife.utah.gov/rules or any Division office.

Possible habitat work 
in your hunt area 

Throughout the year, the Divi-
sion works with other government 
agencies—including the U.S. Forest 
Service and the Bureau of Land Manage-
ment—to complete thousands of acres 
of habitat-improvement work on Utah’s 
public lands.

Those projects range from plant 
removal to prescribed burns and from 
helicopter reseeding to large-scale plant-
ing projects. They help restore habitat for 
many different species, giving them the 
food and cover they need to thrive on the 
landscape. 

Please be aware that projects occur 
across the state, year round. This means 
that sometimes a project may occur in 
a portion of your hunt area, during the 
hunt. 

If this is something you’re concerned 
about, you may want to contact the ap-
propriate land-management agency be-
fore you apply for a particular hunt area. 
They may be able to give you a tentative 
list of projects for the coming year.

You can also see a list of past, current 
and proposed restoration projects at 
watershed.utah.gov.  
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DON’T JEOPARDIZE FUTURE HUNTS
How you act in the field could affect bear hunting in the years to come.

We are very lucky to live and hunt in a state 
with such abundant wildlife. That’s led to more 
of us spending time in our favorite wild places 
each year. As you’re out hunting and pursuing 
bears this year, please be mindful of those 
around you and think about how your actions 
can build—or sabotage—support for what 
you love to do. 

Bear hunting is a subject that sparks a 
wide range of public opinions, ranging from 
hearty support to passionate opposition, 
and how you behave during the hunt can 
determine how your fellow Utahns feel about 
the matter. 

Seasonal pack size 
restrictions

The maximum number of dogs that can be 
used to pursue a bear is 16 for the spring and 
fall seasons. During the summer season, there’s 
an eight-dog maximum. 

Be mindful of the number of dogs you 
are using and consider how they may be 
impacting other users and land-management 
agencies.

It is important that you have control of 
your dogs so they don’t cause conflicts with 
private landowners, other hunters, campers 
and hikers. 

Try to help the people you encounter feel 
the passion you have for training and taking 
care of your animals.

Fair chase and ethics
If you are hunting a bear, once it is treed, 

either humanly harvest the animal or let it 
escape and retrieve your dogs. 

It is illegal and violates the principles of 
fair chase to pursue a bear to the point it can 
no longer escape the dogs due to exhaustion.

Avoid harvesting 
collared wildlife

The Division has placed GPS collars 
on many wildlife species—including 
black bears—across the state. The 
Division is monitoring these animals in a 
handful of ongoing studies. 

If possible, please avoid harvesting 
a collared bear. It is an expensive and 
time-consuming process to capture and 
collar replacement animals.

If you do harvest a collared animal, 
please remove the collar without cutting 
it and return it to a Division employee 
when you check in your animal.
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If you are using bait to hunt bears, think 
about how your bait placement could impact 
other users. Make sure you are leaving your 
bait site in better shape than you found it.

We all have an equal right to use our wild 
places and, if we can make an effort to get 
along in the backcountry, the activities you 

love will enjoy greater support from your fel-
low Utahns. If general support for bear hunting 
increases, it could reduce the likelihood of 
tighter, more restrictive regulations. 

Remember: If you have a spot-and-
stalk permit, you may not use bait or 
dogs to take a bear. 

Points options for 
active, deployed 
military personnel 

If you are an active, deployed member 
of the military, you can now purchase a bo-
nus or preference point, even if you missed 
an application period while deployed. The 
Division will waive the required combina-
tion or hunting license fee when you make 
that point purchase. To qualify for these 
exemptions, a military member must:

•	Be a resident of Utah.
•	Be deployed for 90 days or longer 

outside of Utah on federal orders from 
military command.

•	Not have previously received a bonus 
or preference point for the species and 
hunt type in the same year.

•	Otherwise be eligible to receive a 
bonus or preference point.

•	Pay a $10 application fee per point 
received. 

•	Submit an application for the exemp-
tion to DWR no later than Dec. 31 of 
the qualifying year of being deployed. 

For additional information about these 
options and the application form, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/military.
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Hunting hours
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-5

During the spring, summer and fall hunt-
ing seasons, you may hunt or harvest a bear 
from 30 minutes before official sunrise until 30 
minutes after official sunset. Those are also the 
hours you may pursue a bear during the spring 
and fall pursuit seasons. 

During the summer pursuit season, you 
can pursue bears from 5 a.m. until 30 minutes 
after official sunset. For season dates, see the 
hunt tables that begin on page 36.

Hunting methods
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rules R657-33-2, R657-
33-12 and R657-33-13 

Before heading into the field, check both 
your permit and the guidebook to verify which 
hunting methods are allowed for your hunt. 
Here’s a brief summary of the three main hunt-
ing methods used in Utah bear hunting: 

Spot-and-stalk method
The spot-and-stalk hunting method 

involves finding a bear without the use 
of bait or dogs. After you locate a bear, you 
track it and try to move in closer for a good shot. 

You can choose to use the spot-and-stalk 
method during any hunting season, and there 
are some limited-entry hunts that only allow 
the spot-and-stalk method. Those hunts are 
listed in the hunt table on page 40. 

Using dogs 
Some of Utah’s bear hunts allow the use 

of dogs to locate, track and tree a bear. There 
are detailed rules about when, where and how 
you may use dogs. Those rules are available on 
page 26.

To learn which hunts allow the use of dogs, 
see the hunt tables that begin on page 36. 

Using bait
Some of Utah’s bear hunts allow the use of 

bait to lure bears to a specific area. You must 
obtain a bait station certificate of registra-
tion by applying at a Division office or online 
at wildlife.utah.gov/bear. There are detailed 
rules about what types of bait are allowed and 
when, where and how you may use bait. Those 
rules are available on page 27.

Reminder: No early baiting is allowed. 
New this year: The only season that al-

lows bait is the summer limited-entry season. 
(The fall bait season was eliminated.) To learn 
which hunts allow the use of bait, see the hunt 
tables that begin on page 36. 

Checkpoints and 
officer contacts
Utah Code § 23-20-25

To help the Division fulfill its responsibility 
as trustee and custodian of Utah’s wildlife, 
Division conservation officers and biologists 
monitor the taking and possession of black 
bears and the required permits, firearms 
and equipment used for hunting. You should 
expect to encounter conservation officers and 
biologists checking hunters in the field and at 
checkpoints.

If you’re contacted by a conservation 
officer, you must provide the officer with the 
items they request, including any licenses and 
permits required for hunting, any devices used 
to participate in hunting and any game you’ve 
taken. These contacts allow the Division to 
collect valuable information about Utah’s black 
bear populations.

FIELD REGULATIONS
Several rules govern black bear hunting in Utah. These rules exist to help keep you safe and 
to ensure an ethical hunt. Please be familiar with the requirements for carrying and using 
firearms, crossbows, airguns and archery tackle. You should also know the different types of 
hunting methods you may use and what you’re required to do with any bear you take. 

http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
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•	Your rifle must fire centerfire cartridges 
and expanding bullets.

•	Your shotgun must be 20 gauge or larger, 
and you may use only slug ammunition 
or buckshot that’s 00 or larger in size.

If you use an airgun to hunt a bear, that 
airgun must:

•	Be pneumatically powered.
•	Be pressurized solely through a separate 

charging device.
•	Only fire a bolt or arrow.

Your arrows or bolts must be at least 16 
inches long and travel at least 400 feet per 
second at the muzzle. They must also have ei-
ther a fixed broadhead that is at least 7/8-inch 
wide at the widest point or an expandable, 
mechanical broadhead that is at least 7/8-inch 
wide at the widest point when the broadhead 
is in the open position.

A crossbow used to hunt a bear must have 
a minimum draw weight of 125 pounds and a 
positive mechanical safety mechanism.

A crossbow arrow or bolt used to hunt a 
bear must be at least 16 inches long and have 
at least one of the following:

•	Fixed broadheads that are at least 7/8-
inch wide at the widest point.

•	Expandable, mechanical broadheads that 
are at least 7/8-inch wide at the widest point 
when the broadhead is in the open position.

It is unlawful for any person to:
•	Carry a cocked crossbow containing an 

arrow or a bolt while in or on any motor-
ized vehicle on a public highway or other 
public right-of-way, except as provided 
in R657-12-4.

•	Hunt any protected wildlife with a 
crossbow bolt that has any chemical, 
explosive or electronic device attached.

A crossbow used to hunt a bear may have a 
fixed or variable magnifying scope.

Aiding or assisting in 
violations
Utah Code § 23-20-23

You may not aid or assist another person to 
violate any provisions of the Wildlife Resources 
Code, rule or guidebook.

The penalty for aiding or assisting is the 
same as that imposed for the primary violation.

Firearms and archery 
equipment

The firearms and archery equipment you 
can use during a bear hunt are now consistent 
with the equipment allowed during a Utah big 
game hunt. 

Prohibited weapons
Utah Code §§ 23-20-3 and 23-13-18 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-5-7

You may only use firearms and archery 
tackle that are expressly permitted in this 
guidebook.

While hunting a bear, you may not use:
•	A firearm that’s capable of being fired 

fully automatic.
•	Any light-enhancement device or aiming 

device that casts a visible beam of light.
•	A firearm equipped with a computerized 

targeting system that marks a target, cal-
culates a firing solution and automatically 
discharges the firearm at a point calculated 
most likely to hit the acquired target.

•	A computer or other device to remotely 
control the aiming and discharge of a 
firearm or other weapon for hunting an 
animal. 

These restrictions do not apply to laser 
range-finding devices or illuminated sight pins 
for archery equipment.

Rifles, airguns, shotguns 
and crossbows
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-8

You may use a rifle or shotgun to hunt a 
bear, but your firearm and ammunition must 
meet the following requirements:
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contain some nitrocellulose.
•	To hunt a bear, you must use a lead or 

expanding bullet or projectile that’s at 
least 40 caliber in size. 

•	Your bullet must be 130 grains or 
heavier, or your sabot must be 170 grains 
or heavier. 

If you choose to use a muzzleloader during 
your hunt, you may use only the muzzleloader 
equipment authorized in this section to take 
a bear. 

Archery equipment
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-11

Archery equipment may be used during 
any bear hunt.

To hunt a bear with archery equipment, 
your equipment must meet all of the following 
requirements:

•	Your bow must have a minimum pull 
of 30 pounds at the draw or the peak, 
whichever comes first.

•	Your arrowheads must have two or more 
sharp-cutting edges that cannot pass 
through a 7/8 inch ring. If you’re using 
expanding arrowheads, the arrowheads 
must have two or more sharp-cutting 
edges that cannot pass through a 7/8 
inch ring when expanded.

•	Your arrows must be at least 20 inches 
long, from the tip of the arrowhead to 
the tip of the nock.

Please remember that your bow may be 
equipped with a range-finding device. Also, if 
you carry arrows in or on a vehicle, the arrows 
must be in an arrow quiver or a closed case.

If you choose to use archery equipment 
during your hunt, you may use only the archery 
equipment authorized in this section to take 
a bear. 

Traps and trapping 
devices
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-7

You may not take a bear with a trap, snare 
or any other trapping device, except as autho-

Handguns
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-9

You may use a handgun to take a bear, but 
the handgun must be a minimum of .24 caliber 
and must fire a centerfire cartridge with an 
expanding bullet.

If you’re hunting bear, the handgun must 
develop at least 500 foot-pounds of energy at 
the muzzle.

Muzzleloaders
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-10

Muzzleloaders may be used during any 
bear hunt. To hunt a bear with a muzzleloader, 
your muzzleloader must meet all of the follow-
ing requirements:

•	It can be loaded only from the muzzle.
•	It may have open sights, peep sights or a 

variable- or fixed-power scope, including 
a magnifying scope.

•	It can have only one barrel, and the bar-
rel must be at least 18 inches long.

•	It cannot be capable of firing more than 
once without being reloaded.

•	The powder and bullet—or powder, 
sabot and bullet—cannot be bonded 
together as one unit for loading.

•	It must be loaded with black powder 
or a black powder substitute. The black 
powder or black powder substitute can-
not contain smokeless powder, but may 

Plan on sharing the 
backcountry 

As much as you’d like to have Utah’s 
wild places to yourself, you share them 
with campers, hikers, photographers and 
other hunters. Some of those hunters are 
after black bear—just like you—while 
others are pursuing deer, elk, forest 
grouse and other species. 

Everyone shares the landscape, so 
please be patient and considerate when 
encountering others on public land.  
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about discharging a dangerous weapon or 
firearm in a state park, see the next section or 
review Utah Code § 76-10-508.

Areas where you cannot 
discharge a firearm
Utah Code § 76-10-508 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-12

You may not discharge a dangerous 
weapon or firearm under any of the following 
circumstances: 

•	From a vehicle 
•	From, upon or across any highway 
•	At power lines or signs
•	At railroad equipment or facilities, 

including any sign or signal 
•	Within Utah State Park buildings, des-

ignated camp or picnic sites, overlooks, 
golf courses, boat ramps or developed 
beaches 

•	Without written permission from the 
owner or property manager, within 600 
feet of:

•	A house, dwelling or any other 
building 

•	Any structure in which a domestic 
animal is kept or fed, including a 
barn, poultry yard, corral, feeding 
pen or stockyard

Carrying a dangerous 
weapon while under the 
influence of alcohol or 
drugs
Utah Code § 76-10-528 

You may not carry a dangerous weapon or 
hunt bear while under the influence of alcohol 
or drugs. 

rized by the Division. Any bear accidentally 
caught in any trapping device must be released 
unharmed, and must not be pursued or taken.

You must obtain written authorization 
from a Division representative before you 
remove the carcass of a bear from any trapping 
device. The carcass remains the property of the 
state of Utah and must be surrendered to the 
Division.

Loaded firearms in a 
vehicle
Utah Code §§§§ 76-10-502, 76-10-504, 76-10-505 and 
76-10-523

You may not carry a loaded firearm in or on 
a vehicle unless you meet all of the following 
conditions:

•	You own the vehicle or have permission 
from the vehicle’s owner.

•	The firearm is a handgun.
•	You are 18 years of age or older.

A pistol, revolver, rifle or shotgun is 
considered to be loaded when there is an 
unexpended cartridge, shell or projectile in the 
firing position.

Pistols and revolvers are also considered 
to be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, 
shell or projectile is in a position whereby the 
manual operation of any mechanism once 
would cause the unexpended cartridge, shell 
or projectile to be fired.

A muzzleloading firearm is considered 
loaded when it is capped or primed and has a 
powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or 
cylinders. 

State parks
Utah Code § 76-10-508 and Utah Admin. Rule R651-614-4

Reminder: Hunting of wildlife is allowed 
within the boundaries of all state park areas, 
except those areas and hunts specifically 
closed by the Utah Division of State Parks and 
Recreation in Utah Admin. Rule R651-614. 

State laws regarding the possession and 
discharge of dangerous weapons apply in state 
park areas open to hunting. For information 
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have additional dog-use restrictions. Please 
check with them before pursuing a bear on 
their property.

Other requirements
If you are the owner or handler of the dogs, 

you must have a valid bear permit in your pos-
session while you are harvesting or pursuing 
bear. However, there are some exceptions to 
this rule for guides and outfitters licensed in 
the state of Utah. 

If you are already a Utah-licensed guide or 
outfitter, see Pursuit restrictions on page 34. 

When dogs are used to pursue a bear, the 
licensed hunter who intends to take the bear 
must be present when the dogs are released. 
Then, the licensed hunter must continuously 
participate in the hunt until it ends. 

Retrieving stray dogs
The only time a dog handler may separate 

from the pursuit-permit holder is to retrieve 
dogs that leave the pack. The dog handler 
must do all of the following:

•	Take reasonable steps to keep the pack 
together before and during pursuit.

•	Only separate from the permit holder to 
retrieve stray dogs (and not actively pur-
sue a bear during the retrieval process).

•	Immediately release any bear that is 
incidentally treed or held at bay by the 
stray dogs.

Keep in mind that any dogs that separate 
from the pack will continue to count towards 
the maximum number of dogs allowed in pur-
suit. If you are retrieving stray dogs, you must 
still possess the documentation that initially 
allowed you to use dogs to pursue a bear.

Carrying required documentation
When dogs are used to pursue a bear dur-

ing a restricted pursuit season, the dog handler 
must either:

•	Have a valid pursuit permit and be ac-
companied by an individual with a valid 
restricted pursuit permit for the unit 

Use of dogs
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-12

You may use dogs to harvest or pursue 
bear only during the authorized hunts listed in 
this guidebook. To learn which hunts allow the 
use of dogs, see the hunt tables that begin on 
page 36.

Dog handlers may not use a bait station to 
lure bears, and they may not start pursuing a 
bear from a bait station.

Maximum number of dogs
Reminder: You may not use more than 

16 dogs in a single pursuit while pursuing or 
hunting a black bear on any unit during the 
spring or fall seasons.

During the summer pursuit season or the 
summer restricted pursuit season, you may not 
use more than eight dogs in a single pursuit while 
pursuing or hunting a black bear on any unit.  

Important: The maximum number of 
dogs allowed in a single pursuit is cumulative 
across all members of a hunting party, even if 
multiple members of the hunting party pos-
sess authorization to use dogs to pursue bears. 
For example, if you have a pursuit permit and 
10 dogs, and your friend has a pursuit permit 
and 12 dogs, you cannot use all 22 dogs to 
jointly pursue a single bear during the spring 
or fall. At most, during those seasons, you may 
use 16 dogs during a single pursuit.

Reminder: You may not do any of the 
following while using dogs to pursue or hunt 
a bear:

•	Release into the field more than the 
maximum number of dogs allowed in a 
single pursuit.

•	Pursue a bear with more than the 
maximum number of dogs allowed in a 
single pursuit, regardless of whether you 
own or control the dogs.

•	Harvest a bear that was pursued using 
more than the allowable maximum 
number of dogs.

Other land-management agencies may 



U
tah Black Bear G

uidebook • 2023
w
ildlife.utah.gov

27

If a bait station lures a bear, you may not 
use dogs to take the bear. With a limited-entry 
bear permit for a season and hunt unit that 
allow baiting, you may use any legal weapon, 
as specified on your permit.

Bait may not be contained in—nor can it 
include—any metal, glass, porcelain, plastic, 
cardboard or paper. The bait station must be 
marked with a sign provided by the Division 
and posted within 10 feet of the bait.

A dog handler may not intentionally run 
dogs off of a bait station while pursuing bear.

All materials used as bait must be removed 
within 72 hours after the season ends (includ-
ing any midseason breaks) or within 72 hours 
after the hunter harvests a bear.

You may use nongame fish as bait, except 
fish listed as prohibited in Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-13. You may not use any other species of 
protected wildlife as bait.

You may use domestic livestock or its 
parts—including processed meat scraps—as 
bait, as long as you have a certificate of brand 
inspection, bill of sale or other proof of owner-
ship or legal possession.

New this year: The use of chocolate or 
cocoa powder products as bait is prohibited. 

You may not place bait in either of the 
following areas:

•	Within 100 yards of water, a public road 
or a designated trail.

•	Within a half-mile of any permanent 
dwelling or campground.

Reminder: Early baiting is prohibited. 

Registering to use bait
Utah Code § 23-20-3 

You’ll need to follow a couple of important 
steps, depending on where you want to use bait.

Baiting on U.S. Forest Service lands
If you are interested in using bait on lands 

administered by the U.S. Forest Service (USFS), 
you do not need permission from the USFS 
before applying for a certificate of registration 
from the Division.

where pursuit is occurring
  –OR–
•	Have a valid restricted pursuit permit for 

the unit where pursuit is occurring.
When dogs are used to harvest a bear—

and there is not an open pursuit season—the 
dog handler must either:

•	Have either a valid pursuit permit and be 
accompanied by a hunter with a valid bear 
hunting permit (either limited entry or har-
vest objective) that allows the use of dogs

  –OR–
•	Have a valid bear hunting permit (either 

limited entry or harvest objective) that 
allows the use of dogs.

Bear baiting
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-13

You can only bait a bear if you have 
obtained a limited-entry permit for a hunt that 
allows the use of bait. You must also have a 
certificate of registration for baiting. For more 
information about how to register for and 
obtain this permit, visit wildlife.utah.gov/bear. 

Reminder: You may not use bait if you 
have a bear harvest-objective permit.

Any person who tends a bait station must 
also be listed on the certificate of registration.

If you are listed on a bait-station certifi-
cate, please review the following sections for 
essential information about using bait and 
moving a bait station.

New this year: Hunters with valid bait 
permits may hunt over another hunter’s bait 
site, with written permission from the COR 
holder. The proof of written permission must 
must be in the hunter’s possession while hunt-
ing over the bait station. 

Using bait
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-14

You may establish or use no more than two 
bait stations at one time during the season 
listed on your permit (must be a season that 
allows baiting). 

http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
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Baiting on private lands
If you are interested in baiting on private 

lands, you must obtain written permission from 
the appropriate landowner. Then, you may 
apply for a certificate of registration from the 
Division.

Obtaining a certificate of registration
The Division issues certificates of registra-

tion only to hunters who have bear limited-
entry permits for hunts that allow the use of 
bait.

You can obtain the certificate of registra-
tion by visiting the Division office in the region 
where you plan to set up your bait station or 
online at wildlife.utah.gov/bear. Certificates 
of registration will be available starting April 
3, 2023.

To obtain a certificate of registration 
for baiting, you must provide the following 
information to the Division: 

•	The type of bait you will use.
•	The exact location of the bait station (GPS 

coordinates preferred).
•	Written permission from the appropriate 

landowner if you want to bait and hunt 
on private land.

If you apply for a certificate of registration, 
there is a $10 nonrefundable application fee.

New this year: Bait sites must comply 
with all rules and regulations stated in this 
guidebook and in code; however, the Division 
will not review specific locations and approve 
them before a certificate of registration is issued. 

Moving a bait station
If you want to move a bait station, you 

must first remove all materials used as bait 
from the original station. Then, you must apply 
for a new certificate of registration. The Divi-
sion will not issue a certificate of registration 
for your new station until you clean up your old 
station.

Baiting on BLM lands
If you are interested in baiting on lands 

administered by the Bureau of Land Manage-
ment (BLM), you must verify that an area is 
open to baiting before you apply for a bear 
limited-entry permit for a season that allows 
the use of bait. 

Here’s what you need to do to check with 
the BLM:

1. Learn whether certain lands are open by 
contacting the district offices. 

2. Have the district supervisor verify your 
proposed baiting locations and any applicable 
travel restrictions. 

3. After you receive verification from the 
district supervisor, you may apply for a certifi-
cate of registration from the Division.

If you bait a bear illegally on federal lands, 
you can be prosecuted under federal law. 
Areas generally closed to baiting stations can 
include:

•	Designated wilderness areas
•	Heavily used drainages or recreation 

areas
•	Critical watersheds

Ways to report 
poachers
Utah Admin. Rule R657-51

If you witness an in-progress wildlife 
violation—or you’re aware of a previ-
ously committed wildlife crime—you 
have several ways to contact our con-
servation officers. These options make it 
easy to report wildlife crimes, and you 
can do so anonymously, if needed. 

See page 21 or visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/utip to learn more 
about your four contact options.

We encourage you to report any 
poaching activities immediately and 
truly appreciate your help in protecting 
Utah’s wildlife.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
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public land from July 31 to Dec. 31. There are 
some exceptions for research and monitoring 
by land management agencies (and other 
approved applications). 

The sale or purchase of footage or data 
from any trail camera (or non-handheld 
device) that could be used to take, attempt to 
take, or aid in the take or attempted take of 
big game, cougars or bears is prohibited. That 
includes images or video, location information, 
time and date of the footage, and any other 
data that could aid in the harvest or attempted 
take of big game, cougars or bears.

The new law allows for the use of trail 
cameras that utilize internal data storage to be 
used on private property for the purposes of 
taking protected wildlife. 

For details, see the information box on 
page 31, definitions on pages 45-47, and 
visit wildlife.utah.gov/trailcams for answers to 
frequently asked questions.

Spotlighting
Utah Code §§§ 23-20-3, 76-10-504, 76-10-523 and Utah 
Admin. Rule R657-33-10

You may not use spotlighting to take a 
black bear.

You may not use a spotlight, headlight or 
other artificial light to locate any protected 

Prohibited hunting 
methods
Utah Code §§ 23-20-3, 23-20-12 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-33-9

A black bear may be taken or pursued only 
during open seasons and open hours, using 
only the methods listed in this guidebook. 
Otherwise it is unlawful for any person to:

•	Pursue, possess, capture, kill, injure, 
drug, rope, trap, snare or in any way 
harm or transport a bear.

•	Restrict or hinder a bear’s ability to escape 
after it has been pursued, chased, treed, 
cornered, legally baited or held at bay.

Reminder: You must make reasonable 
efforts to call dogs off of a bear that has been 
cornered or held at bay.

You may not:
•	Pursue a single bear in repeated pursuits 

to the point where it renders the bear 
physically unable to escape.

•	Engage in a canned hunt.
•	Take a bear from an airplane or any other 

airborne vehicle or device (including a 
drone), or from any motorized terrestrial, 
aquatic or recreational vehicle.

Night-vision devices (new)
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-7

You may not use any night-vision device to 
locate or attempt to locate a big game animal, 
cougar or bear from 48 hours before any big 
game, cougar or bear hunt in the area through 
48 hours after any hunt ends in the area. 

Trail cameras and their 
data (new)
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-7 & Utah Code 23-13-18

At the direction of the Utah Legislature, 
changes to the state’s trail camera laws went 
into effect May 3, 2023. 

Trail cameras—other non-handheld 
devices capable of capturing image, video, 
location, time, or date data in the field to 
take, attempt to take, or aid in the take or at-
tempted take of big game—are prohibited on 

Permits for commercial 
activities

Federal land management agencies 
may require special use permits for 
people engaging in commercial activities 
on federal lands. For example, if you col-
lect payment for guiding, training dogs, 
or exchanging dogs (buying or selling) 
on federal land, you may be required 
to obtain a special permit in advance 
from the overseeing agency, such as the 
U.S. Forest Service or Bureau of Land 
Management. Check with the managing 
agency for more information.
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To tag a carcass with a temporary pos-
session tag, you should perform the following 
steps:

•	Completely detach the tag from the permit.
•	Completely remove the notches that 

correspond with the date the animal was 
taken and the sex of the animal.

•	Attach the tag to the carcass so that the 
tag remains securely fastened and visible.

Note: You may not remove more than one 
notch indicating date or sex, nor tag more than 
one carcass using the same tag.

You may not hunt or pursue a bear after 
any of the notches have been removed from 
the tag or after the tag has been detached 
from the permit.

You may not possess a bear pelt or unskinned 
carcass without a valid permanent possession 
tag affixed to the pelt or unskinned carcass. This 
provision does not apply to a person in posses-
sion of a properly tagged carcass or pelt within 
48 hours after the kill, provided the person was 
issued and is in possession of a valid permit.

Harvest reporting
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-17

If you harvest a bear, you must contact the 
Division within 48 hours. 

You will need to report exactly where the 
bear was taken (GPS coordinates preferred) 
and meet with a Division employee to have 
a permanent tag affixed to the carcass. We 
strongly encourage you to make an ap-
pointment to check in your bear. Otherwise, 
you run the risk of not having someone avail-
able to help you.

Evidence of the bear’s sex must remain 
attached to the bear’s carcass or pelt until a 
Division employee attaches a permanent tag.

To report your harvest after business hours 
(8 a.m.–5 p.m., Monday through Friday) or 
over the weekend, please call your local police 
department (on a non-emergency line). They 
will contact a conservation officer who can 
assist you.

wildlife while having in your possession a 
firearm or other weapon or device that could 
be used to take or injure protected wildlife. 

The use of a spotlight or other artificial 
light in any area where protected wildlife are 
generally found is probable cause of attempt-
ing to locate protected wildlife. 

The provisions of this section do not apply 
to the use of the headlights of a motor vehicle 
or other artificial light in a usual manner 
where there is no attempt or intent to locate 
protected wildlife. 

In addition, the above restrictions 
do not apply to concealed carry permit 
holders carrying a concealed weapon. See 
wildlife.utah.gov/rules for more information.

Party hunting
Utah Admin. Rules R657-33-11 and R657-67

A person may not harvest a bear for 
another person.

The only exception to this rule is if a 
mentor shares a permit and tag with a minor 
as part of the Hunter Mentoring program. For 
details on this program, please see the box on 
page 18.

Possession and 
transportation

After you harvest a bear, there are several 
rules governing its possession and transportation. 

Tagging requirements
Utah Code §§ 23-20-3 and 23-20-30 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-33-15

Before you move the bear’s carcass or leave 
the site of the kill, you must tag the carcass 
with a temporary possession tag. The tag is 
only valid for 48 hours after the date of kill and 
must remain attached to the pelt or unskinned 
carcass until the permanent possession tag is 
attached. 

http://wildlife.utah.gov/rules
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Changes to trail camera 
and night-vision device 
rules for 2023

Utah code § 23A-5-307 and Utah Admin. Rules R657-
5-7, R657-33-9 & R657-10-9  

The Utah Legislature made several 
wildlife-related amendments in March 2023, 
including laws regarding the use of trail 
cameras that went into effect May 3, 2023. 

What is a trail camera? 
•	“Trail camera” means a device that is 

not held or manually operated by a 
person, and is capable of capturing 
images, video or location data of 
wildlife using heat or motion to trig-
ger the device. 

What are the trail camera regula-
tions in Utah? 

•	All trail cameras are prohibited on 
public land from July 31 to Dec. 31 
(with some exceptions, listed below). 

•	A trail camera using internal data 
storage and not capable of transmit-
ting live data is permitted for use on 
private land for the purposes of taking 
protected wildlife. 

•	Utah Wildlife Board 2022 approved 
rule still applies: The sale or purchase 
of trail camera or other non-handheld 
device media, or the storage and sale 
or purchase of stored media—includ-
ing images, video, location, time or 
date data—to take, or aid in the take 
or attempted take of big game, cougar 
or bear is unlawful.

The seasonal restrictions on trail 
camera use do not apply to:

•	Monitoring and research conducted 
by the DWR. 

•	A land management agency in the 
course of its regular duties.

•	Approved organizations or individuals 
conducting research or monitoring 
in collaboration with the DWR. These 

include non-governmental organiza-
tions, educational institutions, indi-
viduals or groups monitoring active 
agricultural operations (including the 
take of a bear or cougar that is causing 
livestock depredation), or municipali-
ties participating in the Urban Deer 
Program.

•	Private landowners may use any trail 
camera or other non-handheld device 
to monitor their property for trespass 
and active agricultural operations.

What should I do if I see a trail camera 
in use during the seasonal closure?

Leave it alone and contact our conserva-
tion officers with the camera coordinates. 
Do not attempt to remove or damage the 
camera—it’s someone else’s property and 
may be in use legally.

What are the rules for night-vision 
devices?

•	The rule prohibits the use of any 
night-vision device to locate—or 
attempt to observe or locate—big 
game, cougars or bears between July 
31 and Jan. 31. 

•	A night-vision device is defined as 
anything that enhances visible and 
non-visible light and includes the use 
of night-vision devices, thermal-
imaging devices, infrared-imaged 
devices and other electronic devices 
that enhance the visible and non-
visible light spectrum. 

•	A trail camera is not a night-vision 
device.

For more information 
Visit wildlife.utah.gov/trailcams for more 

details about these rules.
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Exporting a bear from 
Utah
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-19

You may export a legally taken bear or 
its parts if you have a valid bear permit, and 
the bear is properly tagged with a permanent 
possession tag.

You may not ship a bear pelt from Utah—
or cause one to be shipped—without first 
obtaining a shipping permit issued by an 
authorized Division representative.

Disposal of wildlife
Donating
Utah Code § 23-20-9 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-20

A person may donate protected wildlife or 
its parts to another person only at one of the 
following locations:

•	The residence of the donor
•	The residence of the recipient
•	A meat locker
•	A storage plant
•	A meat-processing facility 

A written statement of donation must be 
kept with the protected wildlife or parts show-
ing all of the following information:

•	The number and species of protected 
wildlife or parts donated

•	The date of donation
•	The license or permit number of the 

donor and the permanent possession tag 
number

•	The signature of the donor
A green pelt of any bear donated to 

another person must have a permanent 
possession tag affixed. Along with the pelt, 
the recipient must also retain the written 
statement of donation.

Purchasing or selling
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-21

You may purchase or sell legally obtained, 
tanned bear hides. 

You may not purchase, sell, offer for sale or 
barter a green pelt, gall bladder, tooth, claw, 
paw or skull of any bear.

Evidence of sex and age
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-16

Evidence of the bear’s sex must remain 
attached to the bear’s carcass or pelt until a 
Division employee attaches a permanent tag.

The permit holder must bring the pelt and 
skull to a conservation officer or Division office 
in an unfrozen condition. This allows Division 
biologists to gather management data. 

The Division may seize any pelt not ac-
companied by its skull.

Permanent tag
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-17

Any bear harvested by the permit holder 
must be checked by a Division employee 
within 48 hours after the date of kill. That 
employee will affix a permanent possession 
tag to the pelt or unskinned carcass. 

During the check-in process, you must also 
provide the location of the harvest and one of 
the bear’s teeth to the Division employee. 

If you need to reach a Division employee 
after regular business hours, over the week-
end, or on a holiday, contact your local police 
dispatch office.

You may not possess an unskinned carcass 
or a green pelt after the 48-hour check-in pe-
riod without a permanent tag. In addition, you 
cannot ship a green pelt out of Utah or present 
it to a taxidermist if the pelt does not have a 
permanent possession tag attached.

Transporting a bear
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-18

If you are a permit holder who has legally 
harvested a bear, you may transport the car-
cass under the following conditions:

•	The bear is properly tagged.
•	You have physical possession of the ap-

propriate permit.
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Wasting wildlife
Utah Code § 23-20-8 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-22

You may not waste—or permit to be 
wasted—any protected wildlife or its parts.

Note: The skinned carcass of a bear may be 
left in the field and does not constitute a waste 
of wildlife. However, the Division recommends 
that hunters remove the carcass from the field.

Livestock and 
commercial crop 
depredation
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-23

There are bear-removal options for livestock 
owners and commercial crop growers who have 
chronic problems with depredating bears. To learn 
more about these options, see Utah Admin Rule 
R657-33-23 or call the nearest Division office. 

Hunters who are interested in taking depre-
dating bears may contact the Division, and the 
agency will call them as needed.

Extended and preseason 
hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-25

The Division may authorize an extended 
or preseason hunt on selected limited-entry 
hunting units to control depredation or nuisance 
problems.

The Division director could choose to autho-
rize any preseason or extended season hunts 
for problem areas, and those hunts would be 
carried out by hunters who drew limited-entry 
permits for those areas.

Trespassing
Utah Code §§§ 23-20-14, 23-21-14 and 23-20-3.5

While taking wildlife or engaging in 
wildlife-related activities, you may not—with-
out permission—enter or remain on privately 
owned land that is: 

•	Cultivated
•	Properly posted
•	Fenced or enclosed in a manner designed 

to exclude intruders

In addition, you may not:
•	Enter or remain on private land when 

directed not to do so by the owner or a 
person acting for the owner.

•	Obstruct any entrance or exit to private 
property.

“Cultivated land” is land that is readily 
identifiable as land whose soil is loosened or 
broken up for the raising of crops, land used 
for the raising of crops, or a pasture that is 
artificially irrigated. 

“Permission” means written authorization 
from the owner or person in charge to enter 
upon private land that is cultivated or properly 
posted. Permission must include all of the 
following details: 

•	The signature of the owner or person in 
charge 

•	The name of the person being given 
permission 

•	The appropriate dates 
•	A general description of the land 

“Properly posted” means that signs prohib-
iting trespass—or bright yellow, bright orange 
or fluorescent paint—are clearly displayed at 
all corners, on fishing streams crossing property 
lines, and on roads, gates and rights-of-way 
entering the land. Or, they are displayed in a 
manner that is visible to a person in the area. 

You may not post private property you 
do not own or legally control or land that is 
open to the public as provided by Utah Code 
§ 23-21-4. In addition, it is unlawful to take 
protected wildlife or its parts while trespassing 
in violation of Utah Code § 23-20-14. 

You are guilty of a class B misdemeanor 
if you violate any provision described in this 
section. Your license, tag or permit privileges 
may also be suspended.



34

U
ta

h 
Bl

ac
k 

Be
ar

 G
ui

de
bo

ok
 • 

20
23

w
ild

lif
e.
ut
ah

.g
ov

Harvest and pursuit 
restrictions
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rules R657-33-25 and 
R657-33-26 

Depending on the type of permit you 
obtain, various restrictions apply.

Harvest restrictions 
If you obtain a valid permit to harvest a 

bear, you may take only one bear. It may not be 
a cub or a female accompanied by cubs.

You may only hunt in the season and area 
specified on your permit. Likewise, you may 
use only the weapon listed on your permit.

Reminder: There are limits on the num-
ber of dogs you may use during a bear hunt. 
See page 20 for details.

If you are the owner or handler of dogs 
being used to harvest a bear—and there is not 
an open pursuit season—you must:

•	Have either a valid pursuit permit and be 
accompanied by a licensed hunter

  –OR–
•	Have a valid bear hunting permit (either 

limited entry or harvest objective) that 
allows the use of dogs.

Pursuit restrictions
A pursuit permit of any kind does not 

allow you to kill a bear. 
During the summer pursuit season and 

restricted summer pursuit season, you may 
not use more than eight dogs at one time to 
pursue a black bear on any unit. 

Reminder: You may only use a maximum 
of 16 dogs during the spring and fall pursuit 
and hunting seasons. 

Pursuit restrictions differ, depending on 
type of permit you have.

General restrictions
Even with a pursuit permit (or a restricted 

pursuit permit), you may not perform any of 
the following actions:

•	Pursue a cub or a female bear with cubs.

•	Repeatedly pursue, chase, tree, corner 
or hold at bay the same bear during the 
same day.

•	Possess a firearm or any device that could 
be used to kill a bear while pursuing 
bear, unless you are licensed to carry a 
concealed weapon. 

Pursuit permits
If you have a valid pursuit permit, you may 

pursue bears in any unit that is not designated 
as restricted during all three pursuit seasons. 

Reminder: Nonresidents with pursuit 
permits may not use them on any restricted 
pursuit units unless they are accompanying 
someone who possesses a valid restricted 
pursuit permit or hunting permit for that 
unit and season. Residents may use a pursuit 
permit on restricted pursuit units during the 
spring pursuit season.

You may purchase a pursuit permit at any 
time from Division offices, license agents and 
at wildlife.utah.gov.

An eligible hunter may obtain a bear 
pursuit permit and either a limited-entry or 
harvest-objective permit.

Restricted pursuit permits
If you have a valid restricted pursuit 

permit, you may pursue bears in the following 
areas and seasons:

•	The restricted pursuit unit and season 
listed on your permit

•	Any unit that is not designated as re-
stricted during all three pursuit seasons

Reminder: There are spring restricted 
pursuit seasons for nonresidents on the 
Book Cliffs, La Sal and San Juan units. The 
spring pursuit seasons on those units are not 
restricted for resident pursuers.

In addition, if you do not have a restricted 
pursuit permit, you may not pursue bears in 
any of the restricted pursuit units during the 
summer pursuit seasons. 

http://wildlife.utah.gov
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Individuals who combine packs of dogs to 
pursue a bear during either summer season on 
a restricted pursuit unit must comply with the 
eight-dog limit. They must also have at least 
one restricted pursuit permit in their possession.

On a restricted pursuit unit, the dog han-
dler must remain close enough to the permit 
holder to maintain visual contact and verbal 
communication without the assistance of any 
electronic device. The only time a dog handler 
may separate from the pursuit-permit holder 
is to retrieve dogs that leave the pack. The dog 
owner must do all of the following:

•	Take reasonable steps to keep the pack 
together before and during pursuit.

•	Only separate from the permit holder to 
retrieve stray dogs (and not actively pur-
sue a bear during the retrieval process).

•	Immediately release any bear that is 
incidentally treed or held at bay by the 
stray dogs.

See the table on page 42 for detailed 
information about restricted pursuit units and 
season dates.

You may apply for a restricted pursuit 
permit in the state’s black bear drawing, begin-
ning Feb. 7, 2023. See page 11 for more 
information on how to apply for a permit.

An eligible hunter may obtain a bear 
restricted pursuit permit and either a bear 
limited-entry permit or a bear harvest-
objective permit.  

Guides and outfitters
If you are a Utah-licensed guide or outfit-

ter—and you charge a customer more than 
$100 for a bear hunting or pursuit trip—you 
do not have to purchase a separate bear pur-
suit permit to guide that customer in the field.

Don’t lose your hunting and fishing privileges
If you commit a wildlife violation, you could lose the privilege of hunting and fishing in Utah. 
The Utah Division of Wildlife Resources can suspend the license of 
anyone who knowingly, intentionally or recklessly violates wildlife 
laws. Your license can be suspended for a wildlife violation if:

•  You are convicted. 
•  You plead guilty or no contest.
•  You enter a plea in abeyance or  

diversion agreement. 

Suspension proceedings are separate and indepen-
dent from criminal prosecution.  The Utah Division of 
Wildlife Resources may suspend your license privileges 
whether or not the court considers suspension in your 
criminal case.  You will be notified of any action against 
your privilege after criminal proceedings conclude. And 
remember, if your license is suspended in Utah, you 
may not be permitted to hunt or fish in most other 
states. (Visit wildlife.utah.gov/know-the-consequences.html to see a map of participating states.)



36

U
ta

h 
Bl

ac
k 

Be
ar

 G
ui

de
bo

ok
 • 

20
23

w
ild

lif
e.
ut
ah

.g
ov

HUNT TABLES

Spring limited-entry hunts
Permit fee: Resident $83, Nonresident $354.
Use the hunt number to apply. Bonus point code: BER

Any legal weapon, no bait allowed
Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
Beaver BR7000 9 1 April 1–May 29

Book Cliffs, Bitter Creek/South BR7001 39 4 April 1–May 29

Book Cliffs, Little Creek Roadless BR7224 9 1 April 1–May 29

Cache/Ogden BR7017 2 0 April 1–May 29

Central Mtns, Manti-North BR7003 17 1 April 1–May 29

Central Mtns, Manti-South/San Rafael, 
North

BR7004 8 0 April 1–May 29

Central Mtns, Nebo BR7005 8 0 April 1–May 29

Chalk Creek/East Canyon/Morgan-South 
Rich

BR7019 5 0 April 1–May 29

Fillmore, Pahvant BR7007 1 0 April 1–May 29

Kamas/North Slope, Summit BR7018 5 0 April 1–May 29

La Sal BR7008 40 3 April 1–May 29

Monroe BR7020 1 0 April 1–May 29

Mt Dutton BR7009 3 0 April 1–May 29

Panguitch Lake/Zion BR7010 9 0 April 1–May 29

Paunsaugunt BR7011 4 0 April 1–May 29

Plateau, Boulder/Kaiparowits BR7012 27 2 April 1–May 29

Plateau, Fishlake/Thousand Lakes BR7013 7 0 April 1–May 29

San Juan BR7014 40 3 April 1–May 29

South Slope, Bonanza/Diamond Mtn/
Vernal

BR7015 11 1 April 1–May 29

Wasatch Mtns, West-Central BR7016 40 4 April 1–May 29

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.
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HUNT TABLES

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

Summer limited-entry hunts
Permit fee: Resident $83, Nonresident $354.
Use the hunt number to apply. Bonus point code: BER
Note: The first day of the summer season overlaps the last day of the spring limited-entry season, 
which allows the use of dogs. Reminder: Early baiting is now prohibited.

Any legal weapon, no dogs allowed
Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
Beaver BR7100 9 1 May 29–June 30

Book Cliffs, Bitter Creek/South BR7101 9 1 May 29–June 30

Book Cliffs, Little Creek Roadless BR7102 4 0 May 29–June 30

Cache/Ogden BR7121 2 0 May 29–June 30

Central Mtns, Manti-North BR7104 12 1 May 29–June 30

Central Mtns, Manti-South/San Rafael, 
North

BR7105 16 1 May 29–June 30

Central Mtns, Nebo BR7106 9 0 May 29–June 30

Chalk Creek/East Canyon/Morgan-South 
Rich

BR7122 6 0 May 29–June 30

Fillmore, Pahvant BR7124 1 0 May 29–June 30

Kamas/North Slope, Summit BR7123 6 0 May 29–June 30

La Sal BR7108 25 2 May 29–June 30

Monroe BR7125 1 0 May 29–June 30

Mt Dutton BR7109 3 0 May 29–June 30

Nine Mile BR7110 15 1 May 29–June 30

North Slope, Three Corners/West Daggett BR7111 1 0 May 29–June 30

Panguitch Lake/Zion BR7112 4 0 May 29–June 30

Paunsaugunt BR7113 3 0 May 29–June 30

Plateau, Boulder/Kaiparowits BR7114 20 2 May 29–June 30

Plateau, Fishlake/Thousand Lakes BR7115 6 0 May 29–June 30

San Juan BR7116 25 2 May 29–June 30

South Slope, Bonanza/Diamond Mtn/
Vernal

BR7117 9 0 May 29–June 30
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HUNT TABLES

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

Fall limited-entry hunts
Permit fee: Resident $83, Nonresident $354.
Use the hunt number to apply. Bonus point code: BER 
 

Any legal weapon, no bait allowed
Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
Beaver BR7200 8 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31    

Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Book Cliffs, Bitter Creek/South BR7201 18 2 Aug. 5–Aug. 18 
Oct. 6–Nov. 12

Cache/Ogden BR7228 1 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31   
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Central Mtns, Manti-North BR7203 10 1 Aug. 1–Aug. 31    
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Central Mtns, Manti-South/San 
Rafael, North

BR7204 16 1 Aug. 1–Aug. 31   
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Central Mtns, Nebo BR7205 6 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31   
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Fillmore, Pahvant BR7207 1 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31   
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Kamas/North Slope, Summit BR7229 4 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31    
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

La Sal BR7208 6 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31    
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Mt Dutton BR7210 3 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31    
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Summer limited-entry hunts (continued)

Any legal weapon, no dogs allowed
Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
South Slope, Yellowstone BR7118 5 0 May 29–June 30

Wasatch Mtns, Avintaquin/Currant Creek BR7119 7 0 May 29–June 30

Wasatch Mtns, West-Central BR7120 23 1 May 29–June 30
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HUNT TABLES

Any legal weapon, no bait allowed
Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
Nine Mile BR7211 28 3 Aug. 1–Aug. 31  

Oct. 30–Nov. 12

North Slope, Three Corners/West 
Daggett

BR7212 2 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31    
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Panguitch Lake/Zion BR7213 8 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31    
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Paunsaugunt BR7214 3 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31   
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Plateau, Boulder/Kaiparowits BR7215 10 1 Aug. 1–Aug. 31   
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Plateau, Fishlake/Thousand Lakes BR7216 4 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31    
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

San Juan BR7217 6 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31    
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

South Slope, Bonanza/Diamond 
Mtn/Vernal

BR7218 7 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31   
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

South Slope, Yellowstone BR7219 4 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31   
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Wasatch Mtns, Avintaquin/Currant 
Creek

BR7220 9 0 Aug. 1–Aug. 31   
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

Wasatch Mtns, West-Central BR7221 11 1 Aug. 1–Aug. 31   
Oct. 30–Nov. 12

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

Fall limited-entry hunts (continued)
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The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

HUNT TABLES

Limited-entry spot-and-stalk hunts
Permit fee: Resident $83, Nonresident $354. 
Use the hunt number to apply. Bonus point code: BER

Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
Book Cliffs, Little Creek Roadless BR7225 7 0 Sep. 1 - Nov. 12

Multi-season limited-entry hunts
Permit fee: Resident $166, Nonresident $546. Bonus point code: BER. Use the hunt number to apply.
Note: For each of the limited-entry seasons listed on your multi-season permit, you must use the 
appropriate hunting method. See pages 36–40 for limited-entry hunt details. See hunting method 
restrictions for each unit. Hunters must verify daily that their hunt is still open. Reminder: Early 
baiting is now prohibited.

Any legal weapon
Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
Beaver BR7318 2 0 All limited-entry 

seasons

Book Cliffs, Bitter Creek/South BR7300 3 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

Book Cliffs, Little Creek Roadless BR7301 2 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

Cache/Ogden BR7320 1 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

Central Mtns, Manti-North BR7303 10 1 All limited-entry 
seasons

Central Mtns, Manti-South/San 
Rafael, North

BR7304 12 1 All limited-entry 
seasons

Central Mtns, Nebo BR7305 3 0 All limited-entry 
seasons
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HUNT TABLES

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

Any legal weapon
Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
Kamas/North Slope, Summit BR7321 4 0 All limited-entry 

seasons

La Sal BR7307 9 1 All limited-entry 
seasons

Mt Dutton BR7322 1 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

Nine Mile BR7317 7 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

North Slope, Three Corners/West 
Daggett

BR7308 1 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

Panguitch Lake/Zion BR7309 4 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

Paunsaugunt BR7323 1 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

Plateau, Boulder/Kaiparowits BR7310 9 1 All limited-entry 
seasons

Plateau, Fishlake/Thousand Lakes BR7311 2 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

San Juan BR7312 9 1 All limited-entry 
seasons

South Slope, Bonanza/Diamond 
Mtn/Vernal

BR7313 7 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

South Slope, Yellowstone BR7314 2 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

Wasatch Mtns, Avintaquin/Currant 
Creek

BR7315 5 0 All limited-entry 
seasons

Wasatch Mtns, West-Central BR7316 13 1 All limited-entry 
seasons

Multi-season limited-entry hunts (continued)
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The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

HUNT TABLES

Restricted pursuit limited-entry units
Permit fee: Resident $30, Nonresident $155. Bonus point code: BPU. Use the hunt number to apply.

Reminder: There are spring restricted pursuit seasons for nonresidents on the Book Cliffs, La Sal 
and San Juan units. The spring pursuit seasons on those units are not restricted for resident pursu-
ers, which is why resident permits aren’t listed in the spring season table below.

Spring season
Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
Book Cliffs BR1015 See below 2 April 1–May 29

La Sal BR1017 See below 2 April 1–May 29

San Juan BR1016 See below 2 April 1–May 29

Important: The spring pursuit seasons on these units are not restricted for residents. If you’re a 
resident, you do not need to apply for a pursuit permit in the drawing. To pursue bear during the 
spring pursuit season (April 1-May 29, 2023) on the Book Cliffs, La Sal or San Juan units, you can 
simply obtain a pursuit permit at wildlife.utah.gov, from a license agent or at any Division office. 
 

Early summer season
Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
Book Cliffs BR1008 26 2 July 5–July 16

La Sal BR1009 14 1 July 5–July 16

San Juan BR1010 14 1 July 5–July 16

Late summer season
Unit name Hunt # Res. Nonres. Season dates
Book Cliffs BR1011 26 2 July 19–July 30

La Sal BR1012 14 1 July 19–July 30

San Juan BR1013 14 1 July 19–July 30
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HUNT TABLES

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

Harvest-objective hunts 
Permit fee: Resident $83, Nonresident $354. 
See hunting method restrictions for each unit. Hunters should visit  wildlife.utah.gov/bearharvest 
each day to verify that their hunt is still open.  

Any legal weapon

Unit name
Harvest  

quota Season dates
Hunting  
method

Beaver 3 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

Book Cliffs, Bitter Creek/South 10 Aug. 19–Oct. 5 No bait/no dogs

Cache/Ogden 3 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

Central Mtns, Manti-North 12 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

Central Mtns, Manti-South/San Rafael, 
North

12 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

Central Mtns, Nebo 3 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

Chalk Creek/East Canyon/Morgan-South Rich 3 Aug. 1–Aug. 31 No bait

Chalk Creek/East Canyon/Morgan-South Rich 3 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

Chalk Creek/East Canyon/Morgan-South Rich 5 Oct. 30–Nov. 12 No bait

Kamas/North Slope, Summit 2 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

La Sal 12 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

Nine Mile 22 April 1–May 29 No bait

Nine Mile 10 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

North Slope, Three Corners/West Daggett 3 April 1–May 29 No bait

North Slope, Three Corners/West Daggett 1 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

Panguitch Lake/Zion 3 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

Plateau, Boulder/Kaiparowits 4 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

San Juan 12 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

South Slope, Bonanza/Diamond Mtn/Vernal 3 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

South Slope, Yellowstone 7 April 1–May 29 No bait

South Slope, Yellowstone 3 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs
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HUNT TABLES

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

Any legal weapon

Unit name
Harvest  

quota Season dates
Hunting  
method

Wasatch Mtns, Avintaquin/Currant Creek 12 April 1–May 29 No bait

Wasatch Mtns, Avintaquin/Currant Creek 6 Sept. 1–Oct. 29 No bait/no dogs

Harvest-objective hunts (continued) 
Permit fee: Resident $83, Nonresident $354. 
See hunting method restrictions for each unit. Hunters should visit  wildlife.utah.gov/bearharvest 
each day to verify that their hunt is still open.   
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Accompany means that on a restricted pur-
suit unit, the dog handler must remain close 
enough to the permit holder to maintain visual 
contact and verbal communication without 
the assistance of any electronic device. The 
only time a dog handler may separate from the 
pursuit-permit holder is to retrieve dogs that 
leave the pack. The dog handler must do all of 
the following:

•	Take reasonable steps to keep the pack 
together before and during pursuit

•	Only separate from the permit holder to 
retrieve stray dogs (and not actively pur-
sue a bear during the retrieval process)

•	Make reasonable efforts to call dogs off 
of a bear that has been cornered or held 
at bay

•	Immediately release any bear that is 
incidentally treed or held at bay by the 
stray dogs

Bait means any lure containing animal, 
mineral or plant materials.

Baiting means the placing, exposing, depos-
iting, distributing or scattering of bait to lure, 
attract or entice bear on or over any area.

Bear means Ursus americanus, commonly 
known as black bear.

Canned hunt means that a bear is treed, 
cornered, held at bay or its ability to escape 
is otherwise restricted for the purpose of 
allowing a person who was not a member of 
the initial hunting party to arrive and take the 
bear.

Carcass means the dead body of an animal 
or its parts.

The definitions in this section are listed in Utah’s state laws and administrative rules (see the 
citations above). You can use these references—included throughout the guidebook—to look 
online for the complete text of the relevant laws and rules.

DEFINITIONS
Utah Code § 23-13-2 and Utah Admin. Rules R657-33-2, R657-33-12 and R657-33-26 

Certificate of registration means a docu-
ment issued under the Wildlife Resources Code, 
or any rule or proclamation of the Wildlife 
Board granting authority to engage in activi-
ties not covered by a license, permit or tag.

Compensation means anything of economic 
value in excess of $100 that is paid, loaned, 
granted, given, donated or transferred to a dog 
handler for or in consideration of pursuing bear 
for any purpose.

Cub means a bear less than one year of age.

Cultivated land means land that is readily 
identifiable as any of the following:

•	Land whose soil is loosened or broken up 
for the raising of crops

•	Land that is used for the raising of crops
•	Pasturage that is artificially irrigated

Division means the Division of Wildlife 
Resources.

Dog handler means the person in the field 
that is responsible for transporting, releasing, 
tracking, controlling, managing, training, com-
manding and retrieving the dogs involved in 
the pursuit. The owner of the dogs is presumed 
the dog handler when the owner is in the field 
during pursuit.

Domicile means the place where an individ-
ual has a fixed permanent home and principal 
establishment. It is also the place to which the 
individual, if absent, intends to return; and 
in which the individual, and the individual’s 
family voluntarily reside, not for a special or 
temporary purpose, but with the intention of 
making a permanent home. To create a new 
domicile, an individual shall abandon the 
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old domicile and be able to prove that a new 
domicile has been established.

Draw-lock means a mechanical device used 
to hold and support the draw weight of a con-
ventional or compound bow at any increment 
of draw until released by the archer using a 
trigger mechanism attached to the device.

Evidence of sex means the sex organs of a 
bear, including a penis, scrotum or vulva.

Green pelt means the untanned hide or skin 
of any bear.

Harvest-objective hunt means any hunt 
that is identified as harvest-objective in the 
hunt table of this guidebook.

Harvest-objective permit means any 
permit valid on harvest-objective units.

Harvest-objective unit means any unit 
designated as harvest-objective in the hunt 
table of this guidebook.

Highway means the entire width between 
property lines of every way or place of any 
nature when any part of it is open to the use 
of the public as a matter of right for vehicular 
travel.

Hunting means to take or pursue a reptile, 
amphibian, bird or mammal by any means.

Hunting mentor means a Resident or 
Nonresident individual possessing a valid 
permit issued by the Division to take protected 
wildlife in Utah and who is 21 years of age or 
older at the time of application for the Mentor 
Program.

Limited-entry hunt means any hunt listed 
in the hunt table of this guidebook that is 
identified as a limited-entry hunt for bear, and 
that does not include harvest-objective hunts 
or pursuit only. Certain limited-entry hunts 
span multiple seasons and are identified in 

this guidebook as multi-season limited-entry 
hunts.

Limited-entry permit means any permit 
obtained for a limited-entry hunt by any 
means, including conservation permits, expo 
permits and sportsman permits.

Livestock means cattle, sheep, goats and 
turkeys.

Night-vision device means anything that 
enhances visible and non-visible light and 
includes the use of night-vision devices, 
thermal-imaging devices, infrared-imaged de-
vices and other electronic devices that enhance 
the visible and non-visible light spectrum. Trail 
cameras are not a night-vision device. 

Nonresident means a person who does not 
qualify as a resident.

Permit means a document, including a 
stamp, which grants authority to engage 
in specified activities under the Wildlife 
Resources Code or a rule or proclamation of the 
Wildlife Board.

Private lands means any lands that are not 
public lands, excluding Native American Trust 
Lands.

Protected wildlife means the animals 
defined in the “wildlife” definition below. It 
does not include coyote, field mouse, gopher, 
ground squirrel, jackrabbit, muskrat and 
raccoon.

Public lands means any lands owned by the 
state, a political subdivision or independent 
entity of the state, or the United States—ex-
cluding Native American Trust Lands—that 
are open to the public for purposes of engag-
ing in pursuit.

Pursue means to chase, tree, corner or hold a 
bear at bay.
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Qualifying minor means a Utah Resident 
who is under 18 at the time of application for 
the Mentor Program and who is otherwise 
eligible to lawfully hunt.

Resident means a person who has a 
domicile (fixed permanent home and principal 
establishment) in Utah for six consecutive 
months immediately preceding the purchase 
of a license or permit, and does not claim 
residency for hunting, fishing or trapping in 
any other state or country.

An individual retains Utah residency if he 
or she leaves Utah to serve in the armed forces 
of the United States, or for religious or educa-
tional purposes, and does NOT claim residency 
for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country.

Members of the armed forces of the United 
States and dependents are residents as of 
the date the member reports for duty under 
assigned orders in Utah, if:

•	The member is not on temporary duty 
in Utah and does not claim residency for 
hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country. 

•	The member presents a copy of his or her 
assignment orders to a Division office to 
verify the member’s qualification as a 
resident. 

A nonresident attending an institution of 
higher learning in Utah as a full-time student 
may qualify as a resident if the student has 
been present in Utah for 60 consecutive days 
immediately preceding the purchase of the 
license or permit and does not claim residency 
for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country. 

A Utah resident license or permit is invalid 
if a resident license for hunting, fishing or trap-
ping is purchased in any other state or country. 

An individual does not qualify as a 
resident if he or she is an absentee landowner 
paying property tax on land in Utah. 

Restricted pursuit permit means a limit-
ed-entry permit issued in a Division drawing 
that authorizes an individual to pursue bear 
using trained dogs, consistent with the restric-
tions found in Utah Admin. Code R657-33.

Restricted pursuit unit means a bear 
pursuit unit where pursuit is allowed only by 
a dog handler who meets at least one of the 
following requirements:

•	Possesses a special pursuit permit issued 
for that particular unit

•	Possesses or is accompanied by a hunter 
who possesses a limited-entry bear 
permit for the unit, and pursuit must 
occur within the area and during the 
season established for the limited-entry 
bear permit

•	Is engaged in pursuit for compensation 
(see Compensation above)

Spot-and-stalk means that a hunter must 
locate, pursue and harvest a bear without 
using dogs or bait.

Tag means a card, label or other identification 
device issued for attachment to the carcass of 
protected wildlife.

Take means to hunt, pursue, harass, catch, 
capture, possess, angle, seine, trap or kill any 
protected wildlife; or attempt any of the above 
actions.

Trail camera means a device that is not held 
or manually operated by a person and is used 
to capture images, video, or location data of 
wildlife using heat, or motion to trigger the 
device. Trail cameras are not a night-vision 
device. 

Trapping means taking protected wildlife 
with a trapping device.
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Valid application means it is for a species 
for which the applicant is eligible to possess 
a permit;

There is a hunt for that species regardless 
of estimated permit numbers; and

There is sufficient information on the ap-
plication to process the application, including 
personal information, hunt information, and 
sufficient payment.

Applications missing any of the above 
items may still be considered valid if the 
application is timely corrected through the 
application correction process.

Waiting period means a specified period of 
time that a person who has obtained a bear 
permit or a restricted bear pursuit permit must 
wait before applying for any other bear permit 
or restricted bear pursuit permit.

Wildlife means crustaceans—including 
brine shrimp and crayfish—and all vertebrate 
animals living in nature, except feral animals.

Written permission means written autho-
rization from the owner or person in charge to 
enter upon private lands. It must include all of 
the following items:

•	The name and signature of the owner or 
person in charge

•	The address and phone number of the 
owner or person in charge

•	The name of the dog handler given 
permission to enter the private lands

•	A brief description of the pursuit activity 
authorized

•	The appropriate dates
•	A general description of the property
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